We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick Another” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pick Another”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Novotel Darwin Atrium was a very disappointing hotel. It was incredibly overpriced considering how old / outdated it was and how nothing much seemed to work. Unfortunately I booked before I read all the reviews on here - the reviews certainly are accurate though! The hotel is very run down. The room was clean enough but it was very old / outdated. Nothing like any of the other Novotel Hotels. The pool was absolutely disgusting - it looked like it had never been cleaned (a green murkish colour). And as for the air conditioning, well that wasn't working in our room either (not a good thing in 40 degree weather!). For the same price, you could easily find a much nicer hotel (I'm sure the budget 2 star hotels are nicer than the Novotel Darwin Atrium!) so do yourself a favour and pick another!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_W81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    502
    366
    140
    62
See reviews for
236
506
140
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Of the 6 hotels I stayed in Australia this was my favourite and more personal and friendly than a big chain hotel near Hyde Park in Sydney. The rooms are arranged on 5 floors around a large 5 storey atrium. The atrium contains the bar with the tables set in a "rain forest" with a water feature. Pleasant, attractive, and very cool compared with the humidity outside.

I found front desk staff very helpful, arranging a taxi and dealing twice with an air conditioning unit that was dripping water onto the cushions of the window seat. In the restaurant the a la carte has limited choice but it is cooked to order.. If you are hungry and want something quickly order the fish and chips; its crisp, delicious and I noticed that when ordered by guests it was one of the fastest dishes to leave the kitchen. Waitresses were very helpful especially in keeping chilled water coming.

Before travelling to Australia I wasadvised twice through Quantas and my agent that there would be building work on the land next door. In Sept 2010 a large pit has been prepared but no construction seemed to be proceeding and in the daytime I was not aware of any noise. The hotel is on a corner site giving direct access in under 5 mins to the main shopping and leisure entertainment streets. Across the road is a park but slightly disappointing is that there is no good view of the bay, as there is a fairly dense wooded strip along the seaward edge of the park.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjthorntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at the Atrium at the end of the Long Ride 2010. having spent about 8 days riding motorcycles from NSW, we weren't probably the tidest guests the Hotel had had in their foyer, but the staff were great. The duty manager even offered us secure bike parking in the pool complex. But when the bikes wouldn't fit up the ramp, a special note was added to the night staff for extra patrols of the car park.
I had room service out of a "Tiffin" tin and this was excellant. We hah rooms on the 5th floor overllooking the Bay and a bay window with a bench seat helped to ease the muscles.
Could have done with a little more hot water in the shower and a bit extra pressure though.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katherine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

my wife and I stayed at the Novotel and believe that the staff are probably the best that we have had at any motel in Darwin(we stay in darwin approx once a month as we live in Katherine). the standard room was quite large and the bed very comfortable, the only downside to the room was that the bathroom was quite small. We would highly recommend the Novotel as any gripes we have about the place are petty. (eg, no balcony, unable to use own dvd player, place had a drab appearance but comfortable and functional and the lifts were extremely slow). Free internet is a bonus along with a free daily paper. there was construction going on next door so if your desire is to relax around a pool all day then this is defineately not the motel for you, but if you want a motel that is in an awesome location then the Novotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bess123Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the photo of the pool as Darwin is hot and humid. We were disappointed to find out when we arrived that the pool pictured on the web page is no longer there and has been replaced by a tiny pool at the back of the hotel that was really crowded.

One night we planned on having a quiet night in and getting a hotel on-demand movie, however every movie we picked was not available. The front desk told us that because so many people were watching movies they didn't have the capability for every room to watch a movie at the same time.

Lastly, we were unfortunate enough to have a room above a function room that one night had a birthday party in it. The music was so loud it was like being above a night club. We called down to the front desk and were told that they were supposed to have the music turned down by 11pm. Being one block from the street of nightclubs, why does the Novotel think that they need to allow one of their function rooms to be turned into one at the expense of the guests night of sleep?

Posititives: The staff were friendly. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Hotel is a little tired, but could not fault staff. Reception staff couldn't do enough for us - very helpful and knowledgeable. Room very clean and comfortable, found hotel very quiet but this was a weekend. Price was very good but look out for specials we managed to get package with breakfast. Must say best breakfast we have had for a long time. We did dine for dinner which we could not fault food or service, try their chocolate special for deserts great variety. Was so impressed we went back two days later for lunch which again was superb. Must say we did dine at a very well known restaurant down the road which food was good but very expensive could not say the same about their service. Thank you to restaurant staff we really enjoyed your food & service. Only one complaint could not find up to date menu any where on internet. Thank you for FREE internet at reception.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Only complaints about this hotel. Even the water of the swimming pool was dirty! Please, Mr Accor, close the hotel, renew it completely and change the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear Traveller and Prospective Travellers,

We are disappointed to learn of your experience in the hotel and that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The pool of the hotel is tested a minimum of twice per day and tested in accordance with local health regulations/guidelines.

Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#9 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing