We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch with a mate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House

Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House
Ranked #7 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Darwin
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great lunch with a mate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Went to the Boatshed today with my BFF. It was a lovely dry season day so I sat outside whilst I waited for her. I went inside after a while as the outside part is actually a pontoon and moved with the water terribly. The atmosphere is great my only other complaint is that the music was very fast and loud.

Lunch was really nice and the coffee was good too (I noticed other reviews saying the coffee was awful). There was lots of different styles of coffee to chose from and I asked the server about the different ones and she certainly seemed knowledgeable. The kids area wasn't being used but was well set up with lots of activities available. There are lots of parts to the Boatshed from leather lounges, to outside, and bench seats and tables and chairs for 4 - everyone will find somewhere suitable for their group.

A great lunch.

Lou

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    83
    50
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dont Bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Premade rubbery pancakes and awful coffee. Go somewhere else.
Even the staff cant make the effort to improve this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkeyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great big coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

delicious coffee in a soupcup and great location, interesting boatie decor

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee, awesome view in typical darwin laidback style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Sat back and enjoyed the view with great coffee, nice breakfast. Highly recommend a visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bronniecycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

What can I say- beautiful location with horrible wait staff. They advertise that you can have fresh juice but you can't make up your own. All I wanted was a bit of lemon added to my juice but oh golly it was like I was asking for something so difficult. Not happy.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louds-davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House also viewed

 
Northern Territory, Australia
 

Been to Boardwalk Cafe Boatshed Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing