We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Australian Aviation Heritage Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.64*
and up
Darwin Aviation Museum: Aviation Heritage Centre General Entry
Ranked #6 of 120 things to do in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A B-52 bomber (one of only two on display outside the U.S.) is exhibited here along with other military aircraft, engines and the wreckage of a Japanese Zero fighter shot down in the 1942 air raids on Darwin.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I'm an aviation buff and I really enjoyed this museum. You can get up close with the aircraft in the hanger and the B-52 is massive, and you see more of it, and get closer to it here in Darwin then what you would if you went to the Avalon Air Show. A good display overall with the different types of helicopters and aircraft. It's easy to get to as well, as the bus stops right outside.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMarketingM, Public Relations Manager at Australian Aviation Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review of our Museum. We appreciate your feedback and we strive to continually improve in all areas in order for everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    209
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Amazing display of aircraft”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am an aviation enthusiast but this attraction exceeded my expectations, probably because I didn't know what to expect beforehand. The Heritage Centre is housed in a purpose built hangar, which was expressly built to fit a massive B52 bomber which dominates the building, but doesn't overwhelm the other exhibits. There is plenty of information, and relics from, the bombing of Darwin during World War II and the museum contains a great collection of both military and civilian aircraft. I spent a very pleasant few hours observing and reading about the various aircraft and watching a an interesting video about the bombing of Darwin. I would recommend the Australian Aviation Heritage Centre to anyone who has an interest in either history or aviation - the the full size B52 just has to be seen to be believed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMarketingM, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Aviation Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review of our Museum. We appreciate your feedback and we strive to continually improve in all areas in order for everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As close as you can get”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Fantasitic. Get as close as you want to the planes and even go inside the big old B52 bomber. Planes are not my thing, but i loved this place

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMarketingM, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Aviation Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review of our Museum. We appreciate your feedback and we strive to continually improve in all areas in order for everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Only place in Australia to see a B52”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

What a fascinating place this is. From the moment you walk in the whole experience is completely dominated by the sheer size of the B52. There are many, many other aircraft on display here and a great deal of them are nestled UNDER the B52!!! Truly you need to see this plane, it's a miracle to me how it ever got off the ground. This place is well worth a visit but you need to allow a couple of hours to do the place justice.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank justmeok006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMarketingM, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Aviation Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review of our Museum. We appreciate your feedback and we strive to continually improve in all areas in order for everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“B52”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was stunned when I first saw the B52. I knew they were big, but!!!. There are many different types of aircraft, photos, uniforms and a film of the bombing of Darwin, which was very sobering. There is also a display called the 500. This is walls of the young Australians who fought and died in Vietnam, photos and the story of Long Tan, somewhere I have recently visited. But, the B52 was incredible, we were told it is one of only two left and was donated to the museum by the American government. I thnk them for that. Expect to spend more than two hours there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMarketingM, Guest Relations Manager at Australian Aviation Heritage Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review of our Museum. We appreciate your feedback and we strive to continually improve in all areas in order for everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Australian Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing