We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cute coffee shop, love the design!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Java Spice Cafe Emporium - CLOSED

Java Spice Cafe Emporium
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Description: Tropical experience Cafe unique in Darwin! Old-fashioned comfort food including Homestyle ham off the bone, English Style corned beef & roasted chickens, Slow cooked belly pork & home made Gluten Free cakes and treats (decadent!) in addition to die for real fresh homemade cakes. Rustic Gourmet Tasty cafe food.ILLY premium coffee. OPENING TIMES MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 6.30am to 4pm. THURSDAY AND FRIDAY 6.30AM UNTIL 4.30PM SATURDAYS from 7.00am until 4.30PM SUNDAYS from 8am until 4PM Roving acoustic music and Weekend Food for an amazing different start to the weekend. Relax and enjoy. Java Spice Cafe Emporium is a unique cafe with stunning interiors, artwork and has a gallery as well as unique gifts from the Spice Islands. A true Darwin Tropical Experience not be missed. SPECIALISING IN HIGH TEAS, BABY SHOWERS, BRIDAL SHOWERS AND GIRLIE CATCH UPS..
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very cute coffee shop, love the design!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to Java Spice today for a coffee after hearing about it from friends. It is such a cute cafe, they have done a great job on the decoration and furnishing. The coffee was great and the service was excellent - would recommend any day of the week!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedeypie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
A million thanks! We are still working hard to improve all things, constant and never ending improvement as Tony Robbins says! We are still new and people still finding out about us and it is wonderful to have a review like this! We wanted a very different stylish Cafe like the days when Cafes and Coffee Houses in Europe were the place to be with great music, converstation and Art. AND excellent quality Coffee. We have a choice of two. The Italian Illy with a retro Machine and the fabulous George Clooney Swiss perfection in Coffee Nespresso in their amazing space age coffee Machine.. Something for everyone.. Regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    35
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fantastic coffee and service! Best place to catch up with some friends in Darwin. The ambient is just great and puts one into another place...it is everything but a typical Darwin coffee shop :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Chulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are so pleased you discovered a new retreat in Darwin.. In the design we made spaces which had different and expensive furniture - places to hideaway and have some romance, places to have inspirational discussions about life in general.. A little bit glamorous and a very comfortable and we already have return guests who have their own special places that they love.. It is a great result and just what we wanted.. Thank you for the review.. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had read about this cafe in a local magazine and we are always drawn to good coffee. It's a cafe with asian decor. You are greeted and shown to your table then cold towels are bought to you which is so lovely to refresh with. The food is counter food but very fresh. We both had roast chicken & salad sandwiches made with fresh grainy bread, they were great. Followed by carrot cake (I could resist) and really good coffees. A great cafe experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelkiwiDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We are glad you liked the Carrot Cake. It is stuffed full of spice, walnuts, pineapple, coconut and raisins and of course carrots.. We have it iced with a traditional cream cheese lemon icing and it is requested all the time. Something healthy in a freshly roasted chicken sandwhich on artisan grain bread and then something naughty.. That is what life is about.. Thank you for the review and thanks for coming.. Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

A fantastic, classy cafe with great tasting coffee. The decor is amazing and I loved the cold scented hand towels delivered with my coffee. It's about time Darwin has a place like this, to sit and relax in style. Service was outstanding, as were the pastries !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We want the best for our cafe guests and it is a real pleasure every day to see the surprise on the faces of people who came for a coffee and left happy after really enjoying the coffee, the food and a retreat into another world. Thanks for visiting and thank you for writing to TripAdvisor Kind Regards, Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs all the 5s!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Great, came across this on opening day. Great, friendly staff with yhr best tasting coffee in Darwin. Very attentive staff, would love to see what they could produce with a kitchen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stubaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, Owner at Java Spice Cafe Emporium, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello and thank you for the review.. Opening day is always chaos so very happy you found it so good. Ah yes If we only had a real kitchen..What wonders we would create.. We are limited to cakes, pastries, fresh crusty rolls crammed to the brim with things like fresh avocado and pesto and vine ripened tomatoes and real cheese. Artisan fruit toast stacked with fruit and nuts...And our "Money back" toasties - Toasted sandwhiches which we guarantee with money back if they are not the best toasted sandwiches you have ever had in a cafe.. Homestyle leg ham on the bone, English style corned beef replete with chutney and hot English mustard if to your taste. We have chocolate croissants with couverture chocolate in butter puff, not the average chemical style pastry for us or our guests (we call our customers guests because we do want them to feel like they have visited us at home in a beautiful lounge) We have an Apple Cake to die for. And an Orange cake with angel wings. We have divine coffee, fresh cream, demera sugar, marshmallows with the baby chinos In other words, food we would serve our guests. With a kitchen of substance people might want to live here! Many thanks and hope we see you again Moya Peter Jag and the girls..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Spice Cafe Emporium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing