We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The name says it all.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Central to the heart of Darwin, within walking distance of the main strip, harbour and shopping mall.
Well laid out and very clean, friendly atmosphere and the staff know their town.
Breakfast is well worth rolling up for too.

Room Tip: I recommend the top floor if you can get it as there are good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    795
    228
    45
    47
See reviews for
236
676
242
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Clean spacious rooms and very helpful staff make this a pleasant place to stay. It is close to the waterfront without the price price loading that seems to come with a right on the waterfront location. Very convenient for transport, urban sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merrihenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

On our recent trip to Darwin, we chose the Darwin Central because of the reasonable rates and the good reviews it had received. Many other Darwin hotels seemed overpriced in my opinion. The room we stayed in was on the 7th floor and whilst it was quiet, there was not much of a view - just the back of the main street buildings. The hotel is in a very central location and I walked everywhere easily. The staff were polite and helpful but not overly attentive. I would recommend the Darwin Central to any type of traveller and would be happy to stay there again on my next trip to Darwin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mtvessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Friends and myself stayed here in July and the service given was beyond good!
Clean Sheets, New pillows, Fridge was nice and cold, aircon didn't smell like smoke!

Will recommend this hotel to friends and family for future use!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of town. Our room on the 4th floor was very quiet which we were very grateful for. It was very well serviced and very clean. Our room was a studio room and had lots of space including a large bathroom and nice small kitchenette.
We would happily recommend it to others. If we had to knock anything it would be that parking and internet wi-fi were extra costs, and that the air-con while very effective was a bit noisy. I do not understand why hotels charge extra for internet access as it is a minor cost to them as the infrastructure is there already, and it just irks customers. These are minor issues only and we would easily stay there again if in Darwin.

Room Tip: Our East side room was very quiet, not sure about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thosegoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My first trip to Darwin and found the weather was great in july and nice 31 degrees. The room very clean it was very large and well appointed. It is a very good location with many resaurants and pubs and night life nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was my fourth stay at the Darwin Central and again it met with my expectations - it is not a grand hotel but the room rates are reasonable and the rooms clean and big enough for short stays. It is an easy walk to most places without having to pay for the overpriced and underserviced alternatives within central Darwin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing