We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Spice Cafe Emporium - CLOSED

Java Spice Cafe Emporium
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Description: Tropical experience Cafe unique in Darwin! Old-fashioned comfort food including Homestyle ham off the bone, English Style corned beef & roasted chickens, Slow cooked belly pork & home made Gluten Free cakes and treats (decadent!) in addition to die for real fresh homemade cakes. Rustic Gourmet Tasty cafe food.ILLY premium coffee. OPENING TIMES MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 6.30am to 4pm. THURSDAY AND FRIDAY 6.30AM UNTIL 4.30PM SATURDAYS from 7.00am until 4.30PM SUNDAYS from 8am until 4PM Roving acoustic music and Weekend Food for an amazing different start to the weekend. Relax and enjoy. Java Spice Cafe Emporium is a unique cafe with stunning interiors, artwork and has a gallery as well as unique gifts from the Spice Islands. A true Darwin Tropical Experience not be missed. SPECIALISING IN HIGH TEAS, BABY SHOWERS, BRIDAL SHOWERS AND GIRLIE CATCH UPS..
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The food at this coffee shop is basic, but good. The pork rolls are tasty, but could be better by inclusion of more goodies. The coffee is very good. My partner declared the Chai Latte as "the best". What sets this place apart from many others is the excellent and friendly service, each table was greeted by one iof the owners during our visit,and the amazing art work - paintings (some by the owner), flower displays, etc. It is somewhere to relax and enjoy your time. A great pity it does not open for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
All the way from Lake Macquarie..Although our main niche are the residents of Darwin - tough and discerning judges of coffee and ambiance, it is amazing the people we meet from all around Australia visiting sunny Darwin. You will have more goodies in the Naughty Boy pork roll - Bangalow Pork with the salads and herbs stuffed into the freshly made Vietnamese rolls has a way of escaping every which way but we agree More is better!
And we love our gorgeous fresh tropical flowers so very pleased you mentioned them. Our menu is limited a la regulations but our kitchen does produce miracles when you consider its size. Our aim is to have every person go out feeling happier than when they arrived with full tummies and a new stimulating view on life in Darwin. Thank you for the review and the visit Many kind regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    35
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in darwin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Coffee is great the atmosphere and decore are the nicest in Darwin and the service from the staff is fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OutthereWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Great Fish!! Thank you for your review, short and sweet - like many have their wonderful coffee. Thanks for coming! Hope you come again.. Kindest Regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Darwin has come of age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading so many raving reviews, we just had to try it for ourselves.
From the refreshing cool and moist cotton towelettes with a glass of water at the start, to the last sip of your delicious coffee, this establishment ticks all the boxes.
The aromas, decor and furnishings just sweep you up, as your mind travels off to somewhere else afar.
Two mornings in a row my wife and I enjoyed the experience.
We noted that this cafe has become an institution for many a local city dweller to meet here over a coffee and chat with friends.
The menu is limited, however I personally think it is quite sufficient. I note that most, if not all the pastries, cakes and breads are made in house.
The food was delicious and nicely presented. Our ham, cheese and tomato toastie included real ham off the bone. On the second day we enjoyed the home made fruit and nut loaf.
The chocolate coated coffee bean is a lovely touch accompanying your beverage.

Yes it is a little more expensive than your average coffee shop, but this is definitely NOT your average coffee shop.
Thanks Java Spice Cafe you have brought something to Darwin which has for a long time, has been lacking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkeyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you! We do have a beautiful coffee lounge and it was designed to be unique and VERY comfortable. We did not do plastic tables and chairs we did it with furniture you might have in your own home (and we do have enquiries about where to purchase the gorgeous chairs) We have a limited menu because we are restricted by Government regulations as the style of food able to be prepared. Many places in Australia are a little more progressive but here if we do not have huge greasetraps (even if we do not cook fried food like fish and chips etc) we have a limited food licence. Cest La Vie.. No use fighting city hall. So we do the very best we can. And we are very, very glad you liked it. We love our work, we are passionate about our product and we give try hard to give comfort excellent coffee and airconditioned surroundings.. Please come again.. My kindest regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We (a group of 9 on holiday) had the pleasure of meeting the wonderful Moya when we walked into Java Spice very late one afternoon. I believe they were closing shop but Moya just waved us in, turned the coffee machine back on and treated us like royalty. We all loved the beauty of this place and its ecclectic decor. Great artwork and pieces on show. The coffee was great and the brownies were sensational. We went back on three occasions, four of us for lunch and had the most wonderful corned beef rolls. Nine of us went back for breakfast and the effort to accommodate us all together on a busy day was impressive. The food was good, Interesting combinations and very fresh. We found the service excellent on every occasion. Moya, I think you have a great product here. Well done to you and your hubby and every good wish. Mary Anne Morrell

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARY ANNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We loved having you.. It was late in the day but courtesy and hospitality is what we want to offer in our wonderful tropical city. When we came here, it was the friendliest place in Australia and we want to do our bit to keep it that way. We loved having you and just wish you had stayed longer - we liked having you in so often! We thank you very much for a wonderful review and hope you return to Darwin again. Your comments make it all worthwhile.. Kind regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service needs spicing up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I like the quirky decor but the "service" is bewildering! The first time I went they had only recently opened and so you expect a bit of confusion amongst the staff. But the second time I went (weeks later) the service was the same. I had to wait ages at the counter for the staff member to ask me what I wanted and then I had to track a staff member down later as they forgot to come to our table to see what we wanted to order. On the second visit they completely forgot about the cold towel which is a shame because it is a nice touch in Darwin. The coffee on my first visit was really weak and so I ordered tea the second time and will have to remember to ask for a stronger coffee next time I go. Third time lucky? I hope so as I really want to like this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovejetboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Oh dear.. I have been educated in the Customer is Always Right School and so this is disappointing. We will go over our service regime in the light of this review. It does get busy and we do offer table service (not the norm for Darwin) We do run out of our cold hand rolled aromatherapy towels too at times much to the horror of the laundry and the staff in general
We love giving them out with the flower tucked into them and the iced filtered water and know you would have been disappointed not to have one.
We are not sure why the coffee would have been weak and would ask if any guest has a coffee that was not great - let the Barista know. We spend a small fortune on our coffee (We have Illy and Nespresso and we do a double shot in our mugs standard) We spend a bigger one fortune on the state of the Art machines - if you have a coffee you are not happy with let us know. It will be replaced at no cost. Please make yourself known to us.. We owe you a great coffee and the world's best carrot cake. Many thanks, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice Cafe Emporium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing