We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big city type hotel in lil' ol Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big city type hotel in lil' ol Darwin”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good size room, nice view of the sea. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was good and the bar / dining area is nice. Convenient location (easy walk to the shops etc from the hotel).

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear go-to-oz,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade during your recent visit to Darwin.
I quite enjoyed the title of your posting. Although Darwin maybe be seen as still a "Frontier Town" up in the top end of Australia, we take pride in our Brand and ensure this is carried through in the Hotels we operate Australia wide. We strive to maintain consistency across the Mantra Hotel brand which will give our Guests the comfort of knowing that they can stay at any of our Hotels and experience the great service and comfort you have experienced at Mantra on the Esplanade.
Thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to any of our Hotels across Australia and New Zealand in the future,
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    694
    271
    84
    38
See reviews for
263
675
105
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great staff, friendly and helpful, good location.Great view over the harbour
Good breakfeast , free net in the foyer and the pool is deep and on the ground floor
Needs a few more chairs around the pool

Room Tip: Harbour view front rooms only, get as high up as you can free parking across the road from 5pm to 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beakyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear beakyfish,
Thank you for staying with us at Mantra on the Esplanade recently.
It is great to see the Staff were friendly and helpful and your comments havebeen passed along to all our Team Members.
If you are returning to darwin in the furure please do not hesitate to contact us and we would be more than hapy to look after you once again.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. On arrival we were upgraded to a harbour view room on the top floor. A nice start . The room was clean and bed very comfortable, not to mention the amazing sunset from our window. Breakfast was available with the room as a package and was good value for money. Dishes were tasty and there was a considerable variety of juices, cereals , breads and hot dishes. The pool looked great but we didnt have time to use it as we wanted to see as much of Darwin as we could. There is a limited amount of free car parking on site outside and it is also available as a secure paid underground option. Staff were friendly. It is close to restaurants in Mitchell Street and a short cab ride from arwin waterfront which has the wave pool and some great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can, a harbour room is amazing and some have balconies to help you enjoy the scene more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheG0Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear OnTheGOAgain,
Thank yo for taking the time to post your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Mantra on the Esplanade.
I am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to the Harbour view room. We try whenever possible and if occupancy allows to upgrade our Guests to ensure they have the oportunity of experiencing the great views across the harbour which we have to offer.
If you are planning to visit Darwin again in the future we would be more than happy to look after you again.
Kind Regards.
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworthville, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel, early October as I was heading to Kakadu National Park (not to be missed). My stay was all good, from fast check-in to room location. I asked that my city view room, be on one of the highest floors, away from the lift and as close to the front of hotel as possible. That's what I received, even an ocean view, which surprised me. Room number 707 - king size bed, plus single bed. mini bar, digital tv, electric jug. Esplanade Park is just across the road. Lovely park and walkway which stretches quite a ways in both directions. Great for viewing the evening sunset. Housekeeping replaced toiletries, tea/coffee/milk daily & towels if if not hung on the rail. Airconditioning was good, as was shower, plenty hot water. I had no complaints. I didn't try the buffet brekky, a tad too pricey I thought, when "Hom Cafe" was out the hotel back entrance, through the wee mall & on the right in Mitchell St (main drag). Very nice bacon & eggs, plus toast as a reasonable cost. Great coffee there! I would stay again at the Hotel Mantra/Esp. if I return to Darwin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as near to the front of hotel as you can get, also as high up as you can, as there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possomchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Possomchops,
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us at Mantra on the Esplanade in early October. It is great to see the Hotel met your expectations and the upgrade to 707 gave you the chance to have an ocean view.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you are next visiting Darwin.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the water. Rooms where clean and smart and the staff helpful. I was only here for a long weekend to visit some friends and the Mantra work well as my base. But it's not the cheapest hotel and for the money I think you could do better. Still overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Jane P,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us at Mantra on the Esplanade during your recent visit to Darwin.
Great to see the Hotel was to your liking and hopefully although you commented on the price you thought it was value for money. We do ensure we are competitive in the market within Darwin and our pricing is competitive with other Hotels of similar star rating and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back if you are returning to Darwin in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a work trip in Darwin which involved me staying at this hotel for 5 nights in September. A week prior to arrival I sent an email via the ‘contact us’ button their website, requesting a room with an ocean view so I could so some photography. Upon arrival, we were given a room on the 1st floor, overlooking the Greyhounds bus port at the back of the hotel. The balcony was basically a no go zone because the people above us were dropping cigarette ash down, and the way it was positioned, there was no privacy.

The room overall was comfortable, and the small kitchen was very useful during out stay. The mini bar contained a small variety of items, which changed three times we were there (ie some items came and some went without us taking them…)

The bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning was exceptional. The bathroom could do with a renovation, and the bath is actually pretty slippery even with the addition of some non skid markings, I feel that it could be an accident waiting to happen.

Down stairs there is a fully capable restaurant, and the bloke (Mike or Mark I think) at the bar is a very friendly gent and is a great representative of the company. We only had breakfast down there on two mornings and it was sufficient.

Due to the positioning of the room, we could hear music and singing from the bar across the car park, which ultimately didn’t inhibit what we were doing, but could be a pain.

Ultimately the hotel was OK and comfortable. It is certainly nothing exceptional. One tip for the Mantra – REPLY TO EMAILS! One tip for other visitors – do whatever you can to not be on the 1st or 2nd floor facing the city…..

Room Tip: Do whatever you can to avoid low level city views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theswanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Theswanno,
Thank you for staying with us at mantra on the esplanade on your recent business trip to Darwin.
It is great to see overall you were happy with the Hotel and the services provided. I will pass on your positive comments to Matt in the bar as he would have been the Team Member you would have encountered whilst staying with us. I am sorry with the confusion in regards to your request for an upgrade to an ocean view room. The email you sent via the website goes back through to head office and then distributed through to the Hotel requested. Obviously this information did not reach the Hotel and i am currently looking into the reason for this.
Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on the Esplanade in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent 5 nights here and was very happy with the large size hotel room (twin bed) and fantastic ocean views. Air conditioning was wonderful at keeping us cool, bathroom a decent size and beds very comfortable. The hotel's location is great, central and within walking distance from shops, entertainment, historical attractions and even the waterfront wave pool and convention centre. At the back door is also the main transit centre for tour buses and airport shuttles. Free bus comes through (front of hotel) for Parap village markets too. I found it very convenient and the staff I encountered were extremely helpful and polite. The room wasn't made up properly on one occasion, but fine the rest of the time. Would be even better if some kind of buffet breakfast was offered, though there are plenty of options outside of the hotel too. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room - great views and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5stargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraDavid, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear 5stargal,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mantra on the Esplanade during your recent visit to Darwin.
It is great to read that the Hotel room was to your liking and obviously when staying for 5 nights the extra space of our rooms really helps to make you more comfortable.
In regards to the buffet breakfast, the option is available in the restaurant every morning between 6am and 10am.
If you are returning to Darwin in the future we would be more than happy to welcome you back to Mantra on the Esplanade.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing