We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pavonia Place - CLOSED

Pavonia Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pavonia Place is a cosy Restaurant located in the heart of Darwin's seaside suburb of Nightcliff. Specialising in modern Australian cuisine with a focus on fresh food and local produce, Pavonia Place prides itself on catering to Gluten free and vego requirements and in utilising the freshest possible ingredients and Australian only seafood. Pavonia Place welcome children of all ages and cater to groups both large and small.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Well done the team at Pavonia ! Visiting Darwin... yet again... and found Pavonia Place a friendly inviting restaurant with good atmosphere and great service. The food was nicely cooked and plenty of it. The only question mark would be how the chilli chocolate dessert can be called a torte?? More like a choc pudding/souffle...yes yummy but not what I expected! Next test will be if the menu changes by the time we return next year...unlike some top spots I used to love!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    77
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can it get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Wow, another sensational evening at Pavonia Place. The Chicken & Porcini Filo were fantastic, the Dips amazing and the Chili Choc Torte was absolutely to die for. A cocktail on arrival, an amazing decanter end red wine wit our dinner and a beautiful sticky white wine with desert just made it a whole dining experience for us - thank you again Renee and your team, particularly Andrew & Shekira who looked after us all evening. Again, absolutely fantastic and faultless in everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a Nightcliff local and having watched the Pavonia Place team build and build on their restaurant over the past couple of years, I can certainly attest to their well deserved accolades.
Being chemically & food intolerant - it is difficult for me to find restaurants that I can have confidence dining in. Not so with Pavonia Place - Renee, Isaac and the team use only the freshest ingredients and have been very helpful and accommodating. It is one of the few restaurants where I can choose things straight off the menu.
It is often said in Darwin that you either get 'good food | poor service' or 'poor food | good service'. This is definitely not the case with Pavonia Place! Great food | great service all the way.
My only disappointment is that it is too popular! You must book well in advance - and with good reason.
Do book early, have a light lunch - make sure you have room to savour entrée, main and one of those delicious desserts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Hotspot In Nightcliff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were amazed at how busy
It was here on a Tuesday night ! Lucky we booked as people were literally getting turned away. Andrew helped us with wines as there were many unfamiliar to is - and we were wowed by his selections. The scallop entree was sensational, the dips were ok but not amazing. Husbands steak was a huge hit, and I had the prawn entree as a main as I was getting pretty full. I'm a bit surprised this restaurant rates above Pee Wees - it's not comparable for fine dining but still a nice restaurant in it's own right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food in Darwin...and it's in Nightcliff?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Recently had the pleasure of dining at Pavonia Place with family and friends while holidaying in Darwin and just have to say thanks to the owner Renee and her awesome staff for a fantastic meal and a great night out in general.
The food was simply amazing and the service could not be better!

Tucked away on a side street in Nightcliff the level of dining experience at this restaurant cannot be over stated....the food, the service, the wine list, all brilliant.
And writing on the table cloths to keep track of your tab or to entertain the kids (crayons and pencils provided) is a novelty everyone seemed to get a kick out of.

If you have a large group and enjoy a few wines with dinner then it can get a little pricey, but having said that you are definitely getting what you pay for and this restaurant has made my list of must see/do/eat events in Darwin.

Well done to the whole team and thanks again for a great night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavonia Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing