We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky coffee shop”
Review of Java Spice Cafe Emporium - CLOSED

Java Spice Cafe Emporium
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tropical experience Cafe unique in Darwin! Old-fashioned comfort food including Homestyle ham off the bone, English Style corned beef & roasted chickens, Slow cooked belly pork & home made Gluten Free cakes and treats (decadent!) in addition to die for real fresh homemade cakes. Rustic Gourmet Tasty cafe food.ILLY premium coffee. OPENING TIMES MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 6.30am to 4pm. THURSDAY AND FRIDAY 6.30AM UNTIL 4.30PM SATURDAYS from 7.00am until 4.30PM SUNDAYS from 8am until 4PM Roving acoustic music and Weekend Food for an amazing different start to the weekend. Relax and enjoy. Java Spice Cafe Emporium is a unique cafe with stunning interiors, artwork and has a gallery as well as unique gifts from the Spice Islands. A true Darwin Tropical Experience not be missed. SPECIALISING IN HIGH TEAS, BABY SHOWERS, BRIDAL SHOWERS AND GIRLIE CATCH UPS..
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The atmosphere is great, although I was expecting Indonesian food and not cakes and sandwiches. However the sandwich/rolls were fabulous, and the cakes looked incredible. The service was friendly, but pretty inefficient. We were 1 of 2 couples there and we got offered the wrong food three times! I suspect the coffee is very good, but I didnt try it. Worth another visit for sure

Thank gabby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Come back!! We thank you for your review and yes we do have a Java or Spice Island theme and the food reflects a little bit of all the places that had something to do with the trade between the islands.. Not restricted to Indonesia but also about the Colonialists (you should taste the Portuguese Tarts freshly made by Mummy Number 2)
And the service sounds as though it might have been a bit eclectic on the day you visited as well! Something was definitely lost in translation that day and we apologise. Let us try again.. Kind regards, Moya PS the cakes are delicious I promise..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 271 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

This little coffee shop has great coffee and a limited but delicious range of cakes which makes it the perfect spot for morning tea. The decor is eclectic with a range of seating options and the room is filled with quirky wall art and colour. Coffee tables piled with a range of interesting magazines and the NT News and the relaxed and quiet ambience helps you to feel welcome and stay longer than expected. Coffee is s bit pricey at $4.90 but is well worth it and the cake servings are generous and reasonably priced. If you are looking for a meal go elsewhere but this is the place for catching up with friends or settling in for a bit of a read and quiet contemplation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We do have a iimited but fresh and tasty menu with delicious cakes and sandwiches.. We have many repeat guests for the crustless club sandwiches packed with the best ingredients A little treat really when one consides the processed food that is normally served in cafes.. Combine with the best coffee in town and a handsome slice of cake we promise you will go out feeling nurtured and well fed.. One of the few places you can go on your own and really enjoy the interlude.. Many thanks and hope to see you again soon.. Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to Java Spice today for a coffee after hearing about it from friends. It is such a cute cafe, they have done a great job on the decoration and furnishing. The coffee was great and the service was excellent - would recommend any day of the week!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank pedeypie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

A million thanks! We are still working hard to improve all things, constant and never ending improvement as Tony Robbins says! We are still new and people still finding out about us and it is wonderful to have a review like this! We wanted a very different stylish Cafe like the days when Cafes and Coffee Houses in Europe were the place to be with great music, converstation and Art. AND excellent quality Coffee. We have a choice of two. The Italian Illy with a retro Machine and the fabulous George Clooney Swiss perfection in Coffee Nespresso in their amazing space age coffee Machine.. Something for everyone.. Regards, Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fantastic coffee and service! Best place to catch up with some friends in Darwin. The ambient is just great and puts one into another place...it is everything but a typical Darwin coffee shop :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Julia_Chulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We are so pleased you discovered a new retreat in Darwin.. In the design we made spaces which had different and expensive furniture - places to hideaway and have some romance, places to have inspirational discussions about life in general.. A little bit glamorous and a very comfortable and we already have return guests who have their own special places that they love.. It is a great result and just what we wanted.. Thank you for the review.. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had read about this cafe in a local magazine and we are always drawn to good coffee. It's a cafe with asian decor. You are greeted and shown to your table then cold towels are bought to you which is so lovely to refresh with. The food is counter food but very fresh. We both had roast chicken & salad sandwiches made with fresh grainy bread, they were great. Followed by carrot cake (I could resist) and really good coffees. A great cafe experience.

Thank TravelkiwiDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

We are glad you liked the Carrot Cake. It is stuffed full of spice, walnuts, pineapple, coconut and raisins and of course carrots.. We have it iced with a traditional cream cheese lemon icing and it is requested all the time. Something healthy in a freshly roasted chicken sandwhich on artisan grain bread and then something naughty.. That is what life is about.. Thank you for the review and thanks for coming.. Moya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice Cafe Emporium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing