We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great insight into Aboriginal culture and the land... thank you!”

Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours
Ranked #21 of 101 Tours in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Want to learn about Northern Australian Aboriginal culture and way of life? Then this is a tour not to be missed, come with us, we will truly inspire you with our rich culture, from a bush tucker walk and talk through to throwing a spear as well as sharing our stories of how we use the land and how our people used the land. We will share with you the stories of why the plants are important as we follow the seasons hunting and gathering bush tucker and medicine. You will be our guest on our country, we will share our culture with you, our arms are open, we deliver our talks at a high standard and we thrive to be the best at it! All age groups are welcome, it's educational, fun, creative and importantly it's knowledge that that has been passed down for years and we want to share it with you! 2 hours with us and we will have you wanting more!!! We are fully 100% aboriginal owned and operated. We also offer afternoon art painting activities..come along and bring the family it will be fun!
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We only had time for a short tour with Pudakal but I found it very informative and was greatful to the aboriginal guides for sharing their knowledge and stories with us. I've always been a fan of the sound of the didgeridoo but there's nothing like hearing it out in the bush. I don't think you can travel to the Top End without learning something about the original landowners... thank you!

Thank TravelBug2387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynetteK994, Public Relations Manager at Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. You are true in saying that there is nothing like the sound of the Didj. in the bush. Hope you enjoy your travels and the rest of your holiday in the Territory.

Thank you from the Pudakul team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spear throwing"
in 20 reviews
"basket weaving"
in 16 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 8 reviews
"bush medicine"
in 4 reviews
"basket making"
in 3 reviews
"didgeridoo playing"
in 3 reviews
"top end"
in 12 reviews
"informative tour"
in 3 reviews
"great insight"
in 2 reviews
"jumping crocs"
in 4 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"barramundi"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"wet season"
in 2 reviews
"selena"
in 11 reviews
"graham"
in 71 reviews
"damper"
in 19 reviews
Filter

88 - 92 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Might be boring to read this recommendation, as there are already many other excellent describing reviews on Tripadvisor. After having seen many rather sad aboriginal people in Darwin and Kakadu, we were delighted to get some insights from this marvellous and open-minded family. We wish them good luck in maintaining their spirit - and hope that many people make this "tour".

Thank TBD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynetteK994, Public Relations Manager at Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read your review about your own experience and thoughts and it makes us feel privileged that you came on our tour. We plan to give a great tour every time and as our tour is solely aboriginal owned and operated our spirit will be lifted by each of us because our business is founded on our enthusiasm to share our stories and culture as a family outfit. Thank you from the Pudakul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wonderful experience, the guide was informative and interesting. The damper at the end was a great informal way to end the tour, highly recommend

Thank Laurenhsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynetteK994, Public Relations Manager at Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the experience and happy to hear the damper is satisfying :) Hope you enjoy more tours just like Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours.
Thank you from the Pudakul team, :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Graham was an absolutely fantastic host.
My friends and I attended a tour with just the 5 of us, so was very easy to ask and answer questions. He was down to earth and honest about his people and their history. He really helped us to understand more about the Aboriginal History, both his clan & others in the area.
I'd recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn a bit more about the aboriginal culture around Darwin.

Thank missyj23_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynetteK994, Public Relations Manager at Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the cultural experience. Our guides thrive to ensure every visitor leaves the tour feeling like they had just learnt something new. Thank you! The Pudakul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tour was a highlight of our trip to the Northern Territory for our family of five including three kids under 13. Thank you to Graham and Deanne for an incredibly enjoyable and informative experience for our family. It was just us on the tour and a very special experience for our kids to learn more about Aboriginal culture and traditional lifestyle - with the chance to ask lots of questions, gain lots of information about the significance and spirituality of the land, people and wildlife. Thank you for an outstanding experience - highly recommended.

Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynetteK994, Public Relations Manager at Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. Deanne and Graham have a natural ability to relate to people and love sharing their stories, we are happy that you and your family enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours also viewed

 

Been to Pudakul Aboriginal Cultural Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing