We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Great Area”
Review of Casa on Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa on Gregory
Ranked #1 of 17 Darwin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room was small but nicely furnished and clean. It had everything you needed for a short stay. There is a laundry available and upstairs a gym and communal kitchen area. The pool isn't huge but all you need for a refreshing dip. Parap is a really nice area only 5 minutes drive from the city. There is a bus stop out the front which takes you to town. Across the road are shops, restaurants and a fantastic Saturday morning market. Hotel with several bars and restaurant walking distance round the corner.
We arrived early and as the room was available were able to check in. Lady at reception was friendly and helpful. This hotel has a nice feel to it with the palms and little seating areas outside.

Room Tip: one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Very friendly staff, rooms are small but have everything you need, table, chairs and beds, a kettle and free WiFi and Foxtel. The bathroom could be a little larger but is good enough for a shower and the essentials. Suitable for business travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The woman running this motel is very friendly. We stayed two nights and she let us use the room all day on our departure day (until 4.30 pm). Room was small but had everything we needed. It was nicely furbished with a comfy bed, little side table and two chairs. We didn't use the pool since it was mostly in shade and we were keen on some sun... There was a (locked) door to another room which made it a bit noisy but nothing too bad. Compared to the Mirambeena, this place was stylish and well run. Also, only a 15 min walk to Fannie Bay and a lovely sunset.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the far edge of the building if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed there in October for a 7 nights. We really wanted to leave after the first night but we had already paid in full for 7 nights and it was non refundable! The room is very small and the bathroom even worse. The room wasn't cleaned properly, the carpet was dirty and the linen in the bed had a big stain. I couldn't sleep all night and in the morning i asked the cleaning lady to change the sheets but she told me they only do it every 3 days. I got very angry with her and she finally decided to change them. It was the start of the low season so it wasn't busy at all, but the price was still expensive.Television limited free to air stations. And the day we finally checked out the cleaners came to our room and started cleaning and taking of the sheets while we were still there packing, that was very rude of them. We would not go back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On arrival was given key to a room that was either occupied or not made up. Next room was next to a communal kitchen which was occupied by a herd of wilder beast at 05:00 in the morning. The room itself had quality fittings but somehow it didn't work. Especially the glass doors into the bathroom. The swimming pool didn't look clean either. Parking for about 5 vehicles only. Same as other reviewers our battery had been removed from smoke alarm, also many cobwebs in the room even in the roller blinds ! Location is handy for Fannie Bay and Mindil markets but that's no real reason to stay. Try Palms resort in downtown Darwin its only a little more money and so much better. This could be a good motel but as it is it just doesn't work, well not for a tourist at least.

Room Tip: Don't get room 29B - its next to a communal kitchen and smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davee_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Previous reviewers pretty well have it right. Old motel been refurbished. Certainly not " boutique?" tiny rooms, miniature bathrooms. Smoke alarm open with battery removed, interconnecting door to adjoining room left open - interesting! Business travellers need to be aware no desk or anywhere to sit at laptop. Ok with those limitations. Nota bargain but probably priced right for Darwin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Room and furnishings adequate. Only soap supplied in bathroom. Blanket and microwave soiled from previous guests. No elevator to 2nd floor making carrying luggage a little difficult - plus limited on site parking. Outside seating areas and pool surrounds pleasant. Handy to restaurants and Parap markets. A 15 min. walk to waterfront clubs with wonderful sunsets

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
2.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
950 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 36 in Darwin
591 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa on Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa on Gregory

Address: 52 Gregory St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range: $71 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa on Gregory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa on Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing