We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Darwin is not a very big city but, when it's forty degrees outside, believe me location is very important! The hotel has no many luxuries, but everything works, rooms have plenty of space, beds are really comfy and breakfast is good. And of course location. I couldn't remember the hotel address but when we wanted to come back home we just had to ask the GPS system of our car to go to Darwin city centre and it just got us to the very door of our hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was pleasing to hear you found the hotels location unbeatable and convenient to access all the shopping, restaurants, cafes and attractions in the city center.

Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back in the Top End soon.

Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,952)
There are newer reviews for Darwin Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

As with all Darwin hotels and especially in the dry season the prices are significantly higher than a similar hotel elsewhere.
Having stayed in many Darwin hotels over the years Darwin central is a good choice mainly in view of location.
Rooms are adequate and clean.
Probably not the ideal choice if traveling with children ( no pool)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durkadurkaDurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you found the hotels central location and general amenities and facilities met your expectations.

I note you have commented that we do not have a pool. You may not have discovered our plunge pool located on level 1 of the hotel in sun drenched surrounds on our pool deck. Hopefully our your next stay, you have time to relax by the pool and soak up the sun.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We searched for a reasonably priced hotel to spend just one night while catching up with interstate friends. Price was reasonable for the beginning of the Dry Season, compared to other similar properties. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly both on check-in and check-out, and we were lucky enough to get some valet parking. We were upgraded to a King room, which was beautiful. Love the curtains with the black-out behind them... and the lounge. The bathroom was quite roomy with a great shower. We would have liked a larger selection in the mini bar. The breakfast for $18pp was great value, and I love the offer of having eggs cooked to order. The central location to the Mall and CBD is another plus. As we visit Darwin approximately one per month, if the offers are similar, we will be sure to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevandbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

It was a pleasure to receive your review and hear about your recent experience. We are very pleased you found the hotel and its staff met your expectations during your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast buffet, window dressings and king rooms. We have been discussing our minibar and are sure to take your comments on board with our review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

To Darwin for two nights with work. Darwin Central has a great location right in the centre of the CBD and everything you could want, shops, bars, restaurants is within a 100m walk. Room fine, clean modern, non-descript. Good shower. Friendly staff. Slightly odd design with a food court at the bottom but this didn't cause any issues. I think the corporate rate was over $200 a night and at this rate I would expect breakfast to be included.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenageMutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay.

We are happy you found the hotel's central location, close to shopping, restaurants, cafes and nightlife, convenient and easy. We are pleased you found the staff friendly and the hotel met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Regards,

Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Well located property close to Main Street ..basic room and amenities. Courtesy parking is good - access to the property is via a side street which is a bit if a challenge
Breakfast was adequate and staff all through the hotel were very friendly and efficient
Not a big fan of single beds

Room Tip: Views from the property are not startling -
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience.

We are happy that you found the hotels location and services met your expectations during your stay.

We value the feedback we receive from our guests so we can continue to evaluate our performance.


Kind Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is in central Darwin opposite from the mall and close to shops and restaurants. Booked in for one night after driving from Cairns to Darwin. While reception was busy with a conference and bus tour check-in was efficient and staff were friendly. Our room was large with queen bed, lounge and small kitchenette. Bathroom was huge. Only downside to the room was the small window but that is the hotel design. Would have been lovely to have a view over Darwin. Buffet breakfast was included in our tariff but was on special for $18 if you like to dine in. Plenty of choice... our only concerns were that all five juice choices and the fruit platters were empty and stayed this way for sometime. I did ask a staff member for some fruit eventually. Hotel entrance is in a lane but easy to find. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

It was pleasing to hear you found the hotel convenient and met all your needs and expectations.

I have passed on your comments to our F&B Team regarding our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.


Kind Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first trip back to Darwin since military exercises 22 years ago. Forunately, my wife (on her first Darwin trip) and I selected this hotel to stay at for three nights. My wife is fussy when it comes to hotels but she had nothing but praise for all aspects of the Central Hotel.
The room was roomy, clean and first class. The bathroom was well laid out and had probably the best shower we have ever used. The room rate for the 3 night package was excellent compared to other hotels.
We will not hesitate to stay there again, and will recommend it highly to friends.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and heard no noise whatsoever.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCHManager, General Manager at Darwin Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

It was delightful to receive your feedback and how much you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We are pleased you found the hotel and the refurbished guest rooms met your needs and requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Darwin and the hotel soon.


Kind Regards,


Michelle Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $81 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing