We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moldy and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Ranked #35 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our group checked into two en-suite rooms. The first smelled so much of mold that it was impossible to remain in the room for more than two seconds. The same room also had an air conditioning unit that made a loud drone. The staff did allow this room to be changed.

Our room did not initially have the same moldy smell but overnight the smell came through the air conditioning unit. The pillow cases also smelled not just moldy but actually rotten. As other reviews have noted, the beds are covered in plastic. The floors are filthy and the bathroom isn't exactly clean.

The pool is tiny and the upstairs bar staff & atmosphere are on the aggresive side. We could not wait to check out of that place. If you check out before noon you get a refund - the best thing about this place! Oh and for pretty much the same money you can then check into the Crowne Plaza. The Crowne Plaza are very used to getting escapees from Maleluca - they even gave us complimentary drinks vouchers to help us get over the experience...

Room Tip: Check out and head to Crowne Plaza instead.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 355 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I live in the NT and just needed a night in Darwin. Thought I'd try MOM as it's in a really handy and great location but boy- from the second I stepped into the reception office one staff member made it hell. A total jerk.. I simply queried why the online rate i paid was more than the desk one offered when i had phoned and been told they were the same. He denied it- but that's what i was told. Claimed i was lying! god it was a $4 difference and i was just pointing it out. I did not ask for money back- just wanted to know why there was a difference on the day i walked in. He yelled at me- saying i could p off and go stay somewhere else if i didn't like it. Great way to be treated after a 4am start and a 6hr flight!The other staff seemed okay but not one intervened to stop his rant so I won't be recommending this place at all to anyone - unless you like being verbally abused. Get rid of the English guy and things would improve immensely. Customer service is obviously not a priority as long as he remains on staff. Completely turned me off recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpataus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms are disgusting! If you set the temperature on an acceptable level the floor becomes wet because of the humidity and everything becomes dirty.
When the staff sees that they tell you that you need to make it ice cold or they will throw you out of the hostel if you don't.
The nights are terrible because of that. The mattresses are made out of stupid material so you sweat even if it is ice cold in the room.
My suggestion if you went there accidentally: Just don't listen to the staff and set it on a good temperature. The rooms become mouldy because of that?? Not your problem you will never ever go back there and hopefully this disgusting facility breaks down one day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White Eagl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As soon as we checked in we had problems. Booked in a private quad share, but we were split up. Once I got into the room it was appalling, it looked like someone had been living in there for months, clothes everywhere and not a clean bed in site. Having complained to the reception I was then downgraded to a six bed dorm. Having asked to be in a room with someone I was travelling with we were told that could not happen, Im not to sure why as there was 2 empty beds in the room for both nights I stay. The staff did not want to help you they just wanted you out the reception area. The communal toilets were filthy with glasses from the bar in the urinal for over 24 hours. The bar staff were more interested in sitting around the pool and the bar area looked like it had been invaded by Magaluf holiday makers, not a backpacker scene!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, nice and friendly staff, clean bathrooms and toilets, the laundry services. Nice private rooms but the beds are not so comfortable. I needed a taxi to the airport and there wasn't any problems. I can recommend Melaleuca!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Positive: central location, good facilities, large kitchen full equipped (also full of people ever!) sufficient cleaning, swimming pool and bar funny, staff very friendly and helpful for tour booking or bus-shuttle, I often had problems with the key/card, at reception were very patient and reloaded it every time
Negative: I tried 3 differents rooms and all were practically without window (a small one covered by panels, I can't call it windows), a/c always runs but the condensation occurs and the floor is often wet, but the worst thing is the mattress covered with plastic; so you sleep very badly

The third floor is reserved for female; if possible choose rooms far from bar & pool

NB if you book a tour through the reception at least 3 days you are entitled to a free night, 1 hour internet and leave your luggage for free! Sounds good, but you have to ask them to give it, they don't tell you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vilmer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this backpackers. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite for a week. The room was tidy, clean and very reasonably priced. We were also very pleased and surprised to find that out room was cleaned, bed made and fresh towels daily. The staff were very friendly and pleasant, the reception was open 24 hours so you could come and go as you pleased. Our room was basically sound proof and the air conditioning made it more than easy to sleep. Will DEFINITELY be staying there again

Room Tip: the bottom level is great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Maddie S,

Thank you for your reviews of Melaleuca on Mitchell. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed staying at our backpackers hostel and that you found the cleanliness and customer service provided by our staff was to a high standard. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Top End.

Regards
Sheena and the team at MOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.0 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 51 in Darwin
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#33 of 51 in Darwin
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#17 of 51 in Darwin
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#36 of 51 in Darwin
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Melaleuca on Mitchell)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing