We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed. . ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skycity Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skycity Darwin
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed. . ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We travel a lot and enjoy many different places.
I would have to say this hotel needs a very big shake up.
Staff are very unfriendly and I have never see them smile. Someone needs to address this urgently as we have heard many people expressing the same concerns this
Pool is lovely but you can't use it as it's freezing. It is only a visual look, this was one of my main reasons I booked this hotel and to only sit beside it I would have preferred to choose a motel closer to the main action if the city. There are no staff, you use a phone and nearly an hour later your food and drinks come out. They need to solar heat the pool.
We are off to Thailand in 2 week with similar temperature and we will swim in the pool the whole time.
I think this motel needs to listen to feed back and make some serious customer service changes.
I will not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone.
For the price I paid for discounted flights and Accomodation I could have had 2 weeks in Thailand enjoying a swim with fantastic friendly staff.
We also had drinks in the casino lounge overlooking the ocean. Nice but to get a drink was painfull. I ordered it and the staff member said he will bring me my drink. After waiting 45 min I went back to the bar to see what was happening to find my drink just sitting on the bar.
Service is just not anywhere at sky city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    265
    160
    63
    56
See reviews for
104
360
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

There was nothing particularly wrong about this hotel and we did enjoy our stay, but for the price I was expecting a lot more.
The pools were nice, but the infinity pool could do with some more sun lounges. The lagoon pool appeared to be hidden - there were no signs or maps to show you where it was, all the signs just kept directing you to the infinity pool.
One restaurant we ate at was very nice, the other was average.
Service was variable, depending on who you spoke to, some were very good others were not very helpful.
We had very minimal information about the hotel available in our room, perhaps they forgot to put the folder in our room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth19m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here a couple of years back in the main part of the hotel and it was ok, but not much morel this time we stayed in the new resort area of the hotel and it was pretty schmick. Very comfy, well appointed rooms, with a modern bathroom and lovely spa style amenities.

One drawback is the light automatically turns on when one of you goes to the bathroom in the night which kind of wakes others up. Then the light turns off before you want it to. The pool was also a little chilly despite it being the standard 30 or so degrees it always is in dry season. But these are small things. The location right next to Mindil beach and the night markets makes a stay here worth it in itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MediaTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in one of the new lagoon rooms that had direct access to the pool from our front deck. The room was incredibly spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was huge and had a full sized bath, large shower and with two separate wash basins.
There were three separate comfortable lounge areas, one inside, one undercover outside and the other on the deck. You could swim diagonally across the pool for a drink at the bar (it probably would be distracting being directly across from the bar/restaurant). Our only complaint was that the pool water was a little on the cool side.
I am glad we paid the extra - the other part of the hotel did look very tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights whilst attending a football convention in February 2014, the reason for this review not being posted until now is that my friends and I have been waiting to a receive an acceptable response to concerns raised with hotel Manager and owner group, however this has not been forthcoming.
Our complaints related to how we were treated during our stay by hotel staff, we are of the belief we were treated "differently" to other guests due to our involvement with a specific Scottish Football Club.
We were unable to purchase more than 1 alcoholic drink at any given time even though others at the bar at the same time did not appear to have this restriction placed upon them. Drinks ordered at a Gala Dinner were required to be paid for when ordering before wait staff would bring the order to the table, not a practice I am familiar with when attending such functions.
Members of our group were verbally abused by a security guard who swore at them and used language that could have incited aggression.
One lady in the group was refused an alcoholic drink and when she questioned this, she was told "you've had enough", the fact is, this lady had not been drinking, she lived in Darwin and was "designated driver" for locals attending the event.
Whilst we were eating breakfast in the dining room one morning, a friend come to our table to speak with us, she had been told by the staff at the entry to the restaurant that she could not enter unless she was purchasing breakfast,she advised that she need to speak with us urgently, he then told her she could have 3 minutes, was not to use a seat, not to eat anything from our plates and would be removed by security if she did not leave in the allocated time. This staff person stood and watched our friend until she relayed her message to us and consequently left the restaurant. Our friend attempted to raise this complaint with hotel staff at the time however received no response to telephone calls made.
As stated previously we have attempted to resolve these complaints with the hotel Manager and also made contact with the head office in New Zealand, to this date we have had no satisfactory outcome.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank AnneW976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Arrived at dawn from Kuala Lumpur flight and when we entered the room we were deeply disappointed. Yes it was clean but decor was tired and it was furbished with mismatched furniture perhaps purchased from the local college carpentry class. The autumnal swirly patterned carpet (always suspect as hard to see stains) was so '60s, perhaps they were aiming for a 'retro' look but more likely just got it cheap. I returned to reception to check if we had been given the correct room as we had booked a 'deluxe' room. The receptionist cheerily informed me that indeed we had a 'superior deluxe' room. Well that stumped me and I wondered what dictionary they found the definition of 'superior' and 'deluxe'. At best the room and bathroom were functional.
The very small balcony overlooked the entrance to both the hotel and casino and entrance/exit roads and car parks. The potential pesky noise of the dawn chorus was drowned by the hum and drone of the huge aircon equipment on the roof of the casino.
Feeling thoroughly ripped off and put off by some reviews of the food at Sky City we decided to have breakfast in Darwin centre. Asked at reception the times of the shuttle bus but was informed it was not operating. Having a shuttle bus into Darwin was one of the reasons I booked this hotel. I would suggest management remove this from their list of hotel facilities so potential guests know that if you don't have a car you will have to take a taxi, bus or as we did walk. Having said that management will probably just ignore this. I noted that where there are issues reported on Trip Advisor management have not responded as other hotels would do - clearly not interested - says it all.
Have previously stayed at Double Tree by Hilton on Esplanade and regretted not booking the 3 nights there instead of Sky City and then strolling to Mindle Beach for the evening market and viewing the sunset on the beach.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beach view room or even better don't bother with this hotel, there are plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvthesunx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Paid for a beachfron room but it was off to the side and not brilliant views. Rooms are a little dates as is the complex in general but we were quiet happy with the whole package. Beautiful Pool area, good air con and nice and quiet.

Room Tip: ASk for a room overlooking the lagoon pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skycity Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skycity Darwin

Property: Skycity Darwin
Address: Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Skycity Darwin 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYCITY Darwin is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, SKYCITY’s centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities.Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences, indulge in spa treatments, and relax on our beautiful private beach.We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skycity Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skycity Darwin Hotel Darwin
Skycity Hotel Darwin
Darwin Skycity Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing