We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose tinted glasses first time around??”
Review of Skycity Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skycity Darwin
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I booked a night at Skycity Darwin for a special occasion in June and had a near perfect stay. We had a nice dinner in the Italian restaurant il Piattio and really great lunch the following day in Cove. We had nothing but positive remarks about the service and our stay as a whole.

Our more recent stay was a completely different experience. We work in the hospitality industry ourselves so we are always polite and treat the staff how we like to be treated by guests when we're working, we are never ones to complain but we feel like the stay was really let down by the service we received this time around.

At the time of booking we had to book a suite for the first night (420AUD) and would move to a different room (270AUD) for the second night and was told that a late check out would be possible for both days.
When we arrived, the late check out of 12pm was confirmed again. Our suite was beautiful, it was on the 3rd floor in the older part of the hotel and has a balcony overlooking the lagoon pool and the newer rooms.
We went to the pool and ordered some drinks and a club sandwich with the grumpy, slightly rude bartender, which he brought over to us shortly after. The club sandwich was ok but had horrible, cheap re-formed chicken slices which was not what you'd expect from a 5* hotel, even if it was just a bar menu.
The following morning we arrived at the breakfast buffet at 10am to be reminded that they close at 10.30 which we already knew, hence arriving well before this time. At $18pp, the selection was great but the quality fairly poor, as was the service. The same girl that took our payment on the way in came to remind us once again that they closed at 10.30, in between slamming around chairs and plates on the tables around us. Again, really not what you'd expect from a 5* hotel.
On the way back to our room, we stopped off and asked the same receptionist that checked us in if our new room was ready yet. She had barely even looked up from her desk when she told us no and that if we brought our bags down by 11, they would store them until our new room was ready. We mentioned that she had confirmed a late check out the day before but she said we had to request a late check out on the morning of departure and that they needed us out by 11 today. When we brought our bags down we dealt with Miguel who was much more friendly and professional, he took our phone number and said he'd call us as soon was the new room was ready, which he did at about 12.30.
The new room was very nice too, in the same part of the hotel but with no real view this time. We called for a late check out early the next morning which was confirmed for midday instead of the usual 11am which we were happy with. At 10.40am we had a knock on the door to check the mini bar - he thought we'd already gone. Shortly after we had a knock and a walk in from the housekeeper who also thought we had gone. She apologised and left the room having had a good eye-full. At 11.40 we had a knock from concierge reminding us that check out is at 11am. I politely told him that we had called that morning and arranged a 12pm check out with reception. He apologised and left.
Miguel was at reception again when we checked out, he was very good and dealt with the discrepancies with our bill quickly and apologised for the disturbances that morning, all with a smile on his face. Thanks, Miguel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dollbr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear dollbr,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. I am sorry to hear your stay did not live up to expectations.

We are extremely conscious of ensuring that every visit to our property is a memorable one for all the right reasons and we continually strive to achieve high standards of service. It is with feedback such as yours, whether it is positive or negative, that we are able to correct, continually improve and fine tune our operations to service our guests to their satisfaction. On a lighter note it was pleasing to read that your stay overall was still enjoyable.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Skycity Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 791 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

A slightly odd hotel, we thought! The original hotel next to the Casino - where we stayed - is ok, though looking a little tired, especially for $370 a night. By contrast, the new rooms encircling the beautiful lagoon pool look amazing. It feels like two separate resorts. This extends to dining, where the 'Sunset' restaurant in the original had a pretty poor breakfast buffet, particularly when compared to the similarly priced 'Cove' restaurant next to the lagoon. Recommendation? Try and get a room in the lagoon resort!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AlanLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear AlanLondon_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Our existing hotel certainly does look a little tired when compared to the brand new state of the art Resort we recently opened. SKYCITY Darwin is committed to a continual program of upgrading and refurbishing facilities; however this cannot be completed throughout the whole property at the same time.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin soon.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We landed in Darwin and 5.30 am and went to the hotel to drop off our bags. The manager very kindly let us check in without extra charge - even though check in wasn't until 2 pm. The room was very spacious and clean and the facilities are gorgeous - lots of pools, swim up bar, day spa etc. you could bring kids or a group here and spend a whole weekend without leaving the resort.

Room Tip: We were in 323. It was quiet and overlooked the lagoon pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Mitch0064,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin.

We are glad that your stay was so wonderful and we hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Skycity for a week and it was great! We had booked a Superior Lagoon Room which is in the new part of the hotel. It provides direct pool access from your private deck.
The room and bathroom are spacious and very clean.
The concierges provide tennis rackets and balls free of charge for use on the adjacent tennis courts. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

The only disappointment regarding our stay was the breakfast at the casino restaurant on the first morning - a big mistake: the food quality was below average at best, not to mention the coffee. Quite pricey for what you get.
The Cove restaurant (where we went the remaining mornings ) offers cooked breakfast (at a very reasonable price) served by smiling staff in a bright and light atmosphere including pretty good coffee-what a delight.

Both thumbs up for the new Skycity!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Gascha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our new resort and found our staff to be helpful and friendly.

I’m sorry you found your breakfast at Sunset to be below average and will pass on your feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager, however glad that you found Cove enjoyable for the rest of your stay .

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently returned from our trip, a family of 3 (7 yr old daughter) staying in one of the swim-out lagoon rooms. My family spent 6-7 hours per day (we were there for 4 days) in the pool! And my husband spent a good deal of that time hanging around the pool bar..This new part of the hotel is really lovely but I have to say the service was just really good. The housekeeping teams who cleaned our room during our stay were really thorough and proactive and I am really fussy. I know this part of the hotel is still new , but I'm hoping the high cleaning standards will be upheld. I had a couple of treatments at the Lagoon Spa by two lovely therapists (Tegan and Bridget) who were so professional and gave me the best massages and facial. We also dined at the Cove restaurant and although the food isn't to the standard of a hatted restaurant, I certainly didn't complain and I found the service here to be professional as well. The people at reception, the concierge staff, the in-room dining staff - happy, can do people with a smile, nothing was too much trouble - how hospitality should be. My family were pleasantly surprised and returned from Darwin super relaxed, thanks to our hassle free experience at Skycity. We really needed this trip so thanks for making it so pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for swim-out rooms from 511 onwards- on the quieter and more private side of the lagoon area awa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM74L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear wabbits,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at SKYCITY Darwin. We are delighted to hear your stay was so relaxing and hassle free. Our pools certainly are one of the highlights of our property and it sounds like you and your family made the most of them!

I will pass on your comments on the fantastic service you received to our staff who will appreciate the great feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were a large group visiting Darwin for a TIC property tour. It had been organised for our group to have dinner here on Saturday night and watch the Sunset.

Well we were not disappointed! The sunset was gorgeous to watch in the distance over the beautiful pool area. The buffet style starbeque had an excellent selection of different foods, prawns, mussels, barramundi, scallops, chicken, meat and lovely salads and condiments.

We never felt at any time that they were being skimpy with the food as they were continually replenishing when some dishes were running out. The dessert bar looked good to but I had already eaten enough and don't really like sweets.

We thought that for $35 p/p was excellent value considering the quality and abundance of food. I also could not fault the service and we had a really sweet waitress who was on a working holiday from Estonia.

No fault good be found with either the food or service and the outdoor atmosphere was just fabulous. The live music was not intrusive and just remained subtlety as background music.

Well done Skycity!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Watson_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Watson_Inc,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your dinner at Starbeque. It certainly is a brilliant way to spend a balmy dry season night.

I will pass on your comments to our team about the quality of food and service you received. They will be delighted to hear it.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a strange property. The older rooms are tired, and suffer from the disastrous mistake of having been carpeted-- a really bad idea in tropical Darwin. So, to put it bluntly, they smell bad-- either from the inevitable stuff that grows on carpet, or from the stuff they put on the carpet to kill that smell. These rooms feel dramatically overpriced at circa $A300

By contrast, the new rooms over on the lagoon, which have tile floors appropriate for the climate and cost more, feel fairly priced; in fact it feels like a completely different hotel, quite a nice one. Darwin is a very expensive city, due to its distance from, well, anyplace at all. In that context, I'd say that the lagoon rooms at roughly $A 400 are actually an OK deal.

So if I returned to Darwin, I'd happily stay in the lagoon property, but would avoid the older rooms.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are excellent-- old building rooms aren't.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC8001, Manager at Skycity Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Alexander P,

I am sorry to hear you didn’t think the existing hotel rooms provided value for money during your recent stay. Our existing hotel certainly does look a little tired when compared to the brand new state of the art Resort we recently opened. At SKYCITY Darwin we have a continual commitment to upgrading and refurbishing our facilities so we will be using your feedback to assist us to ensure we provide the best possible accommodation in Darwin.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to SKYCITY Darwin in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jeanette Collett
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 36 in Darwin
669 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
1.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skycity Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skycity Darwin

Address: Gilruth Avenue | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $143 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Skycity Darwin 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYCITY Darwin is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, SKYCITY’s centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities.Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences, indulge in spa treatments, and relax on our beautiful private beach.We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skycity Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skycity Darwin Hotel Darwin
Skycity Hotel Darwin
Darwin Skycity Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing