We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Ranked #33 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here at the start and end if our trip and def recommend. We stayed in a double room, first time with shared bathroom and second time with an ensuite. Both rooms were clean and staff were really helpful even booking taxis to the airport (same price as bus for two people). If you can afford the ensuite the rooms are a lot quieter as further from the pool and bar.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunnbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 366 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was expecting the worst based on past reviews. but it wasnt that bad after all.

i just needed a place to rest for the night before taking a flight out the next day. was in a 6 share room. aside from the mess the other ladies made on the floor (clothes on the floor, luggages lying open), the sheets were clean, no bed bugs, toilet was clean (no grime or on curtains), security was good (room access only by card), and i got to sleep through the whole night.

i would give it a 'very good' based on the fact that its a backpacker's and not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracelimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Before we booked with Melaleuca on Mitchell we emailed them to find out their check-in policy as we would be arriving at around 7am from an overnight OS flight. We were told if we could hold off until 10:30am not to worry about booking for the night before and that they could hold our bags for us until 10:30am when our room would be ready. We arrived at 7:30am, tired and ready for bed, to be told our room wouldn't be ready until 12 but to keep checking back. This was annoying but we found other things to do. We went back at 9:30am to be scoffed at for returning so soon. But it was when we came back at 12:30pm to be told there was still no room, that's when I told them what our email arrangement had been and that it was their own staff who recommended we "not bother" to book the extra night.

But apparently because the girl on reception didn't know who said that and because it wasn't policy, she could not care less. She had the most revolting attitude. The best word to describe her demeanor would be patronising followed by unprofessional. When I asked what she could do for us, as we had nowhere to go, she offered us nothing. Then when I asked if we could be contacted when the room WAS ready, she said "no, you can come back check like everyone else."

Luckily for us, we had friends in Darwin who took us into their home where we showered and slept a few hours before returning back to the backpackers that night, thankfully to different staff, however, not a lot more helpful. They also don't let you take alcohol into your room. I had a bottle of green label Johnie Walker I bought for my dad from duty free that I wasn't aloud to take into the room... because of course I'm going to drink a $100 bottle of scotch in one night in a room with no opening window that's not dissimilar to a sauna... I'm guessing they get some real wowsers stay there to assume that.

We paid $69 a night for the double room, and it was woeful. A plastic covered mattress that felt more like a blow up airbed. An old air-conditioner that sounded more like plane getting ready for take off, plus the unpleasant odor of chlorine and damp wet room, it really iced the cake. With that we bought an internet card and booked at a different location for the next night.

On check out the next day, we had the same woman on reception as the day before. oh and boy was she surprised to see us! Exclaiming she thought we'd already checked out! And telling us how they came to get us when our room was ready but we were gone! once again, incredibly patronising. The other staff member on the front desk at the time was very nice however.

The common area upstairs was nice enough, could have used more undercover seats. The seats that were left were wet (wet season) so we had no choice but to return to our "room"

I completely understand that this place is just a backpackers, but I have no idea where the 4 star comes from, that is totally misleading. 1 star would be more appropriate... and probably wouldn't have left me so disappointed. Also there is a hotel next door which I believe is owned by the same people of the backpackers that offers rooms at $69 per night. I have no idea what it's like, but it must be better than MOM.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chocolatekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Chocolate Kara,

Thank you for your comments via Trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to a bad customer service experience with an individual member of our staff.

We have looked into this matter and have sat down with the staff member concerned to discuss your feedback, how she handled it and her interaction with you. We have gone through a number of solutions that she could have utilized to get you into a room earlier.
We have also put out a memo to all reception staff regarding this matter and it has been added to our training manuals in more detail regarding early flight arrivals, so that we do not have this matter reoccurring. Usually we pride ourselves on our level of customer service and this will be monitored by the Front Office Manager.

We do have a policy of no alcohol in our rooms so that "room parties" late at night do not become an issue for other guests.

Unfortunately the weather has been very wet and humid in Darwin with records days of rain in a row. To combat these issues we are currently painting rooms, changing air conditioners and other furnishings around the backpacker hostel. All our mattresses do have a plastic covering on them to deter any pest etc in the tropics.

We do have another property which was offering rooms at $75.00 per night or $69.00 for 2 night stays or longer. We hope that you enjoyed catching up with your friends and the rest of your time in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Big, brash, party atmosphere to this highly efficient backpackers. Not a great spot for a good nights sleep, but good spot to hang out for a cheap beer or two while people watching the endless stream of world-over backpackers. Top of the lonely planet list - with all the good and bad that comes with it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell. We are a busy backpackers hostel in the heart of Darwin City with a range of private and dormitory accommodation to suit people traveling on a budget.

As you have said it is a great place to socialise and meet people from all around the world with the leisure deck on the first floor a space to hang out. We do try and minimize noise by having a no visitors rule after 10pm, closing our pool deck bar before midnight and utilizing a security company to do regular patrols around the property..

We hope to see you up at the leisure deck again for a beer at some stage

Regards
Sheena Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The location is nice directly on Mitchell St. We stayed in a double room as we wantd to be alone for the night but the price is incredibely high (95$), we decided to move to the hotel just a few meters from Melaleuca and it was much better. The swimming pool is nice and full of people. But the worst things is the kitchen. If you are on a budget and have to cook... good luck! One over two cooker is not working and the kitchen is so dirty!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Firstly, their website is NOT to be believed. "Our rooms are spacious & clean." FALSE. They are clutted with other people's belongings, dirty and SMELL awful. "They are air-conditioned & have individual secure lockers." Yes there was an air conditioner but I don't think it worked, felt like 35 degrees in the room, and with 8 others in the room, I know I wasn't the only one suffering. And secure lockers - if you happen to pack a lock. "Keycard access to property, floors & to individual rooms." true, place is annoying @ times, overkill in all the wrong areas. "We have a mixture of twin, double, and dorm rooms available". Thank goodness for the women only floor is all I can say. It was dirty, stinky, pretty rude people around, random cleaning jobs happening - think someone had defecated on the wall - and it just didn't feel safe. Drunk idiots who had been ordered out of the pool were then hanging around trying to expose themselves, which was just weird and creepy. I checked in late, hardly slept, and was so excited to leave the place. Staff on the front counter were pretty nice considering the behaviour they have to see...some people really are PIGS!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

the location is great-- its right on the main street walking location to bars, restaurants, bikes for rent, main attractions. beds were decent -- rooms had a/c on the whole time with no fresh air (couldn't open windows), so the smell was dank. but overall ok.

what really put me off was that they wouldn't honor a complimentary drink coupon we had from our train ride magazine (we took the ghan to darwin). they kept going back and forth about it (front desk said show the bar, bar said show the front desk). after 15 min of checking back and forth they finally honored it, but said they would only give one per magazine (train had tons of magazines, had we known sooner we would have snatched them all). anyway i felt that was really unprofessional, its just one drink. chill out.

but all in all would still recommend for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinxdabinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 36 in Darwin
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 52 in Darwin
315 reviews
0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#35 of 52 in Darwin
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#15 of 52 in Darwin
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell

Address: 52 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Melaleuca on Mitchell)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca On Mitchell Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing