We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Base in Darwin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Great Base in Darwin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

Booked the Atrium based on other reviews on TripAdvisor and I was really pleased with the stay. I have stayed at Novotel Cairns before so I expected the same good service and quality accommodation. We (traveled with my wife) requested a quiet room and that is what we got. Stayed on fifth floor, room without a balcony, facing the city. The views are not as impressive as the beach view, however this was the quietest room I have ever stayed in (even with a number of functions on in the hotel when we stayed). The room itself was large, lounge suite, table and double. Only complaint I have is that the bathroom is too small. No bath given Darwin is not short of water is surprising. A/C is a must and ours was quiet and effective. If keen, there are new release in house movies, and fox sports was free - therefore I was of course overjoyed.
The staff were polite and helpful - not one single problem.
We booked a package including breakfast - a great continental buffet with everything you could want - probably a little pricey if you had to pay upfront. We also ate at the Zest restaurant within the hotel and the food was absolutely outstanding. Darwin food is not cheap, and we found most of it not that flash (for the price you pay), but the Zest is a real cracker. On the same floor, the Jabiru bar is a nice place to unwind.
The facade and atrium itself are most pleasant, even if dated. The pool is nice, and overall it is quite a good hotel. In another major city, this hotel would be a good 3.5-4 star hotel, however for Darwin, the Zest and breakfast make it a top notch stay. Everything is a brief walk from the hotel, important given it is so humid. We did a number of long day tours so the peace and quiet was welcome. A recommended hotel.

  • Liked — Quiet room and restaurant
  • Disliked — Pokey bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    501
    366
    140
    62
See reviews for
236
506
139
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

This is a nice hotel located opposite lovely Bicentennial Park and the ocean. Unfortunately we didn't have an ocean view (even though we had requested one). Can never understand how that works as the hotel was only semi-full! Anyway, had upgraded to a superior room which was very nice and roomy.
Didn't eat at the hotel as there are many nice restaurants within walking distance. Pool area was nice as well. Loved the location but may stay across the road at the Saville next time, purely for the fact that their rooms have balconies and it would be lovely to sit out on the balcony on the balmy nights.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tarynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

My husband & I stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay.

I think it's important to bear in mind that the standard of Darwin accommodation is very different to that of Melbourne or Sydney. The Novotel certainly isn't as glamorous as what you might find in one of those cities but we really enjoyed the stay regardless.

The room itself was great, I think it was recently renovated and was really lovely. The bathroom could do with a renovation and had a bit of mildew in the shower recess though is expected being in the tropics. The one BIG criticism I could make was that there were no balconies unless you were in a corner room. The actual window is quite small but the view was magnificent.

Onto the staff: well, they made our holiday. Couldn't imagine friendlier, more helpful people. They took care of everything for us: organised our 4WD hire to our specific requirements, had great recommendations for dinner/sightseeing options, right down to organising our "breakfast boxes" when we left the hotel at 11pm for a 1am flight.

The only thing that would prevent me for staying again is if I could find a place that has balconies.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

Wonderful location (we could see the sea from our home), with a very nice atrium in the centre of the hotel. Its a very pleasant place to have breakfast (next to a waterfall). The swimming pool is very good as well.

  • Liked — Waterfall with breakfast
  • Disliked — room average
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Darwin as part of a top end holiday that included Kakadu and Katherine. Darwin itself was fantastic with plenty of sites and things to do. The Novotel was central to all the main attractions including being right near the centre of town with all the restaurants and night spots easily accessible.
We used a taxi service a lot that for $3 a head will take you to anywhere within the main Darwin centre. This was a great and cheap way to get around. These services were common in Darwin. Mindle beach markets is a must see.
The hotel was well appointed with all the usual inclusions. It was always neat and looked after. The bathroom was clean and freash and the rooms were large enough for our needs.
We did not eat at the hotel and preferred to get out and explore the town. The Duck's Nuts cafe in Mitchell St is great for breaky.
Loved Darwin and the Novotel was perfectly located and just what we needed to make the stay a wonderful experience

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank avagander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

Novotel Atrium
Good sized room with all the amenities needed. The jungle atrium was interesting and seemed to make the hotel more relaxed and informal yet still smart. The staff were friendly, helpful and well trained. The swimming pool was out doors and looked little used. The hotel was reported as full but did not appear so. The restaurant ZEST was being refurbished but the temporary one in the Atrium worked fine. The Esplanade is a one sided street of hotels and apartments behind which are bars, shops, banks, cafes and restaurants. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The cocktail bar closed too early!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here overnight on our way to Kakadu National Park (which my wife and I would recommend).

To put it bluntly the hotel and the room were average and expensive (over $200AU). The room is average size, has poor bathroom facilities and a very poor, unsupportive bed. The hotel provides no internet access above the lobby floor and wifi access is very expensive.

On the plus side there is free parking and a nice pool area - food is very average. The hotel is centrally located for Darwin but that is not necessarily a good thing - a tour of the town can be easily accomplished in a couple of hours (it is hardly a sprawling metropolis!)

The highlights of our stay were Cullen Bay (lovely village atmosphere with great views and restuarants) and the Mindal Beach Market (Thurs / Sun - truly a one-off/must-see).My advice, hire a car and stay in Cullen Bay and kick back and enjoy the luxury - then go and explore the Northern Territory.

To put the Atrium in context all the hotels on this strip look to deliver the same standards of accommdation / service - don't expect city standards of luxury compared to Sydney / Brisbane etc... you will be very disappointed.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Piet_van_Gelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing