We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Resort Darwin
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Came here during a business trip for 4 nights. The hotel is generally clean although the rooms are a bit dated. Aircon was freezing on arrival and the beds only have thin sheets - no duvet. Location is quite good and central and the staff were pleasant and helpful. My only annoyance and reason for my low cleanliness score was a coffee cup that went uncleaned on the table for 3 days and ended up with things growing in it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okeydokey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Okeydokey33,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I have raised your comments with our Housekeeping team to ensure this does not happen again. I can assure you this is not the normal level of service we pride ourselves on at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Large motel in a central location to Darwin's attractions and shopping areas. Room was large, comfortable and everything worked. Also all of the tours we booked before our holiday used the Travelodge Mirambeena as a pick up spot and the Travelodge provided comfortable seating while we waited. We didn't use the restaurant as it was far too dear. The pool area looked very inviting and always had plenty of people around it. Staff at reception when we arrived were all young but we did have some communication problems. I would have rated this motel as Very Good if it wasn't for the extra charges at checkout. To use a credit card for payment there is a 2% surcharge which we resent paying. As a business, the cost of a Merchant Facility is surely a business expense, which is written off on their Tax and not the burden of a guest who is already paying enough just to rent the room. Plus we were charged an extra $7 for Mini Bar use which we never used. Of all things it was for confectionary which we don't eat and didn't even register was in the room. My husband never argued the point. It was very early in the morning and it would have been our word against the housemaid who wouldn't have even started work that day. We were so annoyed about the credit card surcharge that this added charge was the final straw and we just paid the bill and left with a very sour taste in our mouths. Won't stay there again or recommend the place to anyone on principal.

Room Tip: Check your Mini bar items before the room is made up to avoid false charging. We stayed on the four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyideals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear familyideals,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is disappointing to receive feedback as such, and I apologise for this oversight with your card.

Please feel free to contact me direct at the Hotel so we can correct this error for you.

I am glad that you otherwise enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you choose to stay with us again when you next travel to Darwin.

Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was in Darwin for a Wedding and I though I was onto a winner when I got upgraded upon check it, but I was on a tight scheduled the day I checked in so I chucked my bag in the room and left without having a good look around. I came back to my room after a long day (Helping the bride get dressed for her wedding day then celebrating into the night) only to find no towels in my room, and a television which had picture but no sound. I called the front desk and asked for towels and if someone could look at the TV (cause I cant sleep on my own without it) and waited 20 minutes (mind you this is at 12am). I called the desk again and waited another 15minutes untill someone arrived with towels. After looking at the TV I was told it would have to wait till morning. I was only offered another room when I asked. My new room was ok but the bathroom was a bit moldy. Overall not very impressed with the rooms or the service and the pool was filthy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Rowyrow,

Thank you for your comments and I do apologise for the issues you had with your TV and Towels - it is very frustrating to have issues with your TV and I am sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you during your stay with us.

It is pleasing to see the team were able to offer you a different room during your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback!

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Travelodge Mirambeena Darwin is situated in a good location central to most things in the city, however it ends there. The rooms are extremely basic and we had a leaking tap to sleep through. Our room had no table and chairs - just 4 single beds, despite there being only 2 of us. It was more like a dorm than a hotel room and for the money we paid we expected more. Pool bar was expensive and the pool area itself needs a facelift. All of the staff we encountered were nice and friendly. Very dated rooms.

Room Tip: Stayed at another hotel straight after our stay here for the same price which was much nicer and mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megsbenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear megsbenno,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we have taken steps to ensure we resolve the leaking tap you encountered, and I can assure you this is not the normal level of service we pride ourselves on at the Travelodge Mirambeena Resort.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss these concerns in further detail, please contact me direct at the hotel.

Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The rooms provide enough space, very clean, and the bar and pool are shady and very pleasant..... a good spot to escape the sun. This hotel is in a good location to explore Darwin's foreshore and CBD. It is not a luxury hotel, but good value. Its main asset is position.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banners1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear banners1151

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
2  Thank Sheree B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to get around the city. It does not have any great views or scenery - but it has a lovely pool with food and drink accessible.
The room is only small but comfortable and as said it is in easy walking distance of everything in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear OZkk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
950 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Resort Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Resort Darwin

Address: 64 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $60 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Resort Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Resort Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Mirambeena Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Darwin
Travel Lodge Darwin
Darwin Travel Lodge
Darwin Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing