We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little suburban restaurant”
Review of Pavonia Place - CLOSED

Pavonia Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pavonia Place is a cosy Restaurant located in the heart of Darwin's seaside suburb of Nightcliff. Specialising in modern Australian cuisine with a focus on fresh food and local produce, Pavonia Place prides itself on catering to Gluten free and vego requirements and in utilising the freshest possible ingredients and Australian only seafood. Pavonia Place welcome children of all ages and cater to groups both large and small.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Pavionia place yesterday and overall had a lovely night. The service was exceptional (much above the usual Darwin standards) and surrounds were lovely. Food was amazingly quick! The restaurant was full, but we never felt we were being forgotten, good drink service etc.

As for the food, we enjoyed it mostly- more so the meat eaters than the vegetarian. We were excited about coming to this place because it seemed to offer a little more for the vegos than the usual Darwin fare, but unfortunately it just wasnt quite up to par- the eggplant parmigiana was a little too thick and therefore undercooked. The dips were hit and miss, the chilli eggplant had a great flavour and spice but the pumpkin lacked much of a bite. The meat eaters were much more satisfied- the entree of calamari was crisy and delicious (amazing aioli!) and the mains were good. The chicken parmigiana was lacking in as much imagination as we imagined but the lamb special was great. Dessert overall was enjoyable, but not fantastic (a bit overwhelmingly sweet but maybe I was tired!!) Overall, it was a definite lovely meal and we will be back for sure.

Great work on the proprietors for bringing in such a great little restaurant to Darwin!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi Amy S! Thank you so much for your review!. We are sorry you found the Vego options a little lacking, with the Baked Mushroom, the 'Very Veg', the Eggplant Parmy and the Vego side dishes we thought we had a decent range of options for our Vegetarian patrons!. We also try to incorporate a vegetarian option on our daily specials board to increase the choices for vegetarians. Thank you very much for your feedback re the Eggplant Parmy, I am pleased to advise that we have since changed the way we prepare & cook the Eggplant Parmy and believe it has improved out of sight!. We really do value feedback as it is the very best, the only!, way for us to act on any little imperfections and make improvements where required. We are so glad that overall you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to having you dine with us again! Cheers from Renee, Stephanie, Isaac and all the team at Pavonia Place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Pavonia Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great service! Great food! The calamari was delicious, as was the prawn pasta dish, that although was $25.00, the serve was large, tasty and all eaten. My companions both had lamb and they both raved about both the lamb and the side serve of vegetables. Will definitely go back!

Thank EstherDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi Esther it is so good to hear that you had a great time at Pavonia Place and we also look forward to you returning to dine with us again.

Cheers from Isaac Renee Stephanie and all the staff at Pavonia Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went on Tuesday night to this resteraunt for the second time. Oustanding value and quality service Meals are delicious. We are taking friends tonight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for bringing your friends! We hope your second dining experience was as good as the first! See you next time! Cheers from Renee, Steph, Isaac and all the team at Pavonia Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was lovely, not a huge selection but I think something for everyone. It was pretty busy the night we went but the service was good and the staff certainly knew the menu and could answer any questions about the food. The service did drop off when it came time to pay the bill. I had to go upto the counter to ask for the bill and then had to go back to the counter to pay as I could not get anyones attention to take the payment. The decor was simple and there was a range of art on the walls by local artists, you could ask for an "art menu" if interested in any of the works. I would suggest new chairs, they were like metal garden chairs so not very comfortable. We would return and I would recommend it to friends. Good luck to them I hope they are a success

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimbo1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Kimbo1205! Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you had a good experience dining with us. We are sorry you experienced a bit of a dip in service levels at bill payment time, we have altered our service procedure slightly since to include advising customers (on busy nights) to "please come and see us at the counter when you're ready" when we deliver the bill to the table. The chairs are certainly something we aim to improve on in future and in the meantime we are looking in to cushion options!. Thanks again for your lovely review, we look forward to having you dine with us again!. Cheers from Renee, Isaac, Stephanie and all the team at Pavonia Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pleasant setting and friendly staff.
Food was enjoyable and well cooked.
The mushroom entree was great and the mains simple but nice.
Would definitely return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bazza115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Owner at Pavonia Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Bazza115!, thanks so much for your great review! It is really reassuring to be constantly told that our staff are friendly and happy and efficient! In starting this venture our aim was to provide our diners with great service, and simple, fresh food done well. You'll also find more often that not that the waiter or waitress looking after you here at Pavonia Place is one of the owners! We love what we do and reviews like yours make it all worthwhile! Cheers from Renee, Isaac, Stephanie and all the team at Pavonia Place!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavonia Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing