We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit Dated”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A bit Dated”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Hotel really is getting a bit dated. The room was large and the bed comfortable, but both the bathroom and the aircon made a fair bit of noise. I slept with earplugs in. I'm not sure what the competition is like though. OK if you're happy with the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeOnTour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    516
    374
    144
    64
See reviews for
240
519
146
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just stayed at Novotel Darwin. Rundown place with nothing going for it except friendly staff. This place needs a complete overhaul. On arrival there is no one to help with bags just a trolley at front door. I watched a group of elderly people struggle with there bags.
We booked a single queen room but they upgraded us to a junior suite. BIG disappointment. Original price for suite $340 but they reduced to $245. Bathroom falling apart - peeling paint etc with a shower curtain. I thought you only got show curtains in hotels these days in 1 star hotels. I believe this Hotel classifies itself as 4 star . It is not.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not the 4 1/2 star that it claims to be. Upon entering it, you notice the dampness of the lobby. Then as you walk to the elevators, you see the stained carpet, the beat-up corners, the walls in dire need of a new coat of paint, and just a general cleaning --- normal maintenance issues. Our two-bedroom apartment was more of the same: stained carpeting, walls with holes, paint scraped off doors, dirty curtains, torn furniture, and old appliances, just to name a few. After complaining to management, we discovered that the hotel was going under a refurbishment process, and the room we were given was not one of those that had been refurbished. Why they gave that out then, is another question. The next day the hotel moved us to a mostly refurbished room. It was much better, but still had issues of air conditioners not working properly, a chipped tub, old appliances, and scuffed-up walls. Needless to say this was not a good start to our holiday. The one bright side to all of this was the staff. They went out of their way to make a bad situation better, both during our stay and with follow-up calls after we checked out. If you are expecting a two- or three-star hotel, then this is fine, but not as an advertised 4 1/2 star. Expectations are everything, and it is always best to meet or exceed them not to fail to live up to them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good price for a late booking attending a Wedding. Rooms were spacious, neat, clean and comfy. The Full Breakfast is a little bit steeply priced and don't wait for the lift if your in a hurry. Those two very minor points aside for a Hotel in Darwin I would endorse. Two Apple iMac's in foyer were handy.

Customer Service at the front desk was in exemplary, polite, professional and one girl in particular (N*****) was rather cute. ;)

Room Tip: City side be prepared for a little bit of street noise from the crowd at Shenanigans, nothing to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnzacTaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing