We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value budget accomondation, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value budget accomondation, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was basic and a bit cramped, but all I needed. Comfortable bed, A/C, fridge & TV.

The room smelled a little but I think that is part of being in Darwin.

It is great having the facilities next door available to us (back packers with pool etc..).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    107
    82
    60
See reviews for
49
139
81
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found the rooms clean, and the staff helpful.
However we considered it to be accommodation for young people.
It is very central, but basic.
It was inconvenient not being able to access the back gate, and having to go through the next door premises to our rooms.
At a cheaper price, for younger people, the accommodation would be ideal.
For older "travellers" the convenience was good, but price did not match the quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The reviews are far too high for this hotel. I've stayed at some disgusting accommodations in my life, usually at a price that was worth the sacrifice, but this one is at the top of the list. The bedding and shower made my skin crawl. There were boogers on the wall, a pubic hair in one of the beds and it reeked of body odor. All this for a very average rate. I think the "value" in Value Inn really depends on your perspective and what you are willing to deal with.
On the plus side, it's centrally located (but loud, next to a club) and has free parking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Luvoexplore015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Room 608, to small for $160.00. it is basically a little box. No space to move around.
Check in time is 2.00pm. I arrived at 10.00am after a long 5 hrs flight and was told by the receptionist that if i want to check in early i have to pay $30.00. what a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Room too small,for $ 149 ??????? not worth it. For that price you can get better room,location in other place in Australia. Thank God we only stay for one night due to our flight schedule. So surprised and dissappointed with the condition of the hotel. The air con was old model,so couldn' t adjust the temperature.

Room Tip: Good for solo traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We found the facility to be located in the heart of the city's activities. We could easily walk to Mindil Beach and the botanical gardens. The beds were comfortable and the shower was great. Having a Cole's just across the street was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was basically a little box, I couldn't move around the room it was so cramped. They jacked up the prices so it was not the advertised $120 a night. We paid $170.
It was basically a backpackers. Bags of rubbish were piled in the corner of the corridor.
We got no sleep because it overlooks a nightclub. Don't stay if you actually want a good night's sleep!
No shampoo provided and they claim to be an environmentally friendly hotel but they use palm oil products (soap).
When we checked in they took down car number plate, but didn't tell us we needed to put a sign on our car (and didn't give us one) to say we were hotel guests so we got a note on the car threatening to tow it!! Only a handful of parking spots.
It was a terrible stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moli_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
79 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#9 of 37 in Darwin
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#33 of 37 in Darwin
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Property: Value Inn Darwin
Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing