We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something's stay the same”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed January 15, 2013

First stayed at this hotel 20 years ago and it was great to see the standard was still very good. New faces but great service, location and food. There was a sense of time travel as it was hard to pick any changes to the building at all, but will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaroG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Staff and service great but rooms so run down, Peeling paint in the bathroom, chips in the bath itself, uncomfortable couch, no shelves or drawers in wardrobe. if I stay at the Mantra for the same price (2 bed apartment) I get much bigger rooms, a full kitchen and laundry facilities in room. Despite being Accor members we have decided not to stay there again for these reasons. Love the vibe of the place but for the price just doesnt cut it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Deb R,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Atrium Darwin. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your remark in regards to room condition has been discussed with our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager for action to follow up, furthermore, the last stage of our refurbishment will commerce with the next month to complete the last batch of rooms to our new Novotel "Next Room" standard.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agiopereira
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have used this hotel before. Great location and rooms have since been refurbished to a high standard. Staff are helpful and well informed.

Probably won't be back for a long time as I did Darwin to death whilst I stayed there.

It's a pity that so many tourist drawcards over the wet season are closed down in the Northern Territory. It must definitely detract from hotel booking numbers over this part of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

All staff were helpful. location if great, particularly if you have a room overlooking the water. Amenities are good quality. Size of rooms are more than sufficient.
Food is excellent.
Reception staff lacked local knowledge eg: New Years Eve - we sought sunset cruise or such like at night, advised no such companies were doing this. Yet, people on The Ghan afterwards told us they had been on a cruise including one on New Years Eve. Reception staff said - no good to make phone calls - all ferries had ceased. Suggest staff be kept better informed with local knowledge.
Apart from that, no other complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

very nice hotel,stayed in junior suite with harbor view,view was spectacular especially when storms rolling in,room was very comfortable,our only whinge if u can call it that is the remotes for tv's didn't work properly.staff were very friendly and helpful,breakfast was good and dinner's in the restaurant were very nice although deserts were not that adventurous,overall a very pleasant and relaxing 4 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrbertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $79 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing