We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steak, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cav

The Cav
Ranked #12 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good steak, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We both came here at the end of a busy working day. There was a very large table of 20 and that clearly delayed our meals, but they made up for it by giving us a free glass of wine each. When our steaks arrived, they were perfectly cooked. What really made the evening was the exceptionally friendly bar staff. They seemed genuinely pleased to have you in their restaurant, recommended a great wine and their attitude really did add to our evening. We would go here again. It is not intimate dining, but the menu is varied and is a bit more interesting than most.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    184
    44
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great meals - need better coffee...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Eaten here many times and it jsut gets better. Fabulous steaks (Thursday is 2 for 1 rump nights), Taco Tuesdays. Great for a quick bite of lunch. Have tried breakfast once and it was average - coffee was terrible - if they got breakfast right I would say it would be one of the best spots in Darwin.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarwinBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great breakfast: food and ambience excellent and service smart, friendly and efficient. Nice setting and good temperatures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulette1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bad steak”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I had dinner there on Easter Monday. I ordered the special on the menu 400 gram sirloin, my wife the grilled chicken. When my steak arrived it was neither 400 grams or a sirloin ( that was beautifully displayed in the glass cabinet. It was a thin rump overcooked and full of gristle. My wife's chicken was also well overcooked. when I took my steak back and asked for the chef, he said it was a sirloin and that was that. no apologies and end of discussion with him returning to the griller/stove.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 299chrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh produce- best food in darwin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I eat at the Cav 3- 4 times a week. Breakfast , lunch or dinner .always fresh produce on my plate. The steaks are to die for. The pork belly is amazing and I love their wine list. They have the best chilled Pinot served by glass or bottle. The who the who all go there and it's one of the best local hang outs for cocktails .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monsoonslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cav also viewed

 

Been to The Cav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing