We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to say that was good”
Review of Christo's Fish cafe - CLOSED

Christo's Fish cafe
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Probably the best fish & chips in Darwin, reasonable prices
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing to say that was good”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The food was overpriced and out of 4 people who ate an entree and a main course, there was only one course that was fully edible. We have also had take away which was over priced and greasey

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank elainerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
643 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Take a mossie repellent at dusk”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location is lovely - right on the marina. Service was okay .. food was okay as well. Unfortunately we didn't notice until the next day that we were charged for someone else's 2 drinks - our fault for not closely checking the bill.

The mosquitos / midgies were active but we were there at dusk when they are also out and about. It was a nice touch that the café did give us some complimentary repellent cream which was a welcome relief.

Not all that inclined to go back - no special reason to return I guess.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Most Perfect Getaway for Lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I love everything about Christo's. The food, the service, the location - sitting there overlooking a small colourful marina - you feel as if you're on holidays even though you might be having a serious business meeting or a friendly talk with friends you haven't seen for a while. You can meet here, away from the CBD and away from public gaze. The barramundi, Greek salad and chips make the perfect meal over which to discuss business. Heather@staffmanagement.com.au

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dine-in or Fish 'n' Chip Take Away”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent location! Very relaxing. Good service! Food to dine in a little pricey but otherwise very nice. I have had take-away fish n chips from here many many times and they are always good and at a reasonable cost.

One thing I have noticed is the chips are always fresh and crispy. Never experienced chips that taste like they have been fried in old oil at this place.

It is also licensed. Bonus!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KizAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“?”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is really hard to get to, and once you get there an awful smell hits you and stays with you the whole time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christo's Fish cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing