We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed twice at the Mantra, first time for one night, second for two nights. First time we were in room 401, upgraded to an apartment with separate bedroom c/w en-suite, lounge, kitchenette and laundry facilities, pleasant stay but we were up & gone the next morning. Second time we were given a standard room but asked for upgrade, at a cost of Aud$40 per night.
Given Rm 815 with an excellent view of the esplanade, Doctors Gully and Port Darwin. Same facilities as our first stay and we made full use of them. The air-con was needed with the heat and humidity and when the fan was set on 'low' the noise was imperceptible. Sat on the balcony and watched the sunset the days we were there. We also managed to get a free parking space in the front of the hotel. There is further parking under the hotel but at a cost, otherwise there's parking on the street, free between 1700hrs to 0800hrs then metered. We found the hotel central to many of the attractions which we were interested in visiting, most were within walking distance.
Used the swimming pool one day, nice length for a hotel pool. Several sunloungers, table and chairs scattered around. Never used the bar or restaurant facilities.
Staff were friendly and helpful especially when we asked for an upgrade.

Room Tip: Check what view you're going to have. We had a top floor room so traffic noise was very low when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,561 - 1,567 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed on the second floor in a 3 bedroom apartment, the apartment was large, including 2 bathrooms and a cupboard laundry. Apartment was clean, the balcony was lovely. We would have liked more of a view of the ocean, but you can still see and enjoy the water.
One negative is that the streets can be noisy at night, so the aircon had to stay on to block out the noise even when it wasn't hot. Plenty of room to make it a home away from home, very enjoyable!
Communication from staff was good, as we got a couple of notices about events that might affect us, and about changes due to a public holiday.
The restaurant had lovely meals, gorgeous desserts. The breakfast buffet is pretty good.
The massage facilities are pretty ordinary, but they are outsourced. Could probably do with Mantra owning the spa, keep it more professional, though the actual massage I had was good. You could hear phone calls coming in and one of them was about legal action, not the best way to relax into a massage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks straight, over Xmas and New Year, and am so glad we chose this Hotel. We had a One Bedroom Appt. on the top floor, and the views were amazing.
So handy having the kitchenette and laundry facilities in the room, especially as we were there for so long. ( We left for a week, after New Years to do some travelling to Katherine, came back to Darwin and tried another Hotel, but was disappointed with that, so returned to The Mantra for another week).
The pool was great, staff helpful and the room serviced daily to a high standard.
We travel to Darwin on a regular basis and after checking out most of the other accommodation, we will definitely be return guests at Mantra on Esplanade.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzshmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Wife and I come to Darwin about 3 times a year for a relaxing time out. The Mantra on the Esplanade is a outstanding hotel and has never let's us down. The personal service we receive is probably the best we have ever experienced at a hotel, with the human touch very rare to find at a hotel. Saqib Memon is the Front Office Manager and is a credit to the running of this hotel.

The restaurant Finz in the Hotel is a must to visit don't overlook it, we have eaten in Darwin at a lot
of restaurants, Finz is our choice for the fabulous flavours ,choice of wines and once again the Friendly service not to mention the value money for a first class meal.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the hotel rooms and apartments and have never had any issues where you stay all ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went here on a boys weekend - 5 guys in a 3 bedroom apartment with 6 single beds. The accommodation itself is adequate and comfortable, and is conveniently located. However, it isn't cheap at $530/night.

The pool is good, but the spa is rubbish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay, the others sides look over the streetscape and a carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Mantra was adequate for a stay of a few days inDarwin. Placed in the middle of a swag of hotels that overlook a park and bay, it backs onto a shopping centre and one of the main streets of Darwin. My room was adequate, but I couldn't open the windows even a little bit to get some fresh air. Room service took over an hour one night. Pool was smallish but lovely to swimming and plenty of chairs to lounge in.
However, as with every hotel inDarwin I found the price to be over inflated and offer little value for what you pay, compared to other major cities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nodbod2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this hotel based its location and it turned out to be a winner! We booked a city view, one bedroom apartment and were given one with a glorious view of the Darwin Harbour and the Esplanade.
The room was huge, with a very comfortable king bed and all mod cons - including a washing machine, dryer, 2 flat screen TVs and a well equipped kitchenette.
The location topped it all with the Transit Terminal just outside the hotel rear door and the famous Mitchell Street entertainment strip a further 50 metres thru a small arcade. The Smith Street Mall is about another 150 metres away! And it is only a 10 minute walk to the magnificent Darwin Waterfront Precinct.
We had drinks a few times in the hotel bar and found the prices very reasonable and the service efficient and friendly - the only minus was that it closed at about 10pm on most nights. But with the many bars and restaurants on Mitchell St just a stroll away this was a minor niggle!
The reception staff were great and there is paid parking ($15 per day) undercover.
All in all we can thoroughly recommend the Mantra on Esplanade as a great place to stay in Darwin if you can afford it as it is (along with many others) quite pricey!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are quiet and the view is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $78 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing