We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Given that Darwin is an expensive city, I suppose this hotel was typical. However, it is looking tired and is in need of a refurbishment. The service was good, however. I note that the windows were filthy despite paying for a harbour view.
Expect to pay a 2% surcharge on your credit card here and elsewhere in the Northern Territory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hi yankoz

Thanks for your feedback I've asked Maintenance to follow up on the window issue - for all our “apartments” we clean them ourselves because of balcony access however for the "hotel" rooms we have external contractors come in a couple of times a year with abseiling equipment as they require specialist access.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,395 - 1,401 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed 2 stays at Mantra on the Esplanade over a 2 week period (one stint of 3 nights and then another a bit later of 4 nights). Apart from visiting and enjoying the city of Darwin itself, we were using the northern capital as a 'base' to extend our trips into Kakadu and Katherine etc.

For both stays we paid the extra to book a Harbour View Room. It was well worth it (I've included a sunset pic taken from our room). The views over the port of Darwin, the Esplanade and Park, along with distant glimpses of Fannie Bay are worth the additional cost. As other reviews have highlighted, Mantra on the Esplanade is also very well located to the bustling heart of the Darwin CBD and retail precinct.

The rooms themselves were well appointed with all the fittings, furniture and fixtures you'd expect in a contemporary 4 star hotel. Our rooms also had a very adequate kitchenette as well as a small laundry. Strangely though, the rooms did not come with a closet safe to store valuables.

The only disappointing aspect occurred on our last check-out. Despite being members of the Mantra Club, which guarantees late check-out (11.00 am) and even confirming same the night before, we were 'harrassed' 4 times after 10.00 am (2 phone calls and 2 knocks on the door) asking when we were leaving.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you can for a Harbour View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SageAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hello SageAU1

Thanks for taking the time to write and although I am biased I would agree we do have one of the best harbour views in town! Thanks also for the detailed review of room amenities. With regards to storage of valuables we have a range of secure lock boxes at Reception if required. Also I have followed up with both Housekeeping and Front Office regarding the late checkout issue my apologies for that.

The Team and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed prior to a 5 day tour on level 8 in a one bedroom apartment.
There were a couple of hiccups with the air con but very quickly a maintenance man visited and we were offered another room.
The reception staff were brilliant. Housekeeping were fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for the staff here.
We had a full size kitchen with everything you could need. A large lounge room a balcony over looking the back Packers a bedroom with king size bed and bathroom with European laundry. Bed on the hard side but ....
Who could ask for more.
We stayed three nights in this room and we loved the atmosphere of looking over to the nightlife in mitchell st. It can be noisy but we loved it.
We are back for 5 nights after our trip in a water front room. Ill review again to show how they compare.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank christines1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hi christines 1234

Thanks for posting - much appreciated particularly the comments for our team with I've shared with them. Have fun on your tour and we look forward to welcoming you back in a few days!

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived at the designated check in time to find that our room wasn't yet ready. We were advised to come back a half hour later, but as we had luggage with us, decided to grab a couple of beers and some lunch in the bar area... only they don't serve lunch there and the couple of beers and pot of Pringles that we did have were really expensive.

Half hour later, our room still wasn't ready so a complimentary upgrade was given to us. The room was fine but the bathroom was sooo dated and in real need of a refurb. It was clean enough, but the shower head was leaky and it took a while for the hot water to come through.

We took advantage of the Mindil Beach shuttle bus ($5 per person each way) which picks up outside the hotel.

The location is OK and we had a view of the sea from our room.

Not sure I'd stay again though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A_J_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi A_J_Mann

I'm sorry your room wasn't ready when you arrived, the team work hard to ensure we meet our advertised availability time but it’s not always possible to achieve with delays generally resulting from late departing guests or can be a maintenance issue identified when servicing. Thanks also for the feedback re bathrooms I'm currently working on upgrade proposals for future consideration by the Group so your feedback is appreciated.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Was shocked by prices of hotels. Mantra seems good compromise. Place needs an update. Feels like something out of 80s but charging 2014 prizes. Bottled water was 4.50 (small).staff
fine and friendly.Only 2 mins from Mitchell St which is full of bars.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi Lankylee

Thanks for your recent post and nice to have you down from Hong Kong. In regards to accommodation pricing for Darwin in general it's currently the peak of high season which includes Spring Racing, Darwin Festival and a host of other activities. Some great deals however are available in the coming months when the weather is still fantastic (pre-wet season) but demand from international and domestic visitors has diminished. Also thanks for the note regarding our friendly staff - much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Darwin again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

stayed three nights here.
The Bad: room was very expensive, no hot water, didn't have the room ready at 2 pm, unhelpful staff on the front desk. bathroom tired and dirty. Swimming pool closed for renovation's ( done in peak tourist season, go figure!) No views as we were on the second floor and they couldn't move us higher.
The Good: well located.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hello suer261678

I was disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us and have passed your comments to Maintenance and Housekeeping for review. With regards to accommodation costs it's currently peak season in Darwin (July-September) and combined with the Darwin Cup the accommodation prices in general are much higher than other months. There are some great deals however to be found outside of this period.
With regards to the Pool Closure for some time now we’ve had issues with tiles delaminating from the sides and bottom of the pool which has made it appear fairly unsightly and generated a lot of guest complaints. The decision was made several months ago to resurface the pool. As you can imagine it’s a significant undertaking, requires a lot of time to complete and has to be done in dry conditions. We chose a time period – post school holidays and when the pool temperature is at its coldest (it’s not heated) which unfortunately coincides with your planned vacation. We also needed to coordinate with available Trades as Darwin has only one company qualified to undertake an upgrade of this nature.

Again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and service issues you experienced. If you would like to discuss the aspects of your stay further please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $75 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing