We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Aust
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel was great and the staff were wonderful. I recently stayed there for one night and as it happened the whole of Darwin lost their power in the middle of the night. I was on the third floor and the staff were fabulous having to vacate the whole hotel and manually bring everyones luggage down flights of stairs in total blackness and heat they even managed to put on a continental breakfast of fresh fruit, muffins & juices in the dining room lit with kerosene lanterns. It actually looked lovely. So under very difficult circumstances they managed to do all this without any bother. They were so helpful and wonderful. Not only was the hotel great and in a good location the staff were brilliant

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmullas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mrsmullas, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your kind words for what was a very challenging day for guests and staff. Hotel Management is very proud of the staff efforts and we thank our guests for their patience. Thanks for sharing.


Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    774
    225
    45
    46
See reviews for
228
656
239
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel has beautiful architecture that I know. outside the hotel looks deceptively simple, but inside is a luxury! of course, in the lobby of the hotel! Room was clean, nothing special! Location is great! can go to the nearest shopping center, I really love this!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear CameronMUT, Thanks for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel met your expectations. Our great location makes it so easy to enjoy all the city has to offer, right on our door step. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks for sharing.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

While surroundings are mid-range, hotel is definitely not 4 star, it reminds me of the 1990's budget hotel, with a lick of paint, black flick laminate and off-write tile reno. Staff while they smile and say nice things, they forget the simple things that long distance travellers require. A security issue is that reception staff take both your identification and credit card into a back room to photocopy. I don't know about your bank, but mine says don't let your credit card out of your sight. Sitting in the lobby reading the newspaper you soon see who gets the attention/service it's those wearing cheap jewellery and knock-off label on the outside t-shirts. Not the business or seasoned travelers (eg: the potential repeat customers). Hotel reception staff need to advise all guest of all services offered, including transfers. Portage, need to be at their station not gas-bagging at reception. No free WiFi. A half a star out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ungarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ungarie, Thanks for your review. It was very disappointing to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate our performance and focus on areas for improvement and staff training. Thanks for sharing.


Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Spent 2 nights and enjoyed a good nights sleep.Clean and beds very comfy.parking is easy to find nearby.My only complaint it that their wifi was not compatible with apple products so we had too go the the nearby Resturant to log on.In this day and age all hotels should have easy wifi access.
Good Resturants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Welltravelled019, Thanks for your review. We were pleased your enjoyed stay and found the location easy and convenient to access all the city has to offer. We are very happy to announce that our new Wi-Fi system is being installed next week and will be fully compatible with all devices. Thanks for sharing your experience.


Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirranbandi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Picked this hotel because of trip advisor reviews , and wasn't disappointed .
Stayed her for 5 nights and couldn't fault the service or location
My only gripe was that the window in room does not open.but then Darwin's climate ensures that you will have air con on anyway
Booked hotel on the net and value for money was outstanding,even with the $17 night parking fee
Will recommend to any one I know visiting darwin

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pateena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Pateena2, Thanks for your review. It was great to hear that you selected the hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Darwin central is a wonderful hotel with great services. The stuff are very friendly and always smiling. The rooms are exactly what described on the website. I enjoyed my stay and I will recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Marina M, Thanks for your review. It was so pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was as you expected. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Regards,


Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at Darwin Central many times for business. Great location, great rooms. There was a misunderstanding with the number of people in room, it was just me travelling with 3 other people in own rooms, but they charged me for 3 extra people in my room. Still waiting for the refund for one night. Apparently it's too hard to reverse a transaction, but we're happy to take money . Won't return until I have received my refund. Front reception staff very helpful and have followed through, but management still yet to reply.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ro C, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not go smoothly. I trust this has been resolved and if you wish, you can contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Rachael Fabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing