We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to rate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Orchid

Golden Orchid
Ranked #114 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The service was very second rate, but the food was on the whole good. Sadly overall it was our least favourite dining experience at Cullen Bay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharonp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
912 reviews
585 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Really nice. A big surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I know Darwin pretty well and Cullen Bay in particular and had been giving this restaurant a wide berth as I am not a fan of Thai food. However, this night I had my sister and a work colleague with me and we ended up at the Golden Orchid. Have to say it completely turned around my idea of a Thai restaurant.

My sister and I ordered food to share. We had the veg curry puffs for entree and then a veg green curry and a fried fish curry dish. We were being pretty adventurous as neither of us really like hot food. But what a surprise. The curry puffs were amazing. Fluffy and light, moist inside and very very tasty. Our mains were perhaps a bit on the spicy side for us but again very tasty

The staff were fantastic and we loved sitting outside right on the water. Really pleased we came here and can happily recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Visited twice as enjoyed it so much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went with a group of 5 after a sunset cruise. Great friendly service with good food too. Went back again with my husband for lunch too and had great pad thai and a chicken and sweet n sour pork. Lovely waterfront setting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scubagbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hechingen, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly service and wonderful breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited a few times Golden Orchid for breakfast. They offer buffet for $ 16 which includes coffe, tea and juices. Food ranges from fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs (poached, scrambled), croissant, jam, sausages, bacon, various filled buns.
All at a wonderful location in Cullen Bay. If you are more than 4, I recommend to book.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olli1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ordered spring rolls and chili mud crabs which were really yummy tasting. The staff were very polite and pleasing. The alfresco part has an excellent view of the marina that boasts of very expensive boats/yachts. Great ambiance!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beng d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Golden Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing