We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra The Esplanade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mantra The Esplanade”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Mantra on the Esplanade for a work trip. On the plus side the room is comfortable and a reasonable size for a couple. The bed is a comfortable king size. All facilities are airconditioned (thank goodness as it's November and very hot and humid in Darwin). The menu at the resaurant is ok without being extraordinary and seems a little pricey considering the Mitchell stree eateries are within minutes walk. there is a large Coles supermarket a few minutes away which is great for bottled water etc - the hotel is charging almost $7 for a large bottle of water!!

On the down side for a tropical hot area, the pool is a little disappointing. It seemed dirty and the water was warm. No gym at this hotel, the Mantra up the road (5 mins walk) has a small gym. This has been a little challenge in maintaining a healthy routine while on a business trip as it's a bit too warm to walk outside comfortable.

the location is good, only 20 mins walk from the conference centre and the wharf precinct (but it's too hot to walk there before the conference), lovely views of the harbour across the road, and a wonderful place for a picnic at sunset - these tropical sunsets are absolutely spectacular. There is the bus transit centre behind the hotel and is easy for many bus and coach tours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MollyMal,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the esplanade during your recent business trip to Darwin.
I am pleased to see the Hotel met your expectations and the location along with the views make it a wonderful place to watch the great tropical sunsets as you mentioned. My apologies that we do not have a gym on site but as you have stated the gym at Mantra Pandanas is available to all Guests stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever back in Darwin either on business or pleasure.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    692
    271
    83
    38
See reviews for
262
672
105
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Mantra on the Esplanade in Darwin.

Good location as just a quick walk to Coles supermarket for supplies for our one bedroom apartment. Two blocks away from Smith Street Mall. Next door to airport shuttle terminus. Parking is free across the road overnight. We were provided with beach towels for the pool. Unfortunately reception staff are a bit confused where city landmarks and restaurants are.

Bad points. We had a fire alarm at 4am on Sunday morning and guests evacuated themselves to the back alleyway. No one from the hotel came to reassure guests or let guests know when to re-enter the hotel. Many guests were expressing disappointment that there was a serious lack of customer service in this area.
Also dislike walking through underground carpark and then up a flight of stairs to the pool as we had baby in a pram. Would rather walk out front door and then through pool gate on ground level.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of harbour as rooms facing the city also face the backpacker thumping music a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunCha_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear BunCha_Gal,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the esplanade whilst you were in Darwin recently.
I am glad to see the Hotel overall was to your liking and the location is convenient to most of the amenities needed during a stay in Darwin. I apologize for the lack of customer service you experienced during the fire alarm in the early hours of the morning. We do take such comments seriously and have met with all the staff on duty over this period and organize retraining of the procedures currently in place. In regards to access to the pool we find most people prefer to use the ground floor level to access this area and we are happy for this to occur. the reasoning for the car park access is for privacy if Guests would prefer to go direct from their room to the pool area and not through the lobby area.
if you are thinking of returning to Darwin we would be more than happy to accommodate you in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I organised accommodation with Mantra a week before our touch down at 5:00 am in Darwin and booked a one bedroom apartment regarding our accommodation for a weeks holiday and sight seeing. In booking our apartment it was made abundantly clear that as we were arriving so early we would have liked an early check in and not the 2:00 pm as specified. Our booking was made with the assurance that everything possible would be made to ensure that we were not compromised and made to wait the nine hours between our arrival and the check in time. Unfortunately after a lot of teeth gnashing our apartment was made available to us at 11:30 am, a wait of six and one half hours. Other than this all else was absolutely spot on, with staff being friendly, polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: I would imagine that a hotel of this caliber that all rooms would be in excellent order the accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear batman31,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us a Mantra on the Esplanade during your recent visit to Darwin. I apologize we could not get you into your room earlier than 11.30am, and totally understand how after arriving at 5 am in the morning it would have been ideal to be able to check straight in to your room. Our policy is to try and accommodate early arrivals as soon as we can. This is governed by our occupancy the night before and if the room type you have booked is 100% full on this night we obviously need to wait until someone checks out and our Staff has time to clean the room before we can check you in. On occasions where we have the rooms available we would gladly check you in. I have spoken to the Front Office Team and the need for a higher priority given to early check ins. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the staff and the Hotel.
If you are returning to Darwin in the future we would be more than happy to look after you again.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the mantra for 7 days fron the 29 th october we arrived early the room was not ready so went for a walk when we got back staff had already taken our luggage to the room[great service] all the staff were wonderful the korean girl remembered our coffee order & was made to perfection every morning.Reception were verry helpfull with all our inquiries.Great Service &helpfull staff who love their job & management who care about their staff. A room safe would help overseas visitors

dale &garry

Room Tip: ocena view great but city view cooler for summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Dale and Garry,
Thank you for staying at Mantra on the Esplanade on your recent visit to Darwin. As you were here for a reasonable length of time I am sure you got to see all the wonderful and diverse attractions the Top End has to offer.
It is so rewarding for me to be able to receive such great feedback from our Guests especially considering you were here for a period of time, so I thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive for excellence, not only the product but customer service is a huge focus for the Mantra Group. To receive such feedback is the best indication that our training and Team Member development is working.
Once again thank you for your kind words and I will ensure all the Team Members read your comments as we post all reviews on our Staff notice board.
If you are ever travelling back to Darwin we would be honored to have you come and stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good size room, nice view of the sea. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was good and the bar / dining area is nice. Convenient location (easy walk to the shops etc from the hotel).

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear go-to-oz,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade during your recent visit to Darwin.
I quite enjoyed the title of your posting. Although Darwin maybe be seen as still a "Frontier Town" up in the top end of Australia, we take pride in our Brand and ensure this is carried through in the Hotels we operate Australia wide. We strive to maintain consistency across the Mantra Hotel brand which will give our Guests the comfort of knowing that they can stay at any of our Hotels and experience the great service and comfort you have experienced at Mantra on the Esplanade.
Thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to any of our Hotels across Australia and New Zealand in the future,
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great staff, friendly and helpful, good location.Great view over the harbour
Good breakfeast , free net in the foyer and the pool is deep and on the ground floor
Needs a few more chairs around the pool

Room Tip: Harbour view front rooms only, get as high up as you can free parking across the road from 5pm to 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beakyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear beakyfish,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade recently.
It is great to see the Staff were friendly and helpful and your comments havebeen passed along to all our Team Members.
If you are returning to darwin in the furure please do not hesitate to contact us and we would be more than hapy to look after you once again.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. On arrival we were upgraded to a harbour view room on the top floor. A nice start . The room was clean and bed very comfortable, not to mention the amazing sunset from our window. Breakfast was available with the room as a package and was good value for money. Dishes were tasty and there was a considerable variety of juices, cereals , breads and hot dishes. The pool looked great but we didnt have time to use it as we wanted to see as much of Darwin as we could. There is a limited amount of free car parking on site outside and it is also available as a secure paid underground option. Staff were friendly. It is close to restaurants in Mitchell Street and a short cab ride from arwin waterfront which has the wave pool and some great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can, a harbour room is amazing and some have balconies to help you enjoy the scene more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheG0Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear OnTheGOAgain,
Thank yo for taking the time to post your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Mantra on the Esplanade.
I am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to the Harbour view room. We try whenever possible and if occupancy allows to upgrade our Guests to ensure they have the oportunity of experiencing the great views across the harbour which we have to offer.
If you are planning to visit Darwin again in the future we would be more than happy to look after you again.
Kind Regards.
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing