We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice big room and bathroom. Only a small pool though, but didn't matter much, as not in the hotel that often. Too many things to see. Quite modern, very clean. Good breakfast in very pleasant restaurant. Cheaper to get the shuttle bus for airport runs instead of a taxi though. Slap bang in the middle of everything, great location.

Room Tip: Pool view, preferably, but it is surrounded by buildings anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel well located, clean, modern, comfortable and providing a good breakfast. We appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests and your experience.

Thanks for sharing and we hope to welcome you back in the future.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    753
    222
    44
    45
See reviews for
221
639
235
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for work in Darwin, two nights,v ery good and clean Hotel, good size bed.
Good Priced and great location. The staff is helpful and very friendly.
We will stay again in this Hotel when we come to darwin the next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your review.

It was a great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your expectations. Thanks for sharing we hope to see you again soon.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

First trip to Darwin, we lucked onto Darwin Central Hotel. We had room 514 which had a queen and a single bed. Lovely bathroom, and space once we rearranged table and chairs. Kitchette was perfect for preparing simple meals. But, the most surprising thing about our stay, was the sense of privacy. You would have thought the hotel was only half full, not full as it was. Only people staying on your floor have access to that floor via room keys, no key, and you can't use the lifts, so there were no strangers in the corridors. Sleeping was restful because of the quiet, yet we were only 30 meters from Nightclubs and bars and the tourist strip. Highly recommend this hotel for it's location, staff, and quiet,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your Studio room which features a kitchenette. Due to our inner city location surrounded by shopping, restaurants and nightlife, we have paid considerable attention to the ambience and security of our guests. Thanks for mentioning the quiet space, staff and location.

Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With Darwin CBD hotels at a premium price in the dry season, Darwin Central Hotel still seems to manage a few decent specials. The Hotel's main feature is that it is central and within walking distance of major CBD restaurants, shopping centres and government departments. The rooms are basic but quite large, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning works well. I had a warm welcome upon arrival and the staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable. My only complaint is the exorbitant internet charges and no points earnings for airline frequent flyer schemes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthews T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that the hotel met your expectations and you find the hotel's location easy and convenient. We can appreciate those services that our guests are seeking and have made of note your comments for further discussion with Executive Management Team. We certainly have more upgrades and refurbishments planned and hope to present these to you soon.

Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again soon,


Regards,


Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of the cheaper hotels, though still expensive in Darwin (everything is exorbitant in Darwin).

Stayed with 2 children, one of them an infant. I requested a cot and there was a portacot provided. Side of portacot was broken, which may be a safety issue for an older baby. Sofa bed for my older child was not made up when we arrived and when we called housekeeping, they just handed us the linen. We had to call them back to get help with setting it up.

Pool is small but quiet, so great for our purpose.

Otherwise, location is fantastic. Having said that, Darwin city proper is pretty small and so everywere is within walking distance (though proximity is great because it gets too hot to walk too far at times).

Service everywhere in Darwin is hit and miss, I think it is because it is such a touristy place that the service staff are mainy tourists / backpackers / migrants. Service at Darwin Central hotel is similarly hit and miss.

However, it was clean and the room was big enough to suit our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate our performance and focus on any areas and services that are not meeting our guest expectations. Your feedback regarding housekeeping and the portacot have been passed on to the relevant managers for immediate attention. We are pleased you found the hotel's location convenient and the rooms well sized and clean.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Possibly the best place to stay in Darwin. Just a very short stroll to all parts of Darwin or a cheap taxi fare if not up to walking. Everything virtually just outside the door.
Rooms were the cleanest we have stayed in throughout Australia. Hotel Staff very friendly (Rose went out of her way to provide printed pages for us to peruse). Would recommend Darwin Central to all who travel to Darwin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capell1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review!
We are so appreciate of your feedback regarding your recent stay and the efforts of the whole team to make your stay seamless. Thanks for mentioning Rose and her excellent customer service!
Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the Darwin Central for two nights.. its was great.. ill start with its location.. perfect i think only 2 min away from most spots in the city (walking).
the room was very spacious we has a sink, table to eat and a couch. it was a little over priced I think but Darwin is considered to be expensive.
Reception & staff were all spot on.. I think this is the hotel that u want to stay at if u are not looking into paying 300/night like other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was good to hear your enjoyed your recent stay in our Studio room that features a kitchenette. Our central location is very convenient and unrivalled. Thanks for mentioning our friendly team!
We hope to welcome you back and thanks for sharing.

Regards,

Michelle Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 37 in Darwin
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing