We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel overlooking beautiful beach”
Review of Skycity Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skycity Darwin
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel overlooking beautiful beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We spent four nights at the Skycity and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nice and very clean and it is a very quiet resort we could hear nothing of the casino next door.
You can walk next door to the Mindill Beach markets however it is about a $8/$9 taxi ride to the city centre. However the hotel does have a shuttle into the city 4 times a day. We had a hire car and there was plenty of free parking on site for hotel guests.
The resort is right on Mindill Beach which is perfect to watch some spectacular sunsets. We did dine at the Italian restaurant in the Casino complex, which was quite nice but it pays to book to be able to get a seat overlooking the beach. The Sunset buffet restaurant was good for breakfast but the food quality at lunch was average however it had a huge choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailey_adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    275
    167
    70
    59
See reviews for
113
376
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We booked into Skycity hoping that it'd be a 'treat' at the end of several busy weeks of travel in Australia. Luckily we chose correctly, and really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

We booked a superior spa room, and it was as lovely as we'd hoped. The room had two *extremely* comfortable double beds, a large flat-screen TV, and a ground floor balcony that we could sit on to admire the hotel wildlife... bats, birds, lizards, toads, all sorts of things. The people in the room next to us were even sure they saw a possum! The bathroom was the highlight, featuring a large spa bath with a screen through to the main room. The spa bath itself was fab, with two different bubbles settings (the top one was a violent whisking, but still fun!). The shower cubicle was spacious, quick to warm and control.

The infinity pool is every bit as fantastic as it looks on the website. Complete with jacuzzi area, it's a very large space indeed. We loved swimming to the infinity wall that looks out over the gardens to the beach and sea. How wonderful to swim and watch the resident birds doing their rounds on the grass. Mindil beach is beautiful, and the Night Markets (Thurs/Sun) worth a visit. Unfortunately the threat of jellyfish, crocs and other nasties kept us out of the sea... We travelled through a little courtyard 'jungle' area to get to the pool, which again was a haven for lizards - wonderful.

As Skycity is a little way out we ate our evening meals in the hotel. The 'Dragon Court' restaurant was fairly decent if pricey; you can order anything from the menu to your room for no extra charge. 'Il Piatto' will also provide you with pizzas in your room, though inexplicably we were told only 4 items on the menu can be delivered this way. As there wasn't much of a choice given, we simply couldn't understand why any of the other pizzas they make couldn't be slung into a box equally well. This definitely needs to be changed. (That said, we wondered who would order a pizza with wagyu beef and lobster for $140...)

The hotel provides free copies of the NT Times, which we became addicted to for its unique and rather entertaining coverage of territory goings on. A very useful free bus service several times a day into town and back. The staff were friendly and obliging, dropping us off right outside Aquascene when we were the only people on the bus and wanted to go there. Desk staff were almost universally friendly and helpful, happily offering advice whenever we looked lost and confused

The breakfast buffet was extensive, though the tea/coffee and toast machines took a lot of persuasion to get what you wanted out of them. If you stay between Wednesday and Sunday, don't miss the hotel's lovely 'Starbeque' - an open air, freshly cooked buffet of salads, desserts, and every imaginable kind of barbecued meat. It was delicious, and beautiful to watch dusk fall and the stars come out over the sea. We were given several tokens for free drinks and coffee, and this was when we nabbed our complimentary chardonnay.

Bear in mind - casino really does mean casino, and casinos Aussie style may be different to the glamour you ay expect in Europe. Skycity is divided in half down the middle into hotel and casino, but beware; at breakfast time the two seem to collide, as we saw quite a number of tired refugees from the pokies coming to dig in to the breakfast buffet. The atmosphere of hundreds of slot machines/sports screens/keno seemed completely unlike what the rest of the hotel is trying to promote. We loved the relaxing, calm and quite elegant aspects of staying at Skycity, but heading via the slot machines to breakfast seemed slightly surreal. In the daytime, lazing by the glorious pool, we found it odd to imagine the scrum of people gambling inside when they could be swimming in the sun!

There were just a couple of downers:

1. On the first night, we arrived to find no safe in the room. Despite both of us speaking to desk staff in person and on the phone several times, all they did was insist that there was a safe placed in every room! It took speaking to a different lady the next morning to get us sorted - she had a new safe installed within the hour, and luckily we didn't bump into the original pair of disinterested staff again.

2. There's a very limited number of sun loungers around the pool. It's such a beautiful place... people don't want to be sitting bolt upright on tables and chairs! Skycity definitely needs to invest in more loungers, as at present everyone fights over the 10 or so that there are.


Overall, though, this was a fabulous trip, and we were very sorry to leave Skycity. It was a relaxing, luxurious stay in an unbeatable location, and we would love to go back. Unless you're desperate to stay in the middle of the CBD, definitely choose this hotel. Thank you, Skycity, for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finzi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Booked our room through Agoda and got a pretty good price for a deluxe room in peak season. We decided we would upgrade when we got there to a spa suite...still kicking myself that we didn't just book it from the get go. The hotel was completely booked out and we couldn't upgrade. Our room, clean and comfortable as it was, was very small and the balcony looked out upon the shade sail over the hotel's entrance & the cooling towers.
There are quite a few restaurants & bars in the hotel/casino which seem to cover all tastes and budgets. The breakfast buffet was great value for money but the dinner buffet wasn't much...sure there are lots of dishes to choose from but it's cheap for a reason.
Most of the staff we encountered were lovely and helpful. A female supervisor at the dinner buffet was rude but like I said, that was the only staff member that made a negative impression on us.
When we arrived the air conditioning in our room was set too high. It was very stuffy and hot. When we mentioned this to the reception staff in the morning they were very quick to get maintenance to resolve the problem. The cleaning staff were lovely, friendly and very quick and thorough in their cleaning of the room.
The pool is gorgeous and the service is good - could be a little quicker with the drinks side of things but I can understand that sometimes there is only one staff member working in pool bar and cocktails take time.
One thing I suggest is that the hotel gets rid of a lot of the tables and chairs around the pool and replaces them with more sun lounges. Trying to get a sun lounge is very difficult. Guests either get there early in the day or they will put their towels (or some other item like a newspaper or hair clip) on the sun lounge and then go off and have their breakfast or lunch (sometimes both) and just 'save' their seats around the pool. The tables and chairs are only used by guests who can't get a sun lounge. They are just not needed around the pool and only take up space.
The pool itself is lovely and the grounds around the hotel & casino are very well maintained and clean.
Room service is prompt and the food we ordered in was well presented and exactly as described.
We tried to get a late check out for the last day of our stay (as our plane wasn't leaving until later that night) but we were unable to do so because the hotel was at full capacity.
We were still able to use the hotel's facilities after we checked out so we had reception store our luggage and we sat by the pool, went into Darwin for lunch and then back out to the pool until it was time for us to leave. The Gym (which is open 24 hours) has showers and changerooms for us to freshen up and change before our flight.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again...I would just make sure I booked a spa suite from the get go.
Another tip - if you're staying at Sky City especially, don't bother getting the shuttle from the airport. The shuttle for two will cost you $26. Sky City is the first stop. A taxi will cost you around $24 and is far more convenient and comfortable...especially when the shuttle blows a tyre at 2am and you have to wait for another bus to pick you up!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband & I spent a few nights in a one bedroom spa suite, Room was spotless and faultless. We had a great time at the casino and feasting on many of its outstanding restraunts. The Dragon Court was superb and Il Piatto was to die for!
We wouldnt stay anywhere else! Staff made us feel very special and went out of thier way to make our stay memorable, and that it was.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroomePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My partner and i stayed for just under a week recently and i was a little worried what it would be like after reading some of the reviews. I'm happy to say that the hotel was lovely.
Check-in- Was quick and porter was very friendly
Room- Was nice. Neat, tidy and bathroom was modern and clean
Balcony- was spacious and offered a nice place to sit and unwind. We didnt get a room with view but didnt need it as we didnt spend much time in room
Pool- Stunning.Clean and it there was always tables and chairs avail. View was gorgeous and pool temp was perfect. Only downside was poolside service was a little slow but if your not in a rush then thats not such a big deal. The hotel airconditioners are also quite noisy and can be heard pool side.
Meals- We ordered room service a few times and it was quick and always fresh
We ate at the Chinese resteraunt and that was really yummy. Had buffet breakfast one day and again the food was fresh. We had quite alot of cocktails during our stay, our favourite was the Mojito. If i had one complaint it would be that the cocktails werent always made consistantly, one day they would be perfect , the next day they would be too sweet or not sweet enough.... Again, not enough to make a negative impact on our trip.
The rest of the hotel was lovely, there is beautiful trees and plants all around and the hotel staff were all very friendly and always said hello
The casino was fun, small but still enough ppl to give it a good vibe.
Overall i would reccomend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay some where that has it all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beccagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We have stayed at this resort twice now and both times hve been fantastic. This time we had a seaview delux room and it had been beautifly renovated, new bathroom and great views from the balcony. The new infinity pool is amazing, sat around and had a few cocktails by the pool overlooking the beauiful Mindil beach, and the pool area has such easy access from our room, just through the side door and down a few steps, great!
The meals in the sunset resturant are great, had the best steak I've eaten for a long time, and only $14.95 what a bargain! breakfasts were varied and lots of choice. We hired a car so getting around was no problem, however the resort does a shuttle into the city and to the airport for those with no transport
The nightlife in the casino is good and a very relaxed atmosphere, great gaming tables and pokie machines, drinks not too expensive either. The service of the staff very good and efficient throughout the whole resort
Great location, right next door to Mindil Beach markets (may-oct) and only 3km's into the city, best location and right on the beach too
would highly recommend staying there
highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This really is a hotel of two halves. We had a very good and spacious room which was well equipped and the grounds and pool area were lovely. However walk up the slope to the main restuarant and you enter a different world. It had the most awful plastic furniture - could have come straight out of a Barbie doll's house, there were screens encouraging you to play Bingo and the noise! Many of the people eating at dinner were not hotel guests and there were babies crying and chidren running round. The noise also carried from the Casino. I have eaten in less "tacky" motorway service stations. On the up side the range of food at both breakfast and dinner (both buffets) was very good and the quality wasn't bad either. This hotel should seriously consider having a dedicated main restuarant for hotel guests and away from the casino. There were other (quite expensive) restuarants and I feel one of these could be sacrificied to provide breakfast at least in pleasant, civilised surroundings. This would rate about 1* inmost places. Shame as it could be a lovely place as it is right on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skycity Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skycity Darwin

Property: Skycity Darwin
Address: Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Skycity Darwin 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYCITY Darwin is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, SKYCITY’s centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities.Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences, indulge in spa treatments, and relax on our beautiful private beach.We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skycity Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skycity Darwin Hotel Darwin
Skycity Hotel Darwin
Darwin Skycity Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing