We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but pick your time”
Review of Fox Ale House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fox Ale House
Cuisines: Australian
Description: The Fox +6189421866
Restaurant details
Description: The Fox +6189421866
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fox Ale house has a good reputation for food and atmosphere, but it's the kind of place where you have to pick your moment, otherwise you''ll have to pass notes to each on the serviettes or your dinner date will have to read your lips. We timed our visit well, and were rewarded with a lovely meal, great conversation, excellent service and a really enjoyable atmosphere. If you want something a little different get down there on a Sunday night around six and join in the Trivia Night - a laugh a minute even if you don't know the answers. On the other hand, if you like an ale or two, then most nights after 8pm it's standing room only, and you'll probably have to shout in each other's ears.

Date of visit: July 2013
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 28 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed a nice meal in a friendly atmosphere. Well done Friday June 14th. Great Chicken Schnitzel guys

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank wanderlustLangwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have become somewhat of a local at The Fox, it is unpretentious, the staff remember you every time you go back and having live music almost every night of the week to just sit back and enjoy or get up and have a dance is just fantstic. We go there often and will continue to do so! It gets no where near as crowded as the "trendy" pubs further down Mitchell St in the heart of the party atmosphere and that it also why we think it is fantastic, genuine old school pub!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We explained to the lady manager the N. American method of table service and how tips work. I think she must have made $150 in tips on the first night from us. She was happy to bring the beers to our table. An awesome pub. We did far more drinking than eating, but the food was definitely good. And only a short walk to the hotel!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank alberthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent food... The best service you'll get on Mitchell street. It's a good place to be with a good crowd so the girls (and guy) working there seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and it shows. Always happy but also some of the kindest and most caring staff on Mitchell st.
Another great thing, it's about 200 metres further down Mitchell st than most of the drunken yobs can manage to stagger so still retains an excellent bar feeling even by the time of night the rest of the street has turned into a nightclub. My favourite hang out when stuck in the cbd.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xjesusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Ale House also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing