We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Offroad Dreaming
from $169.84
More Info
from $104.52
More Info
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
203
14
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
14
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alligator river off road florence falls termite mounds day tour litchfield national park small group buley rockhole arnhem land wangi falls adelaide river aboriginal guide river cruise fresh lunch cultural experience his knowledge rock paintings
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 221 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic day!! Neville was so knowledgable and down to earth. He taught us so much and was very friendly and relaxed. Well worth the money and a great insight into Kakadu. Learned a lot about indigenous culture & bought some art from the culture centre. Will definitely be returning.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank ltp253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Cannot recommend this tripe highly enough!
Nev is a top top geezer and very knowledgeable and approachable.
Pat at the Adelaide river is an incredible human and makes you see crocs in a different light !
All in all a brilliant day

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Fun day even in the rain. Nev is easy going & knowledgable about the area. Adelaide river croc trip with Pat was really interesting & he knows his stuff. Would love to go back to Litchfield when we can swim!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank KyCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Litchfield National Park is quite far from Darwin; consider that before you book. We spent hours (each direction) in odd vehicle- front: big truck -- back: small bus. The set up looked curious to start with, but after sitting in it for hours, it was not very comfortable. Bumpy ride and also difficult to ask questions of the guide because distance between us and divider of sorts.

Adam (?), our guide, was a nice guy from Southern US having been in Australia ~a year. He certainly tried to impart info, but with his background, we couldn't ask him about growing up in Australia, etc. After traveling 17 times zones-would have been preferable to have a native or a long-time transplant as a guide.

The tour was LONG. Finally arriving at the park, we met an Aborigine woman who gave us an informative talk for ~10 mins. This was the highlight of the day and could have spent a lot more time with her (Tess? might have been her name). The waterfalls are pretty, but it wasn't an overly appealing place to swim; 2-3 people in our group took a very short dip. Lunch was fine. Day was hot, hot, hot and air full of gnat-like bugs. Neither of these were the fault of OffRoad, but the heat should have been taken into consideration. We drove to 3 different swimming holes, one which was very small. Noone swam at all after the 1st one, and it seemed obvious that most of us were going through the motions and weren't swimmers. Boardwalk/falls bushwalk was blocked off. Yet we drove to the other end of the it, got out and walked quite a ways in the heat to the other end of blockade.The blockage wasn't OffRoad's fault, but pointless to drive to the other end and walk to the blockade that was obviously going to be there. Much of the time@ Litchfield Natl. Park felt like killing time. Our group was middle-aged or older and many looked exhausted in the heat; yet, we keep stopping to make these walks to see either a small pond of a swimming hole or nothing much at all. There was a thermos of water/cups in the back, but no bottled water provided, and in the heat, I was concerned, especially at stops where the 'hiking' was not flat and the guide didn't always go with us. 2nd highlight: snack of tasty watermelon.The termite mounds were interesting, but not worth the drive. Designated as a NATIONAL park, we expected something with a WOW factor, and there was none. On the way back to port, we stopped at a dreary tourist store and that dragged out for at least 1/2 hour vs. a pit stop. We, and at least 2 other couples that we knew, couldn't wait for the day to end. I have no idea what the other 8-10 people thought, but everyone had a scowl on by the time we got back to ship.

I guess someone should or could have told the driver that all were not having a good time, but ...At one of the last stops when guide said 'it's a short walk' and pointed. I said "How short is short?" which was met with groans and laughs, as I think most of us were disappointed in the day.

What could OffRoad have done differently? In tour description, state the time & distance not 'travel south along the Stuart Highway.' Use guides that are Australian; have the guide be aware and ask if the group is looking bored. Such as no one swimming, maybe adjust the itinerary and skip the next several swimming holes. Or at least ask. Provide bottled water when it is so hot it could be dangerous. This was not an inexpensive tour by anyone's standards, so besides being hot, bored, and disappointed, we felt like it was worth at most, half of what we paid.

I'm not attacking guide or company owners, as I'm sure all are hard-working, nice people. They were punctual; there was no fraud or dishonesty or rudeness. I did not contact them before this review as I am not asking for any refund nor do I want to engage in disagreement. My only aim is an honest review (from our experience) for other travelers and what to expect if taking a tour out of Darwin to Litchfield Park.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Madelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonne r, Owner at Offroad Dreaming, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hello and Thankyou for your review and feedback.

We are sorry for you that you did not enjoy the Tour with us.

Australia's Outback is a Hot and Dry place to visit, but we feel absolutely worth it, due to the fantastic natural Beauty Spots, such as lush Savannah Woodlands and the Monsoonal Forest encased Wangi Falls in the spectacular Litchfield National Park. If we are lucky there will be breezing winds passing through. And of course the fresh, pristine Natural Water Holes, by each waterfall, are a great place to cool off and go for a dip or a swim. We provide Fresh, iced Drinking water on each Tour, which is refreshed and topped up throughout the day, when needed. We have cups available for all Guests to use on each Bus, and we ask all Guests to bring their own re-fillable water bottle, to top up themselves when going out on walks. The standard recommendations for drinking water in the Territory, per person, is to drink at least one litre per hour of outdoor activity. Our water container is a great way to ensure there is enough chilled water for everyone, throughout the day.

The drive from Darwin is approximately one hour and a half, which is a short trip, in Territorian Terms. The timings of the Days itinerary would have been discussed in detail with your Tour Co-ordinator. We really appreciate the effort the Tour Co-ordinators put into gathering groups, such as yourselves, and enjoy the Direct contact we have with them, as they will also become one of the Travellers on the Day.

We do amend the itinerary to fit with each Cruise Ship's arrival and departure times, however, as i know Tess very well, I would be very surprised if she even managed to keep within the time frame, she was allotted. Tess is a very passionate story teller and would have loved to have met you all. The Aboriginal Stories is a very important element in our Stories and Swimming Tour, and we will continue to give this an much time as we can per Tour.

We are very lucky to have Adam as one of our Guides. He is originally from overseas, but has since settled in Darwin, and made a life for himself and his beautiful family, on our shores. Adam is an archaeologist with many years of experience researching the ancient history of Australia and the Pacific region and is currently working on a PhD on traditional medicinal plants of remote Aboriginal communities. Adam is very passionate about Australia, its Culture and History and loves to share this with Offroad Dreaming Guests. He has received a huge amount of rave reviews for us, after working on our Tours for the whole Season last year, and we hope he will continue to Guide For us going forward.

Adam's response when asked why there was a long Coffee/ Convenience stop, was that everyone seemed very relaxed and to be enjoying themselves, and there was no immediate need to be rushing everyone. He advised that he had received a number of thanks from the Guests throughout the Day and was lucky enough to be given tips from a few of the Guests. (Tips are not expected as the norm in Australia)

Thankyou again for travelling with us, and we hope your onward journeys went well.

Best regards,
yvonne


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Did the day trip to Litchfield and croc tour with 8 other people, which meant it was much more personal than going with a larger operator. Wraps, muesli bars, water and biscuits offered. Option for you to buy food and drink at 2 stops during the day which I think is good to support local. I bought coffee and ice cream!. This long day was exceptional value- considering the time our guide was working, his costs for the minibus and the incredible boat trip and boat driver who was very knowledgeable. This day trip was down to earth, relaxed. Don't forget to take a book or something for when you're on the bus between places, take sunscreen, hat, repellent. This isn't about fancy clothes, makeup and 5 star- this is a trip to see and swim in the waterfalls and be completely exhilarated and stunned by crocs. I loved it! Take lots of photos!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Teresaweaves2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews