We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality!! Kindest staff. Beautiful rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Every interaction with all staff was the kindest and most hospitable. Room was particularly clean, fresh and comfortable. Affordable and luxurious. I recommend this place to everyone. Exceeded all expectations. AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Kellee
Thank you so much for your Review and wonderful Compliments.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope you will come back and see us if you are in Darwin again.

It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us here in Resort.
All the very best to you.
Kind Regards,
Alison and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 331 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

After driving up from Melbourne for a permanent relocation, we arrived in Darwin homeless. We chose to stay at The Leprechaun based on the great reviews. We ended up staying here for 3 weeks and it truly was a home away from home for us. We spent our first night in the basic room which was spotlessly clean, fresh and comfortable. Needing a bit more room for a longer stay we moved into a 2BR unit out the back and wanted for nothing. Very spacious, liveable and quiet. The beds were fantastic and so was the air con. We loved that it was secure given we had a lot of our possessions in tow. It was also excellent value which took the pressure off greatly while we tried to find a home. We can't speak highly enough of hosts Scott and Alison. They were both lovely and extremely helpful in so many ways and we will not forget their kindness. They made a big contribution to helping us get settled in Darwin which was a true blessing. All the staff there are wonderful. Highly recommended for short or long stay - The Leprechaun won't disappoint!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnB_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi guys
Thank you both so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful Review.
It was an absolute pleasure to have such a lovely couple stay here with us in Resort.
We are so happy we were able to help while you were getting established here in your new City.
We hope you will pop in from time to time to let us know how you are getting on with life in Darwin.
All the very best to you both!
Kindest Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The owner is from Midlands some staff are from Ireland, So I was made to feel very welcome With a nice room with all you need for a very reasonable priced stay at the end of there summer.
I stayed in budget accom in the heart of Darwin but for a bit of peace and quiet worth paying the extra.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roj721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Roj721

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic Review.
It was very interesting to hear your stories about your travels and tours and It was a pleasure to have you stay here in Resort.

We are so pleased you found the Resort homely as that is exactly the type of atmosphere we strive to create for our Wonderful Guests.

I hope the rest of your trip went well and I wish you all the very best for the future!!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had just moved to Darwin after travelling 33 hours from Canada. My first stop was the Leprechaun Resort. After all that time on a plane I just wanted to crash and hotel check-ins are usually quite time consuming. Not the case here. They confirmed my booking and before I knew it I was in the shower and flopping on a bed. I stayed in a basic room which was very cosy and came equipped with a flat-screen TV, fridge, and AC (which is VERY necessary in Darwin). The staff are incredibly friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They are very knowledgable about the area and had a wide range of travel tips in regards to getting around Darwin and the good things to see. As I left I couldn't help but feel a little blue that I was leaving. It was easily the best hotel experience I have ever had in my travels.

Room Tip: If travelling alone the basic room is more than adequate! I was on a ground floor facing the Stuart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocteurQui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hi DocteurQui,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, we enjoyed your energy and passion for life, we were so glad you found somewhere to live and a job so quickly after relocating to what we believe to be the best city in the world.
33 hours is a mammoth flight i can only imagine how much you was looking forward to a shower and a comfy bed.
now you have gone it seems like part of the furniture is missing, we hope you will pop in and see us from time to time and we wish you all the best in your new life in this magical city.
Kind regards,
Scott and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked a weeks accommodation with The Leprechaun Resort because of its convenient location but what we discovered when we arrived was so much more! The Management and staff went out of their way to help make our trip more enjoyable including helping us to organise tours and advising us on the best restaurants, places to shop and things to see and do. The resort which has been recently renovated is decorated beautifully and there is a real feel of home away from home with their communal BBQ and pool area. My partner and I have both agreed that we will make our trip to Darwin a regular event and we will be staying in The Leprechaun Resort every time. Special thanks to Allie and Scott the managers for their amazing hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hi Desiree,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review, having met you i can see how much of a busy schedule you guys have and appreciate the fact you fitted in the time to do so.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip and stay with us and enjoyed our facilities.
We look forward to seeing you very soon and i hope you have tried cooking snapper the way i did on the BBQ after i shared a family recipe.
Good health and see you soon
Scott and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived on Christmas night and found that aside from Petrol Stations, everything was shut. The hosts (Ally) was having a a Christmas dinner with her family and staff and offered us a wonderful spread of food. Having travelled on a plane for ~4hrs and finding such amazing hospitality and kindness was something quite amazing!

The rooms are small but have exactly what you need: Super comfortable bed, air conditioning and fan, coffee / tea facilities, fridge, toilet and shower and a slim lcd tv.

We stayed here on our last night again and spoke to Ally's husband (Steve) who after asking what our plans were for the night, gave us a wealth of information as to which restaurants are good to go to, where they were etc. Ally was equally helpful when asking her about sights and things to do in Darwin. They and their family are the type of people you wish were looking after all the hotels you stay at.

We couldn't more highly recommend staying here. When we're next in Darwin again, we know where we'll be staying!

FYI: It's around 7km out from Darwin CBD, so a car is ideal if you stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor. It will be cooler than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Hi Doc_Melbourne,
Thank you for your fantastic review!
It was a pleasure to have you be part of our Christmas day, it was great to share it with so many people from so many different destinations.
We are just starting to build 46 deluxe cabins on the rear block which will be kitted out to accommodate everyone's needs from deluxe rooms with four poster beds and spa baths to family style accommodation through to a bridal room.
I look forward to seeing you in the near future and hope you have a fantastic 2013!
Kind regards,
Alley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Definitely the best value for money and service not be found anywhere else in Darwin. We stayed here on two different occasions during our trip and both rooms were absolutely immaculate. The double rooms that we used had good aircon, fan, fridges and were well configured in terms of the location of the power points and bathroom. For the price room it felt absolutely luxurious.

The staff were helpful with all our touristy questions and provided great recommendations for where to shop/eat. The manager Ally definitely went above and beyond for us on Christmas Day when we were in the unfortunate position of being unable to purchase any food.

We were welcomed liked old friends and we would definitely recommend this property to everyone travelling to Darwin. This property definitely made our short trip to the Northern Territory worthwhile and I look forward to returning here in the near future.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are probably a little less warm when you first go in, but once the aircon kic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Hi LinYJ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit, it is always good to receive such fantastic feedback.
Christmas is a special time of the year and we were very happy to have you share it with our family and team.
We hope on your return visit you will take advantage of our deluxe queen rooms with the added bonus of robes, slippers and the deluxe pamper package.
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Kind regards,
Alley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
950 reviews
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,006 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
3.0 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
938 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing