We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Day stay”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“6 Day stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed as I have done many times before, this trip I have to say the service from the staff was well below any standard I have come across before at your hotels. First night while dining we had to leave the table and fetch our own drinks from the bar and when we commented to the waitress, she said " what do you expect I am on my own". Monday at breakfast there was an issue with the bill, as breakfast was included in my stay, but the waiter argued this and left the bill on my table saying " you will have to go and sort this out with reception". The manager Jacky actual got word of my unhappiness and left a card of apology

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david_holbrook65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    515
    374
    144
    64
See reviews for
240
518
146
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Check in/out- quite a bit of wait in the morning for check out - not enough staff to attend to the expected wave of people

Room - bathroom is extremely dated, remote for Tv doesn't quite work (cannot turn on/off the TV). The bottle of 1L Fiji water that I had seem to have been tempered with previously (and not to mention that it was covered in dust)

Restaurant - good food quality for dinner

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinyhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I live in Darwin but occasionally we like to stay in a hotel and relax.
The Novotel room was spacious. It had a queen bed and a single for our daughter. We paid a little extra to get a sea view and was well worth it.
Beautiful room, everything you need was there. My only problem would be that the shower was quite small, it was ok for us but a large person would have difficulties.
We have dined in the restaurant and the food is always of a high standard. This was our first time for breakfast and it was very good, an excellent choice something for the very health conscious to those who love a traditional English breakfast. Room service was good.
The pool isn't the biggest but is fine and also has a separate spa.
The staff were professional and friendly and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We enjoyed the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I ended up here from a "Secret Hotel" deal on Agoda and was NOT disappointed! In fact I prefer this place to the more esteemed Crowne Plaza.

I like the atrium look in the entry, the cosy bar across the little bridge in the atrium, and the breakfast area, it just all works.

Whilst the hotel is definitely looking a bit tired on the outside the rooms have no sign of ageing. I love the inbuilt mini bar & tea/coffee making setup, something refreshingly different & groovy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for your feedback and this is our pride that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your comments with the team and we wish to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been staying in Darwin on and off for the last 10 years and to date had avoided the Novotel. Clearly my mistake as they have upgraded the rooms and it is now great value for money and in one of the best locations in Darwin. Buffet breakfast is by far one of the best and so too the car parking and Laundry facilities. All of the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Only thing needed (and this goes for all hotels in Darwin) is an accessible ice machine and a larger fridge. I will be staying here next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibbinsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr Gibbins,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us!

I will pass your feedback on to the team and we will also consider your suggestion about ice machine!

We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel!

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing