We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with customer service”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Shellharbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very happy with customer service”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The free up grade was very good, the customer service was excellent, I would recommend this Hotel just because the customer service and the room service and the staff helping me to take my bags to the etc etc.

Room Tip: We got room 313 mini suit wasn't the best view but very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    514
    374
    144
    64
See reviews for
240
518
146
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, NT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We walked in off the street at 2am after plane delays and were offered the last room for the night. Big room comfy bed air conditioning and strong shower. That's all we needed for a few hours rest. However ... I have spent the last 5 days (while overseas on holidays) attempting to get the security deposit they held on our bank account released as well as an admin error of another nights accommodation and additional security held as well. After numerous emails and messages through their Facebook page (which were promptly deleted and I was blocked from their page), this morning we have had a response that it s normal practice in their hotels to do this. Very disappointing. THere should at least be cups available to make coffee in room, had everything else to make except cup and spoon. Had no hooks on back of door in bathroom to hang clothes or towels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darwin_NTNTtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Darwin_NTNTtraveller,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the facilities at the hotel.

With your remarks in regards to the pre-authorisation taken at the time of check-in, we have discussed with the team and tightened the process. Some bank do held the pre-authorisation as a pending charge on our behalf for a longer period if we do not use the same card to check out. Please rest assure that this had been communicated to the team and to our guest for the same.

Thanks again for your review, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Even for Darwin this place is poor quality and too expensive. The rooms while not bad aren't special, the bathrooms are average and the view is obstructed by terrible window boxes. If you like balconies and a good nights sleep, stay anywhere else. The air conditioner makes more noise than sleeping under the flight path and it does this every 15 minutes while still not ever being cold enough. There is no way I would ever stay here again and suggest you don't either. The worst Novotel I've ever stayed in and easily twice the price of what it should of been.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AusSam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your review, please let me apologise on behalf of the team at Novotel Darwin that your experience do not meet your expectation.

Your remark in regards to the Air Conditioning unit has been discussed with our Maintenance Manager for action to follow up. Please be rest assure that we take that as priority and ensure we deliver to our guest's expectation.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Extremely professional staff at reception.
Have only big wraps for Staff leader Deidrie.
Handles unfortunate problems well.
Room and Pool area well presented.
Atrium area is very relaxing with well appointed furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment with Novotel and on arrival were lucky to be upgraded to the new building next door, The U2. There is no reception in the U2 so all requests etc need to go through the Novotel next door. Our apartment was on the 11th floor with water views. All bedrooms were large and the kitchen, dining and lounge area were also very spacious. It was well furnished with modern/ new furniture. There were also two bathrooms and a washing machine and dryer. The staff at the Novotel were excellent. They were happy to help with all requests. The location was great, just around the corner from shopping, restaurants and the mall. It's approximately a 15 minute walk to the WW11 Storage Tunnels and the waterfront/wharf area. We enjoyed our 5 night stay and would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked a standard room for two nights and a Superior room for three. Rooms were not clean, the initially offered 'Superior room' had a hole in the carpet and stained curtains. Staff did not seem empowered to help and deputy manager had to be called. He did his best but overall we were not impressed with the hotel. Air con did not work well and the engineers were struggling to fix it daily. Very dated public area. Dirty and small showers. Dirt around carpet edges and on any are with a ledge (plug sockets etc). Most staff seemed uninterested although the deputy manager and one receptionist did their best. Would never stay in a Novotel again. We did see rooms in hotel next door where friend were staying and they were far superior.

Room Tip: We didn't see a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a week's stay in the Novotel Darwin Atrium. The rooms were tidy and the service provided by all staff that were came in contact with was friendly and helpful. We found the location of the hotel central for our needs and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 509teri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing