We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and good service”
Review of Saffrron

Saffrron
Ranked #15 of 405 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Saffrron is a Darwin restaurant with a focus on putting sustainability on the table. Our authentic yet innovative Indian cuisine menu is also a real taste of the Territory, with all fresh produce from local producers and all seafood Territory or Australian-caught.Our full menu is available at our website and includes a tasting menu, vegetarian options and a kids menu (and the kids will love our Golden Paneer Lollipops). House-made items include Indian breads, condiments and desserts.You can order Saffrron takeaway too (via our website). You can find us on Facebook too or sign up for news to hear about our special menu events, including master classes and tours.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Without having made a booking, we fronted up to this restaurant and were politely offered a table.
We can heartily recommend the barramundi dish - this wonderful dish had been poached in a mild and fragrant sauce. The accompanying papadums were probably the best we''ve had.
The drinks list was comprehensive and well-priced.
This restaurant uses bamboo plateware, purportedly for ecological reasons, although we both agreed that it is still nicer to use china and I would have to be convinced that it is not more environmentally-friendly to reuse normal crockery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review.

We made the decision to use bagasse, biodegradable tableware based on our own lifecycle analysis of industry-standard ceramic tableware, manufactured using a highly polluting and energy intensive process, often in countries with low-cost labour and unknown environmental and labour laws. Much of the pollution in certain cities that makes the news for example is blamed on ceramics factories. The illness and mortality rates of workers are also high.

So to cut a long story short, we took into account energy use, pollution into waterways and air, the personal costs to the workers, transportation factors, breakage and replacement, water, energy and chemical use throughout its lifecycle, biodegradability and local sourcing, and felt that the bagasse tableware was the only way we could ensure a responsible supply chain - part of our commitment to best practices across all areas of operation.

Hope to see you again at Saffrron!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 349 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

For the paper plates! I have been eating Indian for 40 years and this place is good. The food is excellent and the wine list very good - especially for Darwin. It's not cheap but that's fine except for the paper " crockery" used under some Eco presence. It cheapens the meal and the experience and is quite off putting. Otherwise superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review.

We appreciate that not everyone agrees with our decision to use bagasse tableware but think it's important to note that Saffrron doesn't use paper plates.

We use tableware made from the waste product of bamboo and sugarcane manufacturing, using a zero-waste process.

We made this decision based on our own lifecycle analysis of industry-standard ceramic tableware, manufactured using a highly polluting and energy intensive process, often in countries with low-cost labour and unknown environmental and labour laws. Much of the pollution in certain cities that makes the news for example is blamed on ceramics factories. The illness and mortality rates of workers are also high.

So to cut a long story short, we took into account energy use, pollution into waterways and air, the personal costs to the workers, transportation factors, breakage and replacement, water, energy and chemical use throughout its lifecycle, biodegradability and local sourcing, and felt that the bagasse tableware was the only way we could ensure a responsible supply chain - part of our commitment to best practices across all areas of operation.

Phew! So you can see why, while we try to communicate the rationale behind our sustainability initiatives, it is not always easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Saffrron is tucked into the Parap Shopping Village and you may have to look carefully to find it, especially if you are in the main car park. Once inside you will find a well appointed and laid out restaurant with efficient and friendly wait staff. The food is not cheap, but there is a good selection of, essentially, mainstream North Indian food. My wife and I chose the squid pakoras, eggplant/chickpea curry, barramundi mooli, and with rice and a roti, plus a few drinks, the bill was $97.00. (Note; the prices for food in quality restaurants in Darwin are generally much higher than for their southern cousins). The food was well prepared, however the barramundi was a small portion in a lot of sauce and really should have had more fish for the price of $25.60. The other interesting issue was that I thought the table, where we sat, was too low, whilst my wife thought the chairs were too high, in any event, we were a little uncomfortable. If I returned I would probably opt for some of the traditional meals such as the roganjosh or chilli chicken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks so much for visiting us and for taking the time to leave a very thoughtful review, sure to help future visitors to Saffrron!

We appreciate your feedback and do note all feedback left for us via TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. This is Indian food done with care and attention. We are Indian food junkies and have eaten it all over the world. The best thing about this food is that it is not mass produced or dumbed down. We especially liked the baby squid pakoras, butter chicken marsala, hot homemade garlic pickle, garlic naan and beef sagawala. If I had to give any criticism at all (and its tough to find anything to criticise) it would be that the spinach vada was a tiny bit bland...but thats the only thing I could say and it in no way detracted from the other six dishes we scoffed happily and thought were wonderful. As far as price goes, this is far better value than most places we have been in Darwin, or Australia as a whole for that matter. You can pay an outrageous $25-$35 for bland deep fried barramundi and chips throughout most of Auss, (why people think this is a good way to eat fish is beyond me), so compare this to Saffron, where a homemade excellent curry is only around $20. I can't see how anyone can complain about this price. I love the eco friendliness and whole ethos of the place. Loved the whole thing actually and would highly recommend it. Oh, and the service was smiley and attentive even though they got busier and busier over the night. Well done. We are definitely returning for the tasting menu and for the speical Sunday southern Indian feast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank moreperfectdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for visiting Saffrron and for taking the time to leave this very thoughtful and positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I chose Saffrron for my birthday dinner. I have been before, but my teenaged daughter hasn't. We all chose the tasting menu at $50 a head and it gave us a great range of food from mild to spicy enough to make your eyes water. The entree lamb was beautiful. All of the curries were tasty and I loved the naan bread. The kulfti icecream was to die for. I couldn't understand the waitress'explanation though. It is a bit exy, but for a special occasion well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nttravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffrronRestaurant, Owner at Saffrron, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We were delighted to read your review, thank you! Thanks for choosing Saffrron to celebrate your special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffrron also viewed

 

Been to Saffrron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing