We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean establishment”

My Friend's Kitchen
Ranked #59 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.menufeast.com.au/info/27444/my-friends-kitchen/darwin/
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good, clean establishment”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

When we walked into this restaurant we were the only customers and we wondered if we had made a mistake by going there. However not long after arriving the place filled with diners – mostly of Asian appearance – a sure sign of a good Asian restaurant. The main drawback was that the establishment doesn’t serve wine – it’s a BYO. So we took our wine, which wasn’t a problem for us. The restaurant charges a small corkage fee. The service was quick and the food enjoyable. I had honey prawns, which were delicious and my husband had sweet and sour pork, which was also very nice. We also ordered fried rice and that was cooked just right – not overdone and hard. The food was appetising. This unpretentious restaurant was a good dining choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    74
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than Melbournesque”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We've had a lot of Vietnamese in many cities (our favourite cusine) and this food was on par with the best. Stark decor but quick with good service. (Sorry for the title Bruce but we have had a couple of bad experiences in Melbourne).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best byo in town”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food was great, service great, price even better. We found Food in Darwin Expensive with poor service but My friends kitchen was a nice surprise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Pho”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

love the freshness of the Pho !!
service is great
bright & clean
good for people with out being involved

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Cute and unpretentious”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Compared to our two previous dinners in Darwin, which involved bad but very over-priced food, this little place was a joy. We were greeted with a smile and the service continued to be good. The food was not special but it was prompt and enjoyable. This unpretentious place is not fully licensed but is BYO. It was a happier choice on Mitchell Street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Friend's Kitchen also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to My Friend's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing