We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Welcome at Poinciana”

Darwin City Point Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darwin City Point Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
450 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcome at Poinciana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Motel has new owners and you will be met by a proud and smiling Lexi and/or her brother Ben at the Reception Desk. I had found the hotel on a "hotelfinder website", made contact by email directly and received competent, friendly, clear information about pricing of rooms, location, etc. I have travelled to Darwin over the last 33 years and Poinciana is so far the best option regarding price/location/value for money and friendly, accomodating welcome. I am so pleased!
The Motel location is in the middle of the city, my room was on the second floor, in a corner, real quiet. The room is comfortably big. It was clean and the bathroom is also of a good size and furnished with all the amenities you need. There is also the kettle, your coffee and tea facilities and a big fridge in the room, aircon worked perfectly.
The best? The friendly welcome, the good bed, the clean room, the wifi access.
Please enjoy it as I did. I might meet you there, as I will certainly be back.
Thank you Lexi.
Mariana

Room Tip: upstairs in a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
17
17
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This place has changed hands. I booked over the phone and asked for a confirmation email. This arrived saying that 'my booking was confirmed in the attachment'. There was no attachment. A mistake easily rectified you might think. But no. It took a further four emails to finally get confirmation of dates and rate. Tthe attachment never appeared.

On arrival (late afternoon) the 24 hour reception was closed with a note and number. There is a not-so-obvious phone behind a partition at the side of reception that can be used providing you realise you need a prefix to dial an outside line first.

I had been told there was free Wi-Fi. The reception lady (owner) confirmed this. But when I tried to use the internet I had no joy. I went back to reception and asked again to be told it just ‘opened up’ and I was the first person to have a problem. Could she tell me the provider? No. After a bit of cajoling she said she would phone a guest who used the internet successfully. No reply. She could not help further. Surely she knew her provider? No. A bit more cajoling and she finally dug up a plastic card with the name of the internet provider clearly stating it was pre-paid. Even with this information she still insisted that the internet was free. At this point I gave up.

What happened next blew me away. Waiting for the lift (which must be the slowest lift in Australia), the lady looked at me from behind her computer and hissed ‘Don’t mess with me’. Excuse me? ‘You’ve picked the wrong woman to mess with’ she continued. What did she mean? Was she going to send the boys round? I have always considered myself a ‘nice’ person and generally prefer to walk away than have confrontation. In all my years of travelling I have rarely had cause to complain. When I have, comments are usually taken on board and problems fixed. Perhaps I had caught her on a bad day but the viciousness of these comments was amazing. I thought it best to ignore her.

The rooms are basic. You get what you pay for and these are standard motel style. Seeing previous comments on here, I had asked for a room at the back but was given one at the front. And there was a dead cockroach on my bathroom floor.

I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentFlyerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poincianainn, Owner at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Important Notice: As of 6 June 2011 we are under new ownership.

Ben & Lexi and Families welcomes you to the Poinciana Inn for good old fashioned country hospitality.

We wish to advise that all previous reviews are now outdated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist. Our pre booked room was situated on the top floor at the rear and was clean, comfortable and quiet enough considering the close location of a busy street, with nearby clubs and pubs. Air conditioning is centrally controlled and can be enhanced with a room boost system operated by the room key. Room was serviced daily. Reception staff extremely helpful. Early check out with a pre booked taxi was no problem. Nice swimming pool. Very handy to the social life and entertainment area if that is your scene. Can be noisy but it did not bother us two oldies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldduck95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Got to say that I was apprehensive about this place after reading the previous review, but when I got there, I was pleasantly surprise with the motel right in the city centre, which brings me to downside of being close to the city.. The ambient noise from the nightclubs on the street are still audible from the rooms facing the street.

As far service goes, the manager Graeme and his wife Sue has been very hospitable and accommodating, and for the price you pay, really could complain about the place.

So to sum it up, I would recommend this place to anyone who are looking a well priced accommodation in Darwin. Just remember to ask for the rooms facing the carpark if you can, unless you have got some earplugs.

Shaun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunNZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at the Poinciana for 6 nights on holiday. I was travelling by myself, and had read the other reviews about the noise, so I requested a back room, off the ground floor. This was accommodated with absolutely no problem. I arrived at 2am, but had pre-warned them, and someone was out the front ready to meet me, and very quickly check me in. The rooms are the typical motel set-up, but I found my room and servicing to be spotlessly clean, and more than adequate for my needs.

In response to some of the other reviews... 1. Noise - if you don't want noise, don't stay on MItchell St! and I didn't find it a problem at all. 2. The air con needing the key - I actually found that the set up of the room only having one small window actually kept the room very cool, and the air con was really only needed to top up once you arrived back for the day. 3. The cost - from talking to other travellers and researching before booking, I think the nightly rates were definitely comparable to other similar accommodation in Darwin. It's not a cheap town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

This motel is ideally located, just off Mitchell St. The rooms are basic, but clean & comfortable. The current manager has only been here since March, this year. He is doing his best to improve this property. Myself & traveling fishing buddy, were impressed with the assistance that was offered. There is a nice pool & BBQ, & we were provided with ice & other extras, that we didn't expect. If planning a trip to the "top end', give this little gem some consideration.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pejomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Friendly welcome - offered a back room because of front rooms being on the noisy street, but opted for the front room, and were not worried by noise. 24 hour reception was useful and the receptionist always helpful. However, the grey colour of the supposedly white towels and sheets was a definite turn-off. Only one small window to the room, with a curtain that could not be pulled back, making the room very dark.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrol04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin City Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin City Point Hotel

Property: Darwin City Point Hotel
Address: Cnr Mitchell & McLachlan St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Poinciana Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darwin City Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin City Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Poinciana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing