We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unacceptable cleaniless”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unacceptable cleaniless”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well... to me, the cleaniless of a room is very important. I stayed about a week in Value Inn and I suspected the ensuite bathroom/toilet never was cleaned throughout the week. Other than clearing out the rubbish bin and replacing the towels and making up the bed, I think the cleaner's job is done. I can see the same piece of rubbish on the bathroom floor for a few days. The floor is never swept or mopped. There is always some stench in the bathroom. The bedsheets makes my legs itchy after 3 days.

The reception services fares slightly slightly better. The only saving grace for this so called Value Inn is only the location to the transit centre(from the airport) and it is near to the supermarket(Coles) and a dirty kitchen. That's it. You make your choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChengChengCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    98
    104
    79
    60
See reviews for
48
135
79
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for exploring Darwin close to Bus Terminals for shuttle to Airport and Greyhound . Rooms are cramped, aircon noisy. If you intend sleeping in your room only this place is fine. Tea and coffee making in room and a bar fridge. We have stayed at Value Inn at least 6 times while passing through Darwin. Will probably stay again as "most" other city accomodation is extremely expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helbelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Helbelle 57,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. It is great to read that you have stayed with us 6 times and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us the next time you are in town.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Darwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

OMG!!!! What a dump! Should be called "The Roach Hotel" Firstly the photos on the hotel sites are definately not what you get. As the night flights into Darwin are after midnight, you have to pick up you key from the very noisy and packed, neighbouring backpackers. No off street parking until 8am, until the local Road Worker leave for the day. The room had a double and single bed in a tiny room 2m x 3m plus a small toilet shower room. 2.The bed was rock hard. 3. The small box air con is very noisy - a necessity in tropical Darwin. 4. The cockroaches - oh the cockroaches! I am now going to the doctors to have my ear cleaned and checked out; I woke up itching at 4am to find a small roach in my ear. GROSS. I pulled back the sheets to find another in my bed! After photo and video as evidence, I quickly packed and went to get my gear, what's this in the cutlery drawer - more roaches! I went down to the reception and told the staff and asked for the Manager. No manager available, and we can't give you a refund from here because you booked it online! No apologies were made and no effort to help find any other accommodation in Darwin - "It's very busy this time of year". After an hour and a half searching for another place to stay I finally managed to secure a very nice room in Parep (10 Mins down the road) at the Casa on Gregory. But thats my next review - Avoid this place like the plague!!!!! They have now been reported to the N.T. Dept of Health and the Darwin City Council.

Room Tip: Helpful tip to all travellers - find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanTheTravellerGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Dan,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn Darwin. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our budget (2.5star) accommodation property. Please see our response below to your recent review.

Cockroaches
Cockroaches live in a wide range of environments around the world. Pest species adapt readily to a variety of environments, but prefer warm conditions found within buildings. Many tropical species prefer even warmer environments due to this issue we are vigilant in ensuring we have a pest control program in place for both cockroaches and ants. Cockroaches can also be brought in with guests who are staying in the rooms.

Pest Control
Value Inn has a regular pest control program in place with a reputable company in Darwin. We have a service agreement where they do a comprehensive treatment every three months as well as on an ad-hoc basis if there are any issues in the room. After your complaint we organized for the pest control company to come in this morning and we got the room you stayed in and the rooms next to the room you stayed in treated. No additional cockroaches were sited in any of the rooms.

Environmental Health Department
The Environmental Health Department Inspector came into the property on the day of the complaint and did an assessment on the room in question. During his very thorough inspection of the room he has noted that:
“there were no cockroaches present in the room”
We are happy to post you a copy of the report for your records. I am sure that this feedback would have been given back to you from the department when they followed up with a phone call.

Bookings
Value Inn is affiliated with a backpackers hostel and the information sent out does advise that the reception hours for Value Inn are 8am-8pm.
All check in’s after this time are at the backpacker hostel. When you called the night you checked in the staff did advise you over the phone what the after hours procedure was.

Rooms:
All of our rooms are compact in size with a queen size bed and a single bed as per the photo’s that were on the website that you booked through.

Staff:
The Front Office Supervisor was at the reception desk when you came down and asked for a refund. During your complaint you did not request to speak to a Senior Manager or this would have been arranged.

The first thing the Front Office Supervisor did was apologize, looked at the photos taken and ensured you that he would chase up the refund on your behalf as you booked through a third party website. This was promptly done and has been actioned by the company.

Our Front Office Supervisor also asked you if you needed assistance to find alternative accommodation, where you replied that you had already found something and were okay for transport.

Once you had left the property the Front Office Supervisor left you two messages on your voice mail stating he had contacted the website and they were going to ring you shortly to process the refund.

Car Parking
The car park was full as you arrived at 3am and other guests had already taken all available car parks.


We hope that you enjoyed your stay at Casa on Gregory and the rest of your visit to Darwin.


Regards
The Senior Management team of Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Clean quiet room on 2nd floor, serviced daily, bare essentials. Bathroom, 3 comfy beds (1 db, 1 sng), TV, small fridge (no minibar), hang your clothes above night stand in open style wardrobe. No phone in room, good mobile reception (Optus).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Lachlan Y,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of bustling Mitchell Street which is full of restaurants and bars. Despite this our room was quiet and we slept well. The room however was small and although it could have slept three people, they would have had to have been very good friends indeed.

Room Tip: At night the hotel is accessed through next door hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putneyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was actually surprised at how good this place was. Out of all the back packers resorts I have seen this one was the cleanest, and had the biggest rooms. Right in the middle of all the entertainment in Darwin so nothing is to far of a walk. Defiantly got your Value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNate316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I must have spent over 2000 nights in hotels before, and six at the Value Inn Darwin:
I think I'm qualified to say THIS IS NOT A HOTEL and should never have been rated
as such, notwithstanding the fact that a room there costs more than a decent one in
a real hotel in any other city (I just paid 99$ near the Toronto airport last night, i.e.
50$ less per night than at the Value Inn Darwin, for a room more than twice the size,
with a phone, a fridge, and full speed Internet). At the Darwin Value Inn, the fridges
are bar size and on the brink of collapse (turned on at max, never to be done to a
fridge), you hear people shouting until 4 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday night. One week
night it was a crazy women probably over dozing who went nuts and started banging walls,
it was 3 or 4 a.m. and I had no cell phone, there was no one to call; the hotel claim they
have a night guard, who must spend the time at the next door bar (belongs to the same
owners as the hotel apparently).
In summary, avoid that hotel and avoid Darwin as much as possible, go to the Kakadu
Park instead that has nice hotels in the middle of a much more interesting fauna
than the one of downtown Darwin. I felt very unsafe in that hotel but could not afford
a 260$ - plus hotel for a whole week.
The personnel was helpful and courteous, it's probably more the ownership,
as well as the regulations in that city (rather the absence thereof) which are to blame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jccachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Palms Motel
#25 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Property: Value Inn Darwin
Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing