We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not the best coffee in Darwin”
Review of Java Spice Cafe Emporium - CLOSED

Java Spice Cafe Emporium
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: Tropical experience Cafe unique in Darwin! Old-fashioned comfort food including Homestyle ham off the bone, English Style corned beef & roasted chickens, Slow cooked belly pork & home made Gluten Free cakes and treats (decadent!) in addition to die for real fresh homemade cakes. Rustic Gourmet Tasty cafe food.ILLY premium coffee. OPENING TIMES MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 6.30am to 4pm. THURSDAY AND FRIDAY 6.30AM UNTIL 4.30PM SATURDAYS from 7.00am until 4.30PM SUNDAYS from 8am until 4PM Roving acoustic music and Weekend Food for an amazing different start to the weekend. Relax and enjoy. Java Spice Cafe Emporium is a unique cafe with stunning interiors, artwork and has a gallery as well as unique gifts from the Spice Islands. A true Darwin Tropical Experience not be missed. SPECIALISING IN HIGH TEAS, BABY SHOWERS, BRIDAL SHOWERS AND GIRLIE CATCH UPS..
darwin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best coffee in Darwin”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm sorry but they are promoting themselves as having the best coffee in Darwin and that is veery questionable. If you like a very weak coffee then this is your spot - if you are a coffee connoisseur then this is not your place. Great decor but do you go somewhere for the decor or the coffee......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DarwinBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Oh my gosh! PLEASE come in a free coffee (or a couple so you can see that this is not how WE serve coffee - this one must have slipped through but did you mention it? We would have rectified immediately. We really pride ourselves on our coffee and as you can see from the reviews we have succeeded making inspirational coffee 99.9% of the time so we apologise. Come back! Make yourself known to us - and enjoy a fabulous coffee on us. We have ILLY (the only Illy in the NT) and Nespresso with the latest Aquila machine. We had people in from a cruise ship who nearly cried when they had our coffee - the sheer delight of wonderful coffee so we are devastated at this review but thank you for telling us. Kindest regards, Moya PS glad you liked the decor...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    35
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
173 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Good old fashioned service.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to come and relax and be pampered a bit. Great coffee at a bit of a premium price however, that is what you expect with a proper Barista making the coffee and attentive service. Nice cakes to go with the coffee.

The service is good and the staff friendly (love the uniforms but not totally sure of the strategy there).

The Rating:
Food / Coffee - 9 out of 10
Venue - 8.5 out of 10
Atmosphere - 9 out of 10
Location - 8 out of 10
Friendliness and Efficiency of Staff - 9 out of 10
Value for Money - 8.5 out of 10

Helpful?
Thank RamblingNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for the review! We use the most expensive coffee at Java Spice. We have Illy coffee which is renowned for flavour and style but even wholesale it would make you weep. We only charge $4.90 for our ILLY coffee costing is pretty standard for Darwin although others do not use the premium coffees. We have a house mix which is divine which we do for $3.90 as well and again we think it is the best Java in Darwin. Our uniforms for the Christmas season have a little bling and sparkle and we have santa trousers vogue style in red and black to go with them.. Something a little different.. Our coffees are served to the table with outstanding tropical touches like our cold aromatherapy towels and flowers which makes a difference on a hot tropical day! Please come again Regards and Happy Christmas Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Who needs eggs?”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I like to treat ourselves to breakfast out each Saturday morning. We fancied a bacon and egg sandwich today (for lack of i teresti g fare) but instead stumbled upon the Java Spice Cafe who don't cook bacon or eggs! However the beautiful decor and obience of the cafe enticed us to stay. The place even smells wonderful and is CLEAN ( so sick of sitting in grubby cafes). Loved the refreshing cool face cloth. Dont ever stop this high service act. Sooo appreciated.

We enjoyed the "money back guarantee" ham, cheese, tomatoe sandwich ( hubby) and I enjoyed the best I've ever tasted croissant with same filling. Truly I'm understating how good the food and coffee is but I want to also comment on the service. I can't give enough praise for the service from Peter and staff. We didn't have to put up with listening to the banter from staff as they 'entertain themselves'. They were at work and we, the customers, were their focus. At last Darwin has a quality cafe...somewhere to take the visitors to and be proud of.

As a local for 30 years I know we will be returning frequently...probably even this afternoon because I can't stop thinking how good the angel cake... the carrot cake... the pastries looked....oh dear me! Thank you Moya and Peter. Please keep up the high standard and continue to be Darwin's beacon for high quality, clean and classy cafe standard. Xx PS if I could give 6 stars I would.

Helpful?
3 Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Debbi R! We are delighted you came to our version of breakfast.. We try to make delightful Greek Yoghurt Berries with Organic honey and our croissants with leg ham gently toasted are a treat. We have a small kitchen but we do work hard to fill up hollow legs with outstanding quality food. Hence our money back toastie.. Proud of it and if you have had a better one in a cafe it's free.. We err on the side of generous and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Our staff is focused on the guest and they do try to make sure that every visitor has a memorable time with us, full with good food and outstanding coffee.. See you again and thanks for the review.. Have a wonderful Christmas.. We have our beautiful decorations up so look forward to showing them off.. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Possibly the best coffee in Darwin”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes it is a nice place, the owners have done a very good job with everything. The furniture the fit out the crockery the cakes the coffee the standard and quality is by far the best in Darwin. Cool scented towels on arrival and friendly gorgeous staff. it's just a nice place to sit relax and have a coffee and a chat. There's a few things that they need to iron out but very minor and it will come with time.
Good luck to them and if you are looking for a coffee on a sunday in the city look no further than Java Spice 5 stars from me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A stunning oasis!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an exotic little oasis - chilled handtowels to freshen up and then the very best Chai Latte ever! The service was excellent and the Sicilian Lemon Cake with pure cream was superb. Other delicious cakes include a chocolate, prune and almond. The savoury food was top quality, using Barossa Valley Ham no less. Returned several times during our stay and wish we had time to eat our way through the menu! Well done folks and our family who live in Darwin are eager to visit you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you! The Sicilian Lemon Cake is a labour of love - 3 layers of lemon, sunshiny and a trip to Italy when you can't get there for real..Glad you liked it..We are positive it is good for you! We love it when people from Melbourne visit - coffee is quite amazing down there but we love a little competition and so we go out of our way to impress.. Thank you for the review and letting your family know.. It is much appreciated in a newish business.. Kindest Regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice Cafe Emporium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing