We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - Love the Dosas!”
Review of Saffrron

Saffrron
Ranked #36 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Saffrron is a Darwin restaurant with a focus on putting sustainability on the table. Our authentic yet innovative Indian cuisine menu is also a real taste of the Territory, with all fresh produce from local producers and all seafood Territory or Australian-caught.Our full menu is available at our website and includes a tasting menu, vegetarian options and a kids menu (and the kids will love our Golden Paneer Lollipops). House-made items include Indian breads, condiments and desserts.You can order Saffrron takeaway too (via our website). You can find us on Facebook too or sign up for news to hear about our special menu events, including master classes and tours.
Darwin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place - Love the Dosas!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I really like Saffffrrron. I heard they were doing Dosas so I went a few weeks ago and loved them so much I have been back twice since. Great curries also. I think this is a nice place with nice staff and I love the Indian beer!

My only complaint is with the so called "eco-friendly" disposable paper/pulp plates and bowls. I cannot see how they are more environmentally friendly than washing and re-using porcelain and stainless steel again and again. Sounds like someone is trying to get out of the dishes to me! Would love to see the stats on energy/resources to compare the two.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ELBeeDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks so much for coming in especially to try our dosas and for your great review. Our staff too appreciate your feedback.

Have we talked with you about the rationale behind our bagasse tableware?

We made this decision based on our own lifecycle analysis of industry-standard ceramic tableware, manufactured using a highly polluting and energy intensive process, often in countries with low-cost labour and unknown environmental and labour laws. Much of the pollution in certain cities that makes the news for example is blamed on ceramics factories. The illness and mortality rates of workers are also high.

We took into account energy use, pollution into waterways and air, the personal costs to the workers, transportation factors, breakage and replacement, water, energy and chemical use throughout its lifecycle, biodegradability and local sourcing, and felt that the bagasse tableware was the only way we could ensure a responsible supply chain - part of our commitment to best practices across all areas of operation.

We appreciate that not everyone will agree with our decision to use bagasse tableware but there are a few more benefits, such as great for doggy bags (which also helps reduce plate waste, another sustainability issue for the hospitality industry)! Our customers are now also coming in to buy our tableware for their own functions and food stalls, in place of using plastic or paper plates.

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you at Saffrron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    80
    18
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ordinary food served on paper plates”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our party of 6 found the food to be ordinary, same as getting in a food court. They advertise they are an eco restaurant but when I pay top dollar I expect my meal to be served on a china plate not a paper plate! Will not be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank RoughItinerary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for visiting Saffrron and for taking the time to leave a review here at TripAdvisor. We do appreciate and note all feedback.

Your quality of experience and enjoyment are important to us so we are sorry we didn't impress on this occasion, or catch any issues while you were still in the restaurant.

We would like to point out that Saffrron doesn't use paper plates as such - not the kind sourced from trees at least, but we appreciate that nonetheless not everyone will agree with our decision to use bagasse tableware (one-use, tableware made from waste product of bamboo and sugarcane manufacturing, using a zero-waste process, and genuinely biodegradable).

We made this decision based on our own lifecycle analysis of industry-standard ceramic tableware, manufactured using a highly polluting and energy intensive process, often in countries with low-cost labour and unknown environmental and labour laws. Much of the pollution in certain cities that makes the news for example is blamed on ceramics factories. The illness and mortality rates of workers are also high.

We took into account energy use, pollution into waterways and air, the personal costs to the workers, transportation factors, breakage and replacement, water, energy and chemical use throughout its lifecycle, biodegradability and local sourcing, and felt that the bagasse tableware was the only way we could ensure a responsible supply chain - part of our commitment to best practices across all areas of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sweet saffrron simply superb”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Highly recommended. This place is a gem, live nearby and so glad we do. The food is superb both dine in and takeaway. Different in that their Eco Friendly ethos, food is served on sturdy paper plates. Still great food though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wagaitwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review and for many return visits to Saffrron.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Indian cuisine, friendly staff, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love Indian food, so always looking for a great curry. This place has exactly that, and a nicely decorated little restaurant with friendly staff. I'll eat here as regularly as I can!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bdahye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your happy review and your many return visits!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty, reasonable pricing, never disappointed”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visit Saffron about once a month for our fix of Indian cuisine. The food options are vast & is always amazing. The staff are incredibly helpful for making suggestions on new dishes to try. Drinks are reasonably priced. When you dine in, the atmosphere can be a little noisy but that's all a part of having a fun time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SianneKeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your very positive and detailed review. Our staff appreciate the mention too.
We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffrron also viewed

 

Been to Saffrron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing