We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed January 17, 2010

As backpacker hostels go this place is not too bad, rooms have good air-con, the kitchen is clean and orderly, the laundry is a bit ordinary as are the toilet/shower facilities. Prices in the off season are reasonable but skyrocket in peak times but unfortunately the staff were quite rude and arrogant. All in all I think I would go somewhere else next time I visit Darwin.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardsimsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 361 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2009

My best friend and I stayed here for about a week while backpacking around Australia. It was great! Although we didn't spend a whole heap of time at the hostel itself, we checked out the kitchen area, it was modern and clean.
The pool area is awesome! Has a decent sized pool, as well as a smaller pool with waterfall, and sun chairs and best of all a bar all in the same area! Vending machines on every level a great idea. Bathrooms were very clean.

I will admit that the rooms are very small, and there was only 1 powerpoint in the whole 8 bed dorm room so we were constantly fighting over it to charge are phones, ipods etc. with other guests. The matresses have plastic protective covering so make the slightest movement and wake the whole room. And the doors shut so loudly even when you are trying to be quiet!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It is in the middle of town for nightlife and shopping, great for the partying backpacker. But if you are after a good nights rest, best to stay somewhere with quieter beds/doors.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasmaniaFlashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed in this hostel for two nights in May. There was this big sports happening in Darwin (Arafura Games) at the time so most of the hotels were either fully booked or really expensive, so we "had" to book this hostel for a couple of nights.
We had a private double without bathroom, it had a small double bed and a bunk bed in the room. The were also big lockers where you could put your stuff (bring your own lock!). The mattresses had rubber covering, which was annoying. The room had dirty walls and floor, it looked like the room had been sprayed with something.
To be honest, the room felt like a prison cell and we only went there to sleep (very poorly).

I liked:
* The internet point in the reception area.
* The patio area, where they showed movies in the evenings.
* Central location.

I disliked:
* The doors make a big slam when they shut so it's quite a noisy place.
* Rooms.

All in all, i COULD stay here again but only if all the better hotels were fully booked.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerSun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

It was a nice hostel, great bar and pool, the dormitory was very big with only 4 beds and it's only 10 dollars deposit for the key. But I would not recommend it: you need your electronic card (key) all the time, not only to enter your room but also to go to the pool, between floors and even in the elevator, and in the elevator it didn't work!! Very annoying. Plus the mattresses are covered with plastic, it makes a lot of noise when someone moves.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

this was an ok place. realy central location, clean, 24 hours staff, lots of facilities including pool and partying people. little bit noisy at night, bunks not great, and a little bit too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurboN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Never encountered ruder staff in reception. Rooms tiny, bunks had paper thin mattresses. Bar and pool area ok but overall a terrible experience.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
2  Thank AlanVet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

we arrived in Darwin on a red eye flight, we did not pre book accomodation and the airport shuttle dropped us off opposite Melaleuca, they were the only place that was open at 0130am. We were put into a 4 bed dorm, the room was very comfortable and clean and no complaints for $22 per night.

Pool was amazing place to chill out and meet people.

Reception staff are very nice. As far as backpackers go this is one of the best everything you need is there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bully123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 51 in Darwin
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#36 of 51 in Darwin
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#16 of 51 in Darwin
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#38 of 51 in Darwin
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Melaleuca on Mitchell)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $19 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing