We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Fox”
Review of Fox Ale House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fox Ale House
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Fox +6189421866
Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the Fox”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have become somewhat of a local at The Fox, it is unpretentious, the staff remember you every time you go back and having live music almost every night of the week to just sit back and enjoy or get up and have a dance is just fantstic. We go there often and will continue to do so! It gets no where near as crowded as the "trendy" pubs further down Mitchell St in the heart of the party atmosphere and that it also why we think it is fantastic, genuine old school pub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great beer, decent pub food, and very friendly service.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We explained to the lady manager the N. American method of table service and how tips work. I think she must have made $150 in tips on the first night from us. She was happy to bring the beers to our table. An awesome pub. We did far more drinking than eating, but the food was definitely good. And only a short walk to the hotel!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank alberthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderTheStairs
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best pub on Mitchell street without a doubt”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent food... The best service you'll get on Mitchell street. It's a good place to be with a good crowd so the girls (and guy) working there seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and it shows. Always happy but also some of the kindest and most caring staff on Mitchell st.
Another great thing, it's about 200 metres further down Mitchell st than most of the drunken yobs can manage to stagger so still retains an excellent bar feeling even by the time of night the rest of the street has turned into a nightclub. My favourite hang out when stuck in the cbd.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xjesusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fantastic caring staff. Called us in and offered water for our dog without expecting us to order anything for ourselves. We did anyway and the pub food was excellent and reasonably priced. Excellent service

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gideon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Quick drink after cinema”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I like 'The Fox' as it's not overly crowded like the place across the road. They last few times we have dropped in for a drink after the cinema they have had a solo singer, or small band playing which has been great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Ale House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing