We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Dampier
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks while looking for long term accomodation. Room (703) was spacious with 2 queen beds and plenty of space to put our bags out of the way. Location is excellent, close to restaurants and bars, and to Coles as well. The Post Office, Banks and RSL are also close by and the waterfront is an easy 10 minute walk. Parking on the street behind the hotel (where MacDonalds is) is free at weekends (limited to 2 hours Sat am) and from 5pm to 8am weekdays. Staff were very efficient and always a smile and the housekeeping staff also do an excellent job. There is a laundry room with 4 washers and 4 dryers - $4 per wash and $4 for an hour in the dryer. Overall we were very pleased with our stay here and would recommend it if you want a central location, a quiet space and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiP0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and the many compliments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    808
    233
    45
    47
See reviews for
240
687
245
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stay at the Darwin Central on average around four times per year with an avrage stay of 5 nights per visit.

The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient and loyalty is rewarded.

It is true that Wi Fi is not available, if it were, the Darwin Central Hotel would tick every box.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you your review. We are pleased you find the hotel meets your expectations. Currently the hotel offers both cable and WiFi internet for a set fee. We are reviewing our Guest Internet Services and hope to introduce a new service soon. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Regards


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip for three days and chose this hotel due to its good reviews and location.

The location is excellent, right in the centre of Darwin and close walk to bars and restaurants. There is no on-street parking in the CBD so you have to use the hotel's valet parking which is $17 per day but they have a car park beneath the hotel so you don't have a long wait for your car.

Hotel staff very friendly, rooms are large, well appointed and clean and give you everything you want incl. tea and coffee facilities and ironing board.

WiFi was a shame given I was here on business and you have to pay for this but I brought my own WiFi dongle so ok for me but it would be nice if they could at least provide free WiFi in the public areas on the ground floor.

All in all the hotel is basic but gives you what you need and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are pleased you found the hotel's central location, service and facilities met your expectations. We are working on our new WiFi service and hope to make some announcements soon. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice and quiet stay , this is clearly important, but do not ask to be connected! I was charged 66 Aud just to dream about a normal wi-fi. Room was clean, service ok, centrally located but if somebody needs to keep on connected to the world..this is not your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 385charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for your review. We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate our performance and areas for improvement. We are working on our new WiFi facility and hope to make an announcement soon about our new service. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. The reception staff are really friendly and efficient. The rooms are large and well appointed. The location is great for easy walking to restaurants and other facilities. We had 2 early morning tours and the hotel packed us very good take away breakfast packs which were ready on time. Can truly recommend this top class establishment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for your recent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and took advantage of the great location and many facilities the hotel offers including our Takeaway Tucker packs. Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My Son and I delivered two new buses to Darwin last Friday afternoon. We were booked on the 1.00am flight back to Brisbane and needed a base for a few hours prior to flying out. My wife discovered the Darwin Central Hotel on the web and booked us a double room. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the Assistant Manager and our room was allocated in no time at all. The room was quite large with two queen beds and a large shower which was a total surprise to us both. After a short stroll to the main street for a couple of drinks and dinner we returned to the Hotel to shower and relax. It was two very reluctant people who had to leave those enticing queen beds behind at 11.00pm to go to the airport. Hopefully we can stay overnight when next in Darwin. A great Hotel in an excellent location with cheerful front desk staff. Unlike traveller5605 who returned to the Hotel to escape some rain we were much less fortunate, heard the rain approaching but couldn't run fast enough and experienced a total drenching from one of Darwin's Monsoonal storms. We could only laugh at our own misfortune!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tery Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for taking to time to write a review. It was great to hear you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and its services, facilities and unbeatable central location. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer! Thanks for sharing.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I normally stay here at Darwin Central Hotel and recommended this place to a colleague. We checked in on the 17-01-14 for 3 nights and just enjoyed our stay. Front Office Team are always so Welcoming and Friendly. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, Mini Bar well stocked and the bathrooms are very spacious. For the price we paid i think is was roughly about ($95 per night at the time) we did not expect to get much more then expected. Great hotel and will be my number one choice to stay in Darwin :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for your review. We were very happy to receive such great feedback and thank you for choosing the hotel when you stay in Darwin. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing