We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time there and only slight improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Resort Darwin
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Second time I have stayed at the Travelodge in Darwin in three years only because I couldn't get preferred accommodation elsewhere. Check in staff aren't all that friendly and the rooms are in need of either a major makeover or need to be bulldozed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgrwrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear pgrwrx,

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the relevant department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights. The Travelodge is centrally located with easy access to the CBD and transport. On site parking for the car we had hired was tight and difficult to obtain some days and street parking was the only alternative - not good as it is paid parking during the week. Our initial room had no hot water on the first night and after none the second day a complaint on Sunday morning led to an almost immediate visit from the Maintenance man who organized for us to be placed in a room with hot water and supplied us with an entry card for the new room. We moved later in the morning and when we sought a second card at the desk, nobody knew about the change and the computer had not been updated but we thought that was done then. At 11pm that night, well after we had gone to bed a phone call woke us demanding information about our name and our changed booking with no apology. Next day the entry card failed and we had to return to the office to get in to the room.
Apart from the maintenance man, staff were not helpful or friendly in their approach and provided not apology for our inconvenience.

The general ambience of the resort is good but needs to be cleaned up. Pools in the central courtyard area make accessing rooms more difficult than it should be as long walks are needed to get around the pool and up to the rooms, and there were no lifts just ramps and stairs. People with mobility problems would need to ask for accessible rooms.

All in all the facilities are good but need more care in cleaning outside areas of old cigarette butts and dead leaves which obvsiously had been there for a while. Staff likewise need to be more people oriented.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool can be noisy - but most of them are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Scruf17,

Dear Paul K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we have taken steps to ensure we resolve the issues you encountered.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss these concerns in further detail, please contact me direct at the hotel.


Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just had one night there. Excellent value compared to other stays in other hotels. Room was excellent. Only complaint was that guest laundry had only one washing machine working!!! Pool area excellent and bar fantastic.

Room Tip: Use trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear GraniaR

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments and these have been shared with our team. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and location.


We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed recently Rm461. Main light not working, twice told guy at reception,
Was told maintenance would fix it, must do weekly rounds because it wasn't fixed during my stay. Room also had strong cigarette smell. Had to sleep with the a/c off and window open, again advised guy at reception told it would be looked at but nothing done.
Pool was lovely and staff generally very pleasant, in particular the lovely German girl who couldn't be any nicer, (cant remember her name) I only wish she was on the desk the whole time we were there (was there at check in and check out) as she seemed to make stuff happen effortlessly.
My colleague was in one of the newly refurbished rooms and her stay was fine, though no locks on the windows. Same in my room.
Beds were comfy. Location was really good. Short walks to everywhere but not noisy. Lovely city light views at night from the upper floors.
Bit lucky dip I think.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear DarrylA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we have taken steps to ensure we resolve the issues you encountered. I have shared your feedback with our team for improvement.

Thank you for your kind words for Desiree, these are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed recently for 5 nights. We stayed in what they called a fully refurbished deluxe room with a king bed. For the price we paid, we were expecting better quality. We have stayed at 3 other Travel Lodge Hotels, and this one was the least appealing.The bathroom was clean, except the exhaust fan was extremely noisy. There were no plates no bowls or cutery, just 3 cups & 3 teaspoons. Comfortable bed . Friendly reception staff.The best thing was the very handy central location, opposite Woolworths and a decent shopping centre and bus stop. Easy walk to shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COOKIES8Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Cookies8Perth,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments and these have been shared with our team. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed in a " Budget room" costing $174.00 per night. Room and fittings were all very tired. Aircon Leaked water onto tiled floor which was rather dangerous in the middle of the night if you happened to nip to the bathroom. Sheets had spots of blood on them. Noisy neighbours into the early hrs. Reservations had me booked in for the wrong month, which caused a little anxiety initially, apart from that all fine.

Room Tip: I had room 37, I guess all ":budget rooms are the same". Go to Jakarta or KL, You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Paul K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we have taken steps to ensure we resolve the issues you encountered.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss these concerns in further detail, please contact me direct at the hotel.


Kind regards

Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beds were comfortable, but the deluxe room makes a huge difference to the budget version. It is worth to do the upgrade. The pool is quite nice. Having a supermarket just across the street is very convenient if you decide to use the hotel as basis to explore the area around Darwin. It is also within walking distance to the more popular streets in Darwin. Breakfast is a standard buffet. If you want to save its cost, you can buy some basic stuff at the supermarket (bread, juices, fruit).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Manager at Travelodge Resort Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear travefromportugal,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments and these have been shared with our team. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Top End.

Kind regards


Angela Cawthorn
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 35 in Darwin
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 35 in Darwin
986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Resort Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Resort Darwin

Address: 64 Cavenagh St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: $57 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Resort Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Resort Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Mirambeena Resort Darwin Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Mirambeena Hotel Darwin
Travelodge Darwin
Travel Lodge Darwin
Darwin Travel Lodge
Darwin Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing