We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We got to the Mantra very late at night, to be given the most awful room, it smelt stale, it was noisy, it was dark with the window being totally blocked by a tree and the toilet was broken. On complaining next morning, we were moved to a room with a harbour view. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was OK but the bath had a chip in it. Breakfast is very good with a great selection. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is great for either walking along the esplanade or Mitchell Street shops out the back. Got the impression that this is one of the best hotels in Darwin. We were lucky to witness the sun setting which you can only do from the Harbour view rooms.

Room Tip: Harbour view room is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceejay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Ceejay t

Looks like we got you off to a bit of a rumpy start but pleased to see the team managed to address your initial issues however you shouldn't have had to endure them in the first place so apologies for that.

Thanks for the great feedback regarding the rest of your stay experience and we wish you well with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    680
    264
    80
    39
See reviews for
258
659
103
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Easy check-in at 1am, straight up to 8th floor which is top floor, I'd requested high floor so all good so far. Getting out of the lift, the whole corridor smelt very strongly of stale smoke, even worse in the room, not pleasant. The room itself was nice and comfortable although the king bed is a twin zip. In the morning, it was raining - to be expected in Darwin, didn't expect to have to move my luggage away from the window though as the relatively light rain was coming in and trickling down the wall and soaking into the carpet. Went downstairs for the buffet breakfast which was very disappointing and possibly one of the worst I've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Alex4819

During recent bouts of heavy rain we've identified a couple of persistent leaks coming from our roof area (above level eight) which has effected several rooms - we think we've now got it sorted but if you've ever had one in your home you'll know they can be tricky to track down and can reappear at the oddest times and places!

Also just to reassure all our guests our hotel has a strict no-smoking policy which is enforced with $200 fines - apologies you had to experience the after effects on your recent stay.

With regards to breakfast we generally get great reviews for our buffet selection but clearly we didn't deliver to your expectations so sorry for that.

Thanks again for writing it is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Mantra in transit whilst moving with defence.
The room was nicely furnished and great for sleeping with heavy curtains in the room.
Great location with just a walk through the arcade to get to the restaurants on Mitchell Street.
Disappointed with the parking facilities, advised of the daily fee of $15 for parking, and then to find that our 4wd wouldn't fit in the undercover parking.
There are a few parks out the front of the hotel- but you have to be lucky to get the park, unless of course, you are the man in corolla that parked and then walked down to Shenanigans.

Room Tip: Would suggest to ask for harbour view on booking if you would like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello shellijo

Thanks for posting and great to hear you found our hotel to your liking. With regards to parking our secure facility is rated at a standard height of 2.1m and accommodates most 4wd vehicles. Unfortunately if your vehicle is oversized or has roof racks fitted then as you mentioned you won’t fit. Thanks for the Shenanigans tip we'll have a look at that - we might be able to free up a few more parks at the front of the hotel!

Thanks again for writing it's appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before our ill-fated trip on the Ghan. We found the hotel and the decor to be very pleasant, not dated at all as some have described it. I can vouch for the lounge chairs in the lobby being especially comfy seeing as we had to spend hours sitting in them!

Check-in did not go as smoothly as it could have. The staff had not read the special request attached to our booking and when we got to our room we found that we had a queen/king instead of 2 twins (I was travelling with my mother). This was promptly fixed with a visit to reception. We also had asked for the highest room available for our Hotel room with harbour view. Originally we were told that the 4th room was the highest they had available for that style of room, at that time. But moments later when I went back to inform that we needed the twin beds made up, and I asked again (different girl) there was suddenly a room on the next level available. I know special requests are not guaranteed, but if they can be easily accommodated then why not take the trouble to first read them and then do so? It makes a guest feel cared for, rather than a number. We were both very impressed with the room. It was of a generous size, very clean and the furnishing were tasteful and well-equipped. I particularly appreciated the universal charger. My favourite touch though was the toiletries in the bathroom esp the lemon myrtle soap.. divine!

We ate main meals at the restaurant 3 times and the meals were lovely.. particularly the T-bone steak! We ate at the breakfast buffet twice. I would consider the buffet to be standard. Not fantastic, but not bad either. There was a good selection and the offerings in the hot buffet were changed daily. The staff here were very attentive.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay. We found all staff; from housekeeping, cafe, restaurant and reception to be very polite and attentive. When our trip on the Ghan was suddenly post-poned due to part of the track being washed away, the Mantra staff were most accommodating and sympathetic to the predicament of the large group of people suddenly stranded in their foyer. Even though most had checked out, they treated us with kindness and accommodated every need. They let us stay in the lobby for as long as we needed (all day!), securely stored our luggage, let us use their complimentary internet to make alternate arrangements, help us charge our phones and were generally just very helpful. They didn't make us feel unwelcome at all. We will always be grateful for their generosity and I would definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: Don't stay any lower than the 5th floor if you want an uninterrupted sea view. The unscreened wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retro-girl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Retro-girl73

Thanks for writing such a comprehensive review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. With regards to room allocations (different girl) only our Duty Managers can alter allocations. This is because it's comparable to completing a huge jigsaw puzzle every day with all the various types, individual requests and differing lengths of stay that need to be factored before alternatives can be offered. Glad we got you sorted however.

If you get the opportunity to attempt the Ghan again in more favourable weather we'd be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed many times at this property on business and find it to be convenient and well located. Whilst the decor is becoming dated the rooms are large and comfortable with reasonable amenities. Although there is a restaurant on the fground floor, the Mantra's proximity to the many food and entertainment venues in Mitchell street in the city centre makes it an ideal base for exploriing the various offerings. Rooms on upper levels with part or full sea view are the best options, the latter providing good clear views of the Esplanade parklands and the harbour approaches.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello NOVO1

Thanks for taking the time to write it's always appreciated. Just for the record the hotel was actually renovated just over a year ago (excluding aspects of the bathrooms) - the decor choices were via a "design consultant" so it has generated interesting feedback around style choices!

I've only recently started- come and say hi next time you’re in - always great to meet our regular guests.

Thanks and Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived in the late afternoon and were pleasantly surprised that our 2 bedroom flat had seaview - and two hours later one of those perfect tropical sunsets, ... .
The flat had a very spacious living room, two bathrooms, washing machine, dryer and kitchen. Everything was very new. Considering some of the older reviews here there seems to have been a very recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks 12Travellingismylife - Having only recently moved here myself I've got to say the sunsets are some of the best I've ever seen! Thanks for posting and good luck with the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We live 260kms from Darwin. We stayed here for our "weekend" getaway 2 weeks in a row. Great central location opposite the water. The 2nd week we received a complimentary upgrade to an apartment which was lovely with the balcony. The staff are efficient and polite. Easy walk to Mitchell St, and Central Darwin. One drawback was on our first stay the mini bar was missing all the snacks, but when this was mentioned on checkout, there was an apology and we weren't charged for the large water we did use. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view upgrade. But keep in mind only the larger apartments have a door opening onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevandbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Bevandbaz

Thanks for choosing us for your two recent trips to town - we do enjoy one of the best locations in Darwin and a great tip you've included regarding our harbour view rooms!

We looked forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing