We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and good room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The in the very early morning was great and we were happy to hear that we can get a room already at noon.
However, when we came back at noon there was another receptionist who said this is not possible and the first one could not have possbily said to us we can have a room at noon.
Luckily another employee was close and could still ensure us to receive a room.
For some reason the room got changed from 7 to 4th floor without explanation which still is leaving a bad impression. Otherwise the hotel was great and the location in the middle of the city the best of all hotels I have seen around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Klaus B, thank you for your review. We are pleased you have provided the feedback about your check in experience, so we can further mentor and train our staff. The receptionist was new and on training, and therefore I apologise for any misunderstanding. It was to good hear the rest of your stay was good and you found the location easy and convenient in the heart of the city. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    753
    222
    44
    46
See reviews for
222
642
235
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a buffet breakfast was included in our booking. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we arrived but as it was late evening we only wanted something light to eat so went across the road to a Subway store. There are other eating places within a short walk and also a supermarket where we got a few things.

We thought the location was good if you wanted to explore the city without a car. The room was quiet and we had no noise from traffic or other guests. We were pleased with our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tessie95, thank you for your review. It good to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met you expectations. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Darwin Central hotel is a really good hotel if you wanna roam around Darwin on foot - it couldn't be more central and conveniently located. Rooms are tidy and friendly, ours was a corner room and quite big. We enjoyed our stay a lot and would always recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Simone M, thanks for your review. It was to great to hear you found the hotels central location opposite the Smith Street Shopping Mall, easy and convenient to access all the city has to offer. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Big rooms and good sized bathroom, excellent staff and good breakfast, but sadly not able to get a room with a view as I had hoped, only 1 very small window with a table under it - looking out on other buildings.
Thanks to Darwin council for providing free internet access in the mall - can re-use every 6 hours, as the hotel access is grossly overpriced.
Location great so that made up for the lack of views !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Shirley D, thanks for your review. We are pleased you found the rooms and bathroom a good size, good breakfast and location with excellent staff. The hotel has won awards for its energy efficient design, and the size of the windows are part of this design concept, for air-conditioning efficiency. With an inner city location, the hotel offers city views. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is really well located and the rooms are comfortable. It is a good choice for a central location reasonably prices, with two exceptions:

1: the internet is quite pricey at $25 per day - and it doesn't really work. I had a small file uploading for 24 hours and it didn't get more than 45% uploaded. This is not a hotel to stay in if you need connectivity.

2: the swimming pool is really a plunge pool. you can get wet but you can't swim. So this is not the place if you need to do morning laps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Andrewmm29, thanks for your review. We were very happy to receive your review and we agree with you. The internet is overpriced and we are starting install next week of new system. Our pool is located on level and is definitely a plunge pool where you can relax and take a dip, but you cannot do laps and keep fit. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great friendly professional staff, eager to please. Front office to housekeeping and breakfast crew. Fabulous selection for full breakfast.
Very good location, like the name, central to CBD easy pick up drop off.

Room Tip: My room did have kitchenette. Very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Gabby H, thanks for your review. It was good to hear that everything met you expectations during your recent stay. We have expanded our breakfast selection this year to an International Buffet, and we are glad you enjoyed the diverse range of options. Thanks for sharing your experience.


Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Darwin Central is right in the centre of town, nice and close to restaurants, waterfront, shops etc. Our hotel room was very nice and clean and the staff friendly. Be aware when booking that you have to pay for parking , so factor that in when making your reservations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4KimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear 4KimN, thanks for your review. It great to hear that you found the hotels central location easy and convenient to access all the city has to offer. The hotel offers a valet car parking service at $17 per night. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing