We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to the Novotel standard!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to the Novotel standard!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is need of remodeling. Our room was dirty. There was dried vomit or something like it, in the corner of the room. The room smelled terrible. The bathroom had mold all over the ceiling and mold in the shower. They advertise free internet, but that is misleading since a guest only gets 30 minutes free per 24 hour period. The air conditioning was very loud. A real rip off for what we paid for the room. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Dawn D,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your experience with our hotel is not up to your expectation.

Your remarks about the room have been discussed with our team for action to follow up and up keep of the standard. Please be rest assure that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    501
    366
    140
    62
See reviews for
236
506
139
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although one of Darwins older hotels it's updated rooms are excellent. brilliant aircon and good shower. Flatscreen tv with lots of channels including three sport.
The reception staff were most helpful and also printed off our boarding passes for our return flight. I would disregard the previous negative review as the first floor seems to be the only floor waiting to be updated.
The pool and spa were great to cool off after a warm days sightseeing.
All the staff were helpful and friendly especially Gavin on reception who was a mine of information. There may be bigger and newer hotels in Darwin but I would always choose the Novotel for it's friendly atmosphere and great position.

Room Tip: If you don't wish to pay $30 a night for a water view ask for a city view at the rear overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

stayed at the Novotel Darwin after a 3 day safari through Kakadu and Litchfield Park.
Nice welcome by the staff at reception.

Room was great wih a bedroom and then a separate living area (not 2 separate rooms but with a 3/4 wall in between. Air conditioning really good as we were there in October and it was hot and humid.

A medium size pool out the back which was good to have a swim in and not crowded.

Meals were good. The atrium area was attractive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonjoymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well, as ex long time Darwin residents, we revisited Darwin over the Xmas and New Year period. As we always used to go to the Atrium for NYE we thought it would be good to do it again and this time with our kids and their cousins, etc...! Badly disappointed. We returned to the hotel after watching firewoorks with the kids at the wharf, at about 9:30pm. The only people in the place were the one's on the front desk and the occasional sound of crickets! Ummmmm this is NYE guys!! Poor planning, poor management. No doubt in my mind that if they opened the bar, with even one staff member they would have had at most people staying there down in the foyer, spending money. Very disappointed to say the least.

My sisters family spent the night in a room, which had one A/C not wroking, the other one was leaking on the bed. Huge gouge marks on the bathroom door, no maintenance done for quite a while..! Might as well pull it down. Has no atmosphere, obviously the owners, or management want to get out ofg their lease, or have it close..... no care.

The only positive was the guy on the front desk.... Gavin.

Won't be back, and definitely will not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location excellent - Mitchell Street is one block away. Prices are as you would expect, but I was able to get a good deal for a week's stay. Room spacious and well equipped. Service both at the front desk and in the restaurant was professional, timely and friendly. The restaurant menu while expensive was interesting and used local seafood produce imaginatively. Breakfast menu was comprehensive and catered for a wide range of hot and cold options. Staff were particularly good - addressed me by name after the second day of my one week stay. Undercover parking is available next door. I intend to stay here again when next in Darwin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnscottpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing