We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”
Review of Crocosaurus Cove

Crocosaurus Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.69*
and up
Cage of Death at Darwin's Crocosaurus Cove
More Info
$28.19*
and up
Crocosaurus Cove Darwin General Admission Tickets
Ranked #12 of 121 things to do in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crocosaurus Cove allows visitors a unique, up close and personal view of massive saltwater crocodiles, crocodile hatchlings, juveniles as well as being home to the World’s largest display of Australian reptiles and the famous Cage of Death. The Cage of Death is the only cage in the world that brings you face to face with some of the largest Saltwater Crocodiles in captivity. Remember to bring your bathers and ‘Swim with the Crocs’ in our unique swimming area that allows you to get up close to our very active juveniles. Don’t miss the chance to feed these hungry juveniles as part of our latest attraction, "fishing for crocs" ...this is a photo opportunity not to be missed. Meet the reptiles and learn more about the Top End’s unique and favourite critters such as Western Bearded Dragons and Olive Pythons. Check out the barramundi in our 200,000 litre freshwater aquarium and don’t forget our gorgeous top end turtle enclosure. All this and a daily program of fun & interactive reptile activities await you at Crocosaurus Cove, in the heart of Darwin City.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great day, it was great to get up close to the big crocs - Even thru the glass it's still scary! They really are like big old dinosaurs! The baby crocs were cute and all the handlers were great - very informative.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bugz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    657
    213
    62
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably worth a look to see crocs up close - sad that they are in captivity”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went here on a rainy day - warning do not wear flip flops the ground is very slippery. Cage viewing is very average and I overheard many complaints - crocodiles are cold blooded and in the heat they just do nothing! Very expensive for what it was!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Cage of Death? No its the Cage of Boredom!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very disappointing and nor worth the money. The cage of death costs $150 then $100 for photos. Absolute rip off. My friend was put in with Houdini who did nothing, only do it if they can definitely put you in with Choppa. The person operating said he would try and put my friend in with Choppa for 5 minutes but his supervisor wouldn't let him. Bad move supervisor, bad customer service, if you let him put her in for 5 minutes with choppa you probably wouldn't be getting this review. Went and complained to manager who did offer half price another day, not worth it. Management need to start doing something very quickly by looking at all the bad reviews here. We understand that crocodiles are wild animals and are unpredictable, but if they saw that the croc wasn't responding they should have moved her to another tank within 5 minutes. Only gets 1 star cause there was no 0. Don't waste your time or your money unless improvements are made.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good for kids, they can hold baby crocs ect. Small park but our biggest disappointment was the cage of death dive. Couldn't even see through the mercy water & our croc slept on the bottom, staff were very unhelpful & didn't do a thing to make our croc move however the next people who paid for photos had several keepers in there to give a show. They also told us they don't feed them while people are in the cage however when we went back in today with friends they did for both groups we saw. I would only do it again if it was with "choppa" the croc & depending on the staff on duty. Ours had no customer service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie_0zzie_0zzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cage of Death = WASTE OF MONEY”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had heard from our travel agent that the cage of death was amazing, the crocodiles come right up to the cage and if you're lucky get snappy. However, the crocodile we saw lay on the bottom and didn't move. When the feeders tried to give him food he moved his head to try to get it once then gave up and stayed lying on the bottom of the enclousre. We watched two other cage of death sessions before outrs, the first one the same happened and the second the corocdile swam around a bit and was more active. When we spoke to staff they said that was the most active crocodile but couldnt use him for every session in the day. Obviously I understand that the crocodiles cant be made to move or be exciting, but if there's only one crocodile that is guarenteed to do anything then they should have less session times each day so they can only use the good crocodile, or it should cost less money with less hype on it. We were extremely dissapointed and would not reccomend the cage of death to anyone. We saw as muich from the cage as we did from the viewing platform. Don't bother!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank spower297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crocosaurus Cove also viewed

 

Been to Crocosaurus Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing